Fiction logo

Humanity in Solstice

Chaos created by humans

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 9 days ago 6 min read
Credit - @QT Luong/terragalleria.com

Unbeknown to the world above, the secret died with them. What was considered a tragic mystery, cleverly hidden by the ancient folk. Only centuries later was this uncovered.

The middle of June was fast approaching. Even in the 21st Century, the beliefs and rituals were commonplace. The stones were to be treasured, one of the oldest artifacts built by humans, still it was often clouded in mystery. The committee knew that the Summer Solstice was the busiest time for the believers to gather at sunrise, and yet the historians needed more information.

Unfortunately, the dates had clashed. On the 21st of June, crowds would gather from miles around, to witness the stones align. However, a television documentary crew were arriving the day before, to carry out excavation work, that would almost definitely interrupt the celebrations. Whoever had arranged this was an idiot, and that idiot was me.

What was I thinking? I’m not a part of this committee and not particularly that familiar with the famous stones, but a receptionist job, is a job.

20th June, dusk had fallen, but the sun still shone. Late evenings, in Summer were busier in general. Not being the person in charge, I just observed. Some famous historians or archaeologists came through the visitor centre, as the last of the paying customers left. A few shots were taken outside, then of the visitor centre itself. I watched behind the counter as they filmed, retake after retake, until they were ready to take the shuttle up to the most important thing, the stones.

The bus left with the crew, and lots of filming equipment, followed by a large truck. I had obviously not been told anything, but the committee leader stared at me with frustration, badgering me for answers. With arms flapping and red cheeks, she began to angrily explain what had been planned. All in all, it wasn’t good. Their company had been told, it was perfectly acceptable to start drilling under the ground below the stones, inside the circle. Apparently, after further research, they believed they would find evidence about why the stones were made in the first place, underground. It was ground-breaking information if it worked. However not ideal, when in a few hours, thousands of people would flock to see the stones, in perfect condition, ready to see the solstice for themselves. It was a disaster and they couldn’t really say no, not now that a two-ton truck was driving towards them.

Travelling on the shuttle behind them, alongside Mrs. Dalton, head of the towns committee, I felt every single bump on the way there. Every hole in the road, dug into my back, but the look of Mrs. Dalton, sat opposite me, made me feel even more apprehensive.

As we arrived and they unloaded, I felt the cold. The hot summer sun was retreating slowly and time was ticking. I followed behind Mrs. Dalton. The many members of television crew, marching towards the stones with purpose. A television personality was being followed by a camera the entire way there.

We stood for hours in the cold, as the sun set below the trees. I watched them mindlessly shoot take after retake, until they were ready to drill through the middle of the circle. The equipment pulled up, the engine revving. There was not much that could be done now. I stared directly in front of me, trying to shake off the fact that Mrs. Dalton was looking at me with daggers in her eyes. The drill contacted with the ground. Rumbling like a groaning creature, the drill powered on, breaking the seal. They were through.

Deeper and deeper, the tip of the drill sunk, churning up soil and gravel from decades past. The stones did not stir, every stone stood perfectly still, even though the soil around them was disturbed. I watched the summer day turn into night. The moon shone over the field. Without the brightness from the camera lights, capturing every single movement, the field would have been in darkness.

I wanted desperately to go home. My shift had ended hours ago, and yet I was standing in a field with a group of people I didn’t know, simply because I was foolish enough to double book. A punishment and treat all mixed into one.

We all gathered in one large clump, with blankets and coats to keep us warm. There was mumbling from inside the circle. Professionals whispered together.

“What seems to be the problem?” I heard the TV presenter call out, walking towards the sight.

“Look, if there’s an issue here, perhaps we can pack up and reschedule another time, we still have the public arriving in a few hours and they won’t appreciate all this chaos.” Mrs. Dalton fussed, rushing over to the large camera that filmed from above.

“I think we’ve found something.” Someone shouted.

Yet again, people waited, anticipating something exciting to happen. We were all far away from the action, but leaned forward, cranking our necks. The need to be home was killing me. A full shift, standing for hours, then to be waiting outside in the cold for a few more, however, my curiosity peaked when I heard someone say.

“We’ve found human remains here.”

Dusty and excited, the crew and television presenter dashed into the open pit, as large spotlights filled the darkness. It wasn’t as exciting when they were brushing for hours, dusting the same patch of dirt for any evidence that told them about the stones. I waited, wrapped in a blanket the crew had provided, watching the night’s sky. Looking over at Mrs. Dalton, I could see her fidget. She was usually the person in charge, but now had to sit quietly. She mumbled to herself, grumbling that the sun would be up in a few hours and many people would start to flock here.

The archaeologists worked away peacefully. There was silence on the field, as I watched the night-time traffic from above with squinted eyes. Something inside the hole they had created, didn’t feel right. Some kind of smoke, a dark purple in colour, with a greyish hue, had appeared, as though something had popped through.

Silence, and then I heard a squeak for help. Apparently, it was only me that could hear, as the rest of the group carried on their conversations. That was until the crying plea came again, much louder now, and more dangerous. The once professional TV presenter screamed, running towards us all, arms flapping as if they had seen a ghost. Their face white as the stones themselves, stopping in their tracks.

They fell to the ground with a thud. The earth shook around them. Inserted into their back, was a bloody dagger, and behind them, an even bloodier looking archaeologist, hands dripped in blood, with glazed over crazy eyes. When everyone realised, chaos broke out.

The sounds of screams filled the open field. People were falling over camera wires, while person after person died at the hands of archaeologists, all with the same look. Glossy eyed and manic, murder in their soul.

Like people possessed, racing around as the massacre grew and grew, it would only be so long until the public arrived for the Summer Solstice. From inside the circle, I saw the strange smog grow, as if a campfire had been made. It was obvious that this smoke was deadly, whatever this ancient thing was, it was buried for a reason…

Knowing how far it was from the visitor centre, I hurried down the path, jumping into one of the shuttle buses. I hadn’t passed my test, although I had been learning. Although my mind was racing, there was only one goal, I had to get to reception to warn the public. The engine revved, I released the handbrake and started tumbling backwards down the hill, completely in darkness. The headlights from the front of the bus flashed, making it easier for the possessed to catch up. I didn’t care, all I needed to do was drive as though my life depended on it, however rocky, however dangerous I had to.

I felt large lumps on the path. Hoping that the worst hadn’t come true, I took a deep breath, walking cautiously outside. Plain to see, one of the front tyres had burst, one of the rocks in the road that caused the bus to slide. I was still a fair bit away from the visitor centre, though I could see the roof in the distance.

Everything happened in slow motion. The smoke rose in front of me, casting a cloud like fog on the moors. Purple and grey fumes took control of my body, my mind was not my own. My vision clouded, like a film over my sight. I had one mission, to kill humanity.

MysteryHorrorHistoricalFantasy

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 8889 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

Elizabeth ButlerWritten by Elizabeth Butler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.