Fiction logo

I Fall to Pieces

Flash Fiction for Vocal Awards

By CatsidhePublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Second Place in 2023 Vocal Writing Awards - Flash Fiction
14
I Fall to Pieces
Photo by Perchek Industrie on Unsplash

I remember the first time it happened.

Sarah and I were arguing, again. I don't even remember what we were arguing about, something trivial. I just remember feeling so misunderstood and belittled. All Sarah seemed to want was to beat me down mentally.

That's when it happened: a piece of flesh the size of a postage stamp just fell off my forearm. It didn't even hurt.

We went to the hospital, of course, but the wound had already healed over. The doctor was baffled. He sent us off with instructions to monitor the spot for any evidence of necrosis and to let him know if it happened again.

And it did. It happened over and over and over, every time we argued. Every time it felt like Sarah was whittling me away, my body reflected the damage.

I could have left, I suppose. But every time, Sarah swore she'd change, she'd be more careful. Every time, she reminded me of the years we'd been together, the good memories.

Every time, until I couldn't have left if I wanted to. I no longer had any arms or legs, you see.

Even then, somehow we still managed to find things to argue about.

We can't argue anymore, though. She threw my mouth away when it fell off. I see her sometimes when she opens the dresser drawer where she keeps my eye.

And of course, I always hear her. She keeps my ear in her purse so I always have to listen.

Psychologicalfiction
14

About the Creator

Catsidhe

Pronounced Cat-she: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat-s%C3%ACth

What can I say about myself?

A mystery wrapped in an enigma wrapped in a walking coffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I remember I scored this one high on all counts. Excellent storytelling 😁

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    I really enjoyed this! Surreal and juicy… well deserved win 👏

  • Test6 months ago

    Your dedication shows in your work—keep it going, congratulations!🥈 Second Place

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Congratulations! Very Profound!

  • Test6 months ago

    Great job! Keep up the fantastic work—congratulations!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    This is exactly how being with a toxic partner feels. Great work! Congrats

  • Congratulations, Cat! Quite the fable, haunting in its relatability.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Congratulations on the win!!!❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This was amazing. Congrats.

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Congratulations on your win!!! 🥰

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Congratulations on placing!! Such a clever premise. I cannot tell you how much I wish I’d thought of it first lol; so relatable. But the way you wrote it, poignant. 👏🎉❤️

  • Great job 👌📝💚

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    A great flash fiction! Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.