Fiction logo

I'm in Love with My Best Friend

Leah and Landon: an old story, and one of my favorites [12th entry]

By M R HerringPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I'm In Love With My Best Friend



Leah's Mind

Journal Entry 0012

I've never felt this feeling before. Feeling of safety, but this kind of safety. As if anything I say doesn't matter, but matters at the same time.

Whatever I do, nothing makes this guy retreat from me. Usually my weird taste in movies or strange hobbies makes a guy I like turn away. Or things I like makes the guy frown, or feel like I'm not normal and then runs away like I'm a sickness to avoid.

I like my crooked teeth, it's me. I like my eyes and how grey they get. I like me the way I am. I want to be different. I want to be imperfect. Everything I feel right now is something better for my soul. Having a friend, who I can tell anything to without holding anything back, is something beautiful, and sometimes awfully unique. What may be shocking is I've only had three friends in my life and each of them have been wonderful but they have lives of their own, as do I. But this guy... he's different. One, he's a guy. Two, not just any guy but my friend too. And three, a really sweet guy I think I might be falling for. There's something about him that makes me think of my youth. Something young in his heart makes my own flutter. I don't feel out of place, out of sync like I usually do. But when I'm around him... There's gold flecks in his eyes. Marigold iris. They standout, like vibrant colors. My kind of colors.

***

"I dunno what to say." Leah turns around, fiddling with buttons and fabrics. "Leah!" Tilting in a chair, Josa slouches against Leah's desk, pins and needles, threads and ribbons everywhere. "Tell me what happened last night, tell everything about the Landon guy. He was hot! Tell me you thought that, tell mee!" Josa pryed and Leah never breaks. "Sorry sis, but he's just... a guy. And I think I won't see him again--"

"No.." Josa gasped, "he'll be around. You know each other, I can tell."

Leah glanced up, in a way as if she could recall something but then she smiles. "No we've just met. I think if we knew each other then I would remember. He is handsome."

"Doi! And don't say he's just a guy. I saw you blushing when you came back to the party. I may have been outta my mind but..." she waves her finger at Leah, a pop in hand, "I know what I saw." She smiles and takes a sip.

Leah laughs, "whatever..." she leans forward to grab gold thread and a needle, stitching a scarf of her own creation.

Maybe...Maybe.....

Have we met before?

Leah flicks her crystal eyes carefully watching where the needle goes, her pink lips curl on the right into a half smile. Focused and peaceful. The sun shining through the thin window pane of the small room giving a good enough light for the blonde dreamer. 8:38 AM the hummingbird analog clock ticked. Leah sighs, inhales and exhales closing her eyes, gently putting down her materials, "Time to get ready for the pretty fishes." She jumped up, in a wave her yellow dress flew, her eyes gleaming for another adventure. Drowsy Josa salutes the sudden energy of her bestie, a couple buttons stuck to the right side of her cheek,"ready to go!" Leah giggles at the sight of her best friend,"I got to save the sea. And you've got to save all of humanity."

Leah helps Josa up. Their classes await.

[I hope that saying this is appropriate...I just hope that you take a moment to see this too: "HER" by Kym Tucker; It's an amazing short story. It made my whole heart ache, however in a good way because it was beautiful. This wonderful masterpiece touched my soul and brightened my day. Give her story a read. I'm sure she'll greatly appreciate it. Go have a magical day! ❤]

Short Story
1

About the Creator

M R Herring

She aspires to be a linguist, an author, an entrepreneur, and actress. She's overcome every nightmare in her world, and now she's headed down the wonderful path of life to make her dreams come alive!

wattpad.com/story/273523996?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.