Fiction logo

I knew it!

Slight Sight

By Nelson FitzgeraldPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Half an hour before I clock out and go home. I have to close the store tonight alone. Normally I don’t mind, but Wednesday nights are the worst. Everything is just so slow. I guess everyone is saving their money for the weekend.

Finally!! Closing the last register and locking the doors. The parking lot looks completely empty. Wow, it is completely empty. Besides my car there is no one else out here. That’s weird its only 10 o’clock and the mall closes at 10pm. Well, I should get home fairly quick then, I say to myself.

So, as I’m warming the car for a bit I light a cigarette. As I’m lighting my cigarette I see someone, or something dash across the parking lot. Rubbing my eyes, I’m thinking to myself, damn I must be super tired. I send Danelle a text to let her know that I’m on my way home. I always send her a text to look out for

1

me when I’m especially tired, just so someone can know where I’m at in case of an emergency.

Right before I leave the parking lot I see it again. Smh, that’s my cue to get the hell out of here. (GPS) in 2.1 miles turn right on 695 north. I take my exit like usual and I realize that a car is right on my tail, so I simply cut my turn signal on and move to the right.

You know what, this ass hat moves to the right lane as well. I’m way too tired for this foolishness tonight. So, I punch it, I’m doing like 85 mph now, floating down 695. Then I start to think 695, oh snap, let me slow down before I get pulled over. Slowing down to about 70.

I look to my right and this car is right beside me. It’s pretty dark out, but I can see if someone is looking in my car. For one I have tints and two its night. So, I know that they can’t possibly see me, but they were being an ass, so I wind down my window and this fool had two dark holes for eyes, no mouth and was a pale gray color. OMG WTH is going on, I thought in my head.

I reached in my left pocket and felt my brass knuckles in there. For some reason that gave me a sense of security. I carry a gun but it’s in my glove compartment and the clip is under the passenger

2

seat. You’d think that I would’ve reached for my gun, but I reach for my phone instead. Babe I don’t think that I’m going to make it home tonight.

(Danielle) How come, what’s wrong, are you okay? (Me) Yes and no. hold on babe, I’m going to send you a pic. I can show you better than I can explain. When you get the pic call me back, I’m driving and driving fast. (Danielle) Ok.

(Phace-time) Hello, babe can you see me? (Danielle) Ya (Me) I just wanted to see your face for one more time and tell you that I love you, but I’m not coming home. (Danielle) How come? (Me) Babe I have to be certain that this thing doesn’t follow me to the house. I can’t risk putting you and the kids in jeopardy. I have just about a full tank of gas and three clips. (Danielle) I understand, but what do I tell the kids. I don’t want to lose you, (Me) Trust me, you won’t lose me, and I will be back, I just don’t know when. Five 43. (Danielle) Got it.

I’m so glad that we saw this coming and came up with codes. I love that woman. We knew this day was coming. We’ve been planning for it for months. Whoever and whatever these beings are, is going to find out very fast that it has messed with the wrong guy this time. I did my research. It’s been multiple sightings and witnesses all over the country. This

3

whole thing was a setup. I knew that they would be watching my day to day activity. They pray on people that seem to be alone a lot and drive late. So, I created a fake real-life profile and followed this act to the “T” until, Hook, Line and Sinker. We caught one

Adventure

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NFWritten by Nelson Fitzgerald

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.