Fiction logo

I'm a Girl Shark and this is My Love Story

“We can only learn to love by loving” — Iris Murdoch

By Irina PattersonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
https://pixabay.com/photos/hai-sharks-sea-ocean-water-3349088/

I knew he watched me from afar. I could feel his eyes following me everywhere I went, but I didn't mind.

My fins attracted him, I think. My dorsal - like a large white sail - on the top of my back, and my two huge, shiny pectoral fins. The ocean never felt so big, or so beautiful as when I was underwater, gliding from one reef to another.

The funny thing is that I remember every single detail of that day as clearly as if it all happened yesterday…

It was early morning. I loved this time of day… The rays penetrated my scales, illuminating the sea below me. My sides glittered blue and turquoise as I swayed to a rhythm only I could hear - dancing like nobody was watching.

Yet, I knew, I knew he watched me. I could feel even from a distance - he was a big, strong male shark. He darted to the left, then to the right, trying to get my attention.

My heart started racing faster. If being pushed by an invisible force, I intensified my flips and turns.

Was I trying to impress him? Happy on my own? 

I took another sharp turn and BAM! he appeared right in front of me. His emerald eyes emitted an eerie green light.

He smiled - or so it seemed, looking over me from head to tail.

"How rude," I thought, and turned around to swim away, then glanced back, and there he was: his beautiful jaws, sharp teeth, eyes full of passion; the endless ocean shimmering all around us.

My heart pounded.

I mean, there had been plenty of male sharks in my past, most were just passing through like the blue ocean currents.

Sure, I would flirt around but nobody ever made me think, "He is the one!"

This time, it was different. I swear.

He had a strange effect on me, making me do things that were out of my character.

I laughed at his silly antics as I'd never laughed before. We swam, we danced, we played, we dove deep down into the abyss of the ocean and romped around - just the two of us.

Oh, you should have seen us!

He would look at me with his emerald eyes and we'd just freeze in place - not moving for what seemed like an eternity.

Then, one day… THAT DAY… I don't know why or how this happened but we ended up in the sunken shipwreck at the bottom of the ocean.

It was a gorgeous wreck! I mean, it's a little dark and creepy but still very pretty. You'd see everything that once was a ship slowly falling apart from the inside out. It smelled like seaweed and old wood. The crumbling portholes with sea anemones growing out of them… So, romantic…

That's where it all happened.

He bathed me with his delicate love nips and spun around me… Then, suddenly, we got entangled in our fins…. My heart pounded as I dove into the current. Then, we have tangled again - and this time I knew what to expect…

I gasped. AHHH! The feeling of his jaws around me! I swooned into the abyss. We drifted slowly… enjoying every second… until finally, we both exploded underwater. Vaavoom!

What a feeling! It wasn't like anything I ever felt before. We swam for hours; tangled; entwined; swimming through the sea as one.

What happened next?

Oh…well. Let me tell you… It wasn't pretty.

It was already late. The ocean turned black and the water became thick and heavy. I could see a huge storm was coming our way.

My lover? He just vanished, like in a silent movie. Did he wave at me? I'm not sure.

It was a big storm. All I remember is the water, sand, and broken debris whirling past me…

Dear Readers, thank you for reading! I write mostly about love and the meaning of life. Feel free to share my stories with your loved ones. Special Thanks to Pam Mayer — my tireless friend, editor, and collaborator.

Love

About the Creator

Irina Patterson

M.D by education -- entertainer by trade. I try to entertain when I talk about anything serious. Consider subscribing to my stuff, I promise never to bore you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Irina PattersonWritten by Irina Patterson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.