Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

House Rules - Thriller Stories

Thrilling stories about rules 01

By xs—xiaPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Everyone in our building has received a WeChat message from the neighborhood committee:

"Dear residents, I am sorry to inform you that this residential building will be locked down for two days starting tomorrow."

"During this period, please abide by the following 12 rules, wait for the residential building to be unsealed in two days before you can enter and exit freely, and those who leave the residential building early..."

1. I just got the takeaway, and suddenly received a WeChat message from @all members.

"1. Pick up supplies at the elevator entrance on each floor before 08:08. Please confirm that the delivery staff is wearing a yellow isolation suit when picking up."

"2. Stay at home between 10:00-12:02, don't make a sound when someone knocks on the door, and don't respond."

"3. If there is a sound from the ceiling, keep quiet and shout if necessary."

"4. Only sparrows flew by outside the window, not pigeons."

"5. You can move freely in the stairwell, but you can't use the elevator freely."

"6. An open elevator is safe."

"7. Do not boil water between 18:08-23:53."

"9. There is no rule 8, if anyone sees rule 8, please stay away from him."

"10. Do not use water after 21:01."

"11. Volunteers will come to collect garbage before 01:01. Before opening the door, please make sure the volunteers knock on the door twice."

"12. This rule is repeated with rule 4. If someone sees a rule that is not repeated, please stay away from him."

"13. Be sure to draw all curtains and close all windows when sleeping."

I was in the living room, only to hear the door opening and closing one after another, as well as loud conversations between neighbors.

"Isn't this elevator available?"

"Oh, what are they talking about? I'll go downstairs and have a look."

The overweight alarm sound from the elevator resounded through the corridor, followed by two people yelling.

"Ha, Feather! It's Feather... Save me! Save me...!"

One of them stuttered as if drowning. Through the door, I heard the rustle of waves lapping on the shore, and finally two bangs of the front and rear doors closing, and silence returned to the outside. I lean against the door, the fear of the unknown permeates my whole body

Resident 402: There are a lot of pigeons outside! ! Breaking in! Help

Resident 104: I climbed out the window. Resident 204: The moment 104 went out, he disappeared! In the end what happened!

Amid everyone's horrified news, the neighborhood committee staff turned a blind eye and launched a supply solicitation. The dinging message notification sound makes me feel nameless irritation again and again.

I have been suffering from insomnia recently, often have headaches, and my ears are always buzzing. Trembling fingers tapped on the screen, subconsciously entering the name of the medicine in the chat window.

. But thinking that it had been a long time since I had taken it, and that this medicine was not easy to buy, I deleted them all. Finally I registered vegetables and fruits. Before going to bed, I carefully close all the windows and draw all the curtains. It only takes two days to calm down, follow the rules first, and you will be able to return to normal life soon...

2. Wake up to the alarm sound in the morning, today is the first day. Time 07:10,

I stared blankly, flushed my face with water, and went out. There were three people standing at the elevator entrance, and I only recognized Zhenxi, my neighbor across the door.

After greeting Zhenxi and chatting for a few words, the elevator door opened. Standing inside was a delivery man wearing a blue isolation suit.

The 704 residents called by the delivery man have already received the supplies and returned to their houses.

When I was called, I looked at the supplies in the delivery man’s hand and found that they were indeed the vegetables and fruits I wanted.

I'm about to step forward...

"1. Collect supplies at the elevator entrance on each floor before 08:08. When collecting, please make sure that the delivery person is wearing a yellow isolation suit." The flash of memory made me excited.

Continuously updating...

thrillerShort StoryMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

xs—xia

like movies, poetry, food

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.