Fiction logo

How Coyote Created the Milky-Way

retelling of a Navajo origin myth

By Rob AngeliPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
42

When the sky was only darkness, Black God (Haashch’eezhini) sat atop a lofty mesa, viewing a panorama of the void. His own face was empty, because he was the deity of fire, which consumes all. His eyes smoldered and he bore a crescent on his forehead.

Ceremonial garb representing Haashch'eezhini, Navajo deity of Fire

Standing on the obscure mesa with him, was Talking God (Bikʼeh Hozho), deity of speech and reason who was forming plans and blessing them in each of the four directions, bringing color to the landscape as he delivered messages from above and below, even in darkness. They were planning the placement of constellations in the night-time sky, to be of help to humankind in their travels. They wanted everything to be rigidly ordered and in perfect harmony.

Ceremonial Mask of Bik'eh Hozho, God of Speech, messenger

One by one they took out stars, imbued with Black God's fire, and placed them carefully in the heavens.

Coyote, that old primeval trickster named Ma'ii came trotting along and smelling the place up with his Coyote stench. He panted eagerly when he saw what the gods were doing, wagging his tail and pounding his paws, drooling all over the dust of the mesa.

"Oh please please please, what you're doing is so beautiful and so serious and mysterious--can I do it too, oh please please please! I am older than the earth or the sky; can't I put the stars in their place too?"

But the gods knew that Ma'ii was a mischievous sort who had no self-control, and refused him his request to "join in the play."

Coyote, however, knew they could not refuse him if he asked three more times, because four was a sacred number.

"You must let me participate in placing your stars, you owe it to me!" Coyote whinnied and whined like a little whelp.

"We will not let you," Black God continued drawing individual stars from his hide medicine bag and constellating them onto the blackground. Living Fire of spectral radiance. Coyote turned,

"Talking God! you know I was always friend to the four directions, let me place some stars."

"Never, Ma'ii, you would ruin their formations!" Coyote changed direction again.

"Black God, you know what I am, and that neither one of you can stop me from setting a star or two up there with the others, all neat and orderly just like you like it!" A growl undertoned Coyote's response now, as the deity of Speech lectured him,

"Ma'ii, you should have stopped your begging. You are such a canine pest. Why do you want a part in such work?"

"Fine then!" and Coyote howled and yelped, snatching the hide medicine bag from Black God; with a graceful and gangling flick of his Coyote jaws and neck, he flung carelessly the remainder of the stellar stones across the horizon. From these were formed the Milky Way stars in a swath against the sky, and other seemingly random and chaotic structures in nebulous swirl. He had to step back and admire his own work.

Ma'ii licked his paws, self-satisfied as a well-fed pup, as the gods looked on in dismay.

"What, don't you see it must be this way, you beings of order and design? No power can stop things from going their own way. You seek to create purpose, and so there are your beacon fires of constellation for humankind.

"But the stars are self-satisfied, like myself, and want to be their own purpose. I will lose my hide because of what I am. I will lose my eyes because of what I am. I will take on the suffering of the universe because I am the self-absorbed egotist that I am. The pieces of my body torn asunder will be scattered in the four direction by my bride. I will pay the price for my impulsiveness and lack of self-control as you put it, my hide the prize of every hunter. But there will always be another Coyote: like the stars that periodically die, others to be born--Ma'ii the Trickster can never truly be gone."

More Myths:

And:

Fable
42

About the Creator

Rob Angeli

sunt lacrimae rerum et mentem mortalia tangunt

There are tears of things, and mortal objects touch the mind.

-Virgil Aeneid I.462

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    "Coyote, however, knew they could not refuse him if he asked three more times, because four was a sacred number." I miss this world where four is a sacred number :-D

  • This is a magical read, compelling and beautiful. Recalcitrant Ma'ii captured my heart.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I so love the Native American way of life. Their oneness with nature is truly amazing, and their stories so thrilling and hauntingly marvelous. Really love this story. I want to read everything, but ... you know. Congrats.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    R, this was a beautiful retelling of this myth/ story! Also congratulations on Top Story!

  • Katherine D. Graham10 months ago

    great writing -- wonderful interpretation of fact, integration of philosophy and intriguing fun.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯❤️🎉

  • Test10 months ago

    This is an incredible story, and the images really helped to hold the atmosphere of it. Definitely one of the best I've seen. Congratulations, R! 👏 Pernoste

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is one of the best I have read in the challenge. Excellent work. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story. You have a new subscriber.

  • Gal Mux10 months ago

    And that ego made a for a beautiful view haha great origin story!

  • Excellent take on the challenge and a deserved Top Story

  • David C. Connor10 months ago

    😍🥰

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    What a great read! No wonder you scored a Top Story notch. Congratulations!

  • Nice creation story. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Congrats!! 🎉

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Your myths are so fantastic! This one is a great Top Story winner; congratulations! “Coyote whinnied and whined like a little whelp“ love this alliteration! And wow, that shift in Ma’ii’s speech pattern was unsettling, powerful. His ending monologue gave me chills. Im now curious about his bride, and his scattering to the four directions. Wonderful tale on the origin of the milky way; it read like a prkper navajo folktale! Absolutely flawless. 👏👏👏❤️ I hope this places!!

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    Coyote is one of my favourite of the Indigenous gods! I love his particular brand of chaotic trickster, almost as though it’s not intentional but rather a core of his nature. He is also part of some of the funniest legends, but woe betide any who come across him. Have you read Coyote Blue by Christopher Moore? I think you’d like it

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    💙 Your origin myth has so many bright stars... I will not crowd this comment with quotes. Instead, I will merely applaud you. 👏💙✍️👏

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Beautifully retold! A marvelous challenge entry!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on TS. This was really well done. I know I said I'd give constructive feedback, but I'm struggling to find anything wrong. One thing I could mention, which wasn't a big deal, would be adding dialogue tags so readers are acutely aware of who's talking when. I will say, it was relatively straightforward to follow, but by adding actions with their dialogue, it might bring depth to the conversation (ie. are the characters shrugging, do they have a raised brow, depict their emotions through their postures, etc). Just a thought. I love how you always weave historical accuracies into your tales. I always learn something new when I read your work.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Oh this was both so fascinating and wonderful! I enjoyed this story so much!

  • Absolutely beautiful!! I am sorry I need to respond to several lovely comments from you on my stories ty so so much for your support! Just wanted to say this was touching retelling

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    Such a beautiful rendition of this myth!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is very creative. Really well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.