Fiction logo

How Could I Forget?

A snowy tribute

By Sara JonesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
How Could I Forget?
Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

The sun is reflecting off the snowflakes as they descend from the arctic blue vaults of heaven. The hushed crunch of the glistening powder beneath one’s feet provides a rhythmic sound on this crisp morning. Strange, I am not dressed for this frigid temperature, yet I do not feel cold. I shrug it off, deciding that my recent workout at the gym still has my body amped up.

As I make my way through the snow laden streets, I see familiar faces. I cannot put names to these faces, but they are the same locals from the neighborhood that I pass daily. I nod my head, and even raise a waving hand to the variety of countenances I have grown accustomed to. Odd, it is as if folks are looking past me, through me – but certainly not at me. My routine greetings are going unacknowledged. What could I have done to go unnoticed?

As I plunge my hands deep into the pockets of my parka, I notice that my pockets are not where they should be. I peer down and observe that I am not wearing my winter parka. Instead, I am in a cropped hoodie and jean shorts – what? On my feet, a pair of white Converse. I am not leaving any tracks in the snow, but floating, just above the surface. Oh shit! I forgot, I’m dead! Barely six months ago, struck down by lightning. I promised myself I would come back for one last snowfall.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Sara Jones

I have been writing for a few years but have not had the courage to publish. I do plan on publishing this year, a compilation of flash fiction, Elements.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Impressive work! Well written!

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Great work! Terrific story! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.