Fiction logo

I was blind but saw you cheating

Finding Strength in Adversity: Reclaiming My Dignity and Self-Esteem

By Abd AzisPublished 29 days ago 5 min read
By azis

After our heartfelt conversation, Mike seemed to change. He was more patient, more understanding. I started to feel like maybe we could get through this together. But then, life threw us another curveball.

One afternoon, I had an accident. I slipped on the stairs and hit my head pretty hard. When I woke up in the hospital, everything was still dark. The doctors ran some tests and, miraculously, my vision began to return. It was blurry at first, but gradually I could see more and more. It was a relief, but it also brought a new kind of clarity.

I didn't tell Mike right away. I wanted to surprise him once I was fully healed, but I also had this nagging suspicion in the back of my mind. Something about the way he had been acting before my accident didn’t sit right with me. So, I decided to keep my newfound sight a secret for a bit longer.

Back at home, I pretended to still be blind, navigating with the same care and caution as before. Mike seemed relieved that I hadn’t regained my sight. It was an odd reaction, but I brushed it off, hoping it was just my imagination.

One evening, Mike came home late. He didn’t realize I was awake, and I heard him talking softly on the phone. Curious, I peeked through the slight crack in the bedroom door. What I saw made my heart sink. Mike was standing in the living room, holding another woman in his arms, kissing her passionately. My stomach churned, and I felt a mix of rage and sadness wash over me.

I decided to keep up the charade a little longer, to see if this was a one-time mistake or something more. Over the next few days, I watched as he continued his affair right in front of me, thinking I couldn’t see a thing. It was painful, but I needed to know the truth.

One night, I couldn’t take it anymore. I decided it was time to confront him. I waited until they were together again in the living room. I walked in, cane in hand, and said, "Mike, I need to talk to you."

He looked startled, but quickly composed himself. "What is it, honey?"

I took a deep breath and dropped the cane. "I can see you, Mike. I’ve been able to see for a while now. I saw you with her."

His face went pale, and the woman quickly backed away, looking horrified. "It's not what it looks like," he stammered.

"Save it," I said, my voice surprisingly calm. "I’ve seen enough. You’ve been cheating on me right in front of my eyes, thinking I was blind. How could you?"

Mike started to speak, but I held up my hand. "There's nothing you can say to make this better. I trusted you, and you betrayed me in the worst way possible."

The woman quickly left, and Mike stood there, looking defeated. "I’m sorry," he finally said, tears welling up in his eyes. "I don’t know why I did it. I’ve been a fool."

"You’re right about that," I replied, my own tears starting to fall. "But it’s too late now. I need to move on, and so do you."

I packed my things and left that night. It wasn’t easy, but I knew I deserved better. The accident that restored my sight also gave me a new perspective on my life and my worth. I wasn’t going to let anyone, not even Mike, make me feel less than I was.

In time, I healed. I found a new place, made new friends, and slowly began to rebuild my life. And through it all, I learned the importance of trusting myself and never settling for anything less than what I deserved. Mike’s betrayal was painful, but it also set me free, allowing me to truly see the strength and resilience within me.After our heartfelt conversation, Mike seemed to change. He was more patient, more understanding. I started to feel like maybe we could get through this together. But then, life threw us another curveball.

One afternoon, I had an accident. I slipped on the stairs and hit my head pretty hard. When I woke up in the hospital, everything was still dark. The doctors ran some tests and, miraculously, my vision began to return. It was blurry at first, but gradually I could see more and more. It was a relief, but it also brought a new kind of clarity.

I didn't tell Mike right away. I wanted to surprise him once I was fully healed, but I also had this nagging suspicion in the back of my mind. Something about the way he had been acting before my accident didn’t sit right with me. So, I decided to keep my newfound sight a secret for a bit longer.

Back at home, I pretended to still be blind, navigating with the same care and caution as before. Mike seemed relieved that I hadn’t regained my sight. It was an odd reaction, but I brushed it off, hoping it was just my imagination.

One evening, Mike came home late. He didn’t realize I was awake, and I heard him talking softly on the phone. Curious, I peeked through the slight crack in the bedroom door. What I saw made my heart sink. Mike was standing in the living room, holding another woman in his arms, kissing her passionately. My stomach churned, and I felt a mix of rage and sadness wash over me.

I decided to keep up the charade a little longer, to see if this was a one-time mistake or something more. Over the next few days, I watched as he continued his affair right in front of me, thinking I couldn’t see a thing. It was painful, but I needed to know the truth.

One night, I couldn’t take it anymore. I decided it was time to confront him. I waited until they were together again in the living room. I walked in, cane in hand, and said, "Mike, I need to talk to you."

He looked startled, but quickly composed himself. "What is it, honey?"

I took a deep breath and dropped the cane. "I can see you, Mike. I’ve been able to see for a while now. I saw you with her."

His face went pale, and the woman quickly backed away, looking horrified. "It's not what it looks like," he stammered.

"Save it," I said, my voice surprisingly calm. "I’ve seen enough. You’ve been cheating on me right in front of my eyes, thinking I was blind. How could you?"

Mike started to speak, but I held up my hand. "There's nothing you can say to make this better. I trusted you, and you betrayed me in the worst way possible."

The woman quickly left, and Mike stood there, looking defeated. "I’m sorry," he finally said, tears welling up in his eyes. "I don’t know why I did it. I’ve been a fool."

"You’re right about that," I replied, my own tears starting to fall. "But it’s too late now. I need to move on, and so do you."

I packed my things and left that night. It wasn’t easy, but I knew I deserved better. The accident that restored my sight also gave me a new perspective on my life and my worth. I wasn’t going to let anyone, not even Mike, make me feel less than I was.

In time, I healed. I found a new place, made new friends, and slowly began to rebuild my life. And through it all, I learned the importance of trusting myself and never settling for anything less than what I deserved. Mike’s betrayal was painful, but it also set me free, allowing me to truly see the strength and resilience within me.

Psychological

About the Creator

Abd Azis

I, an amateur writer, compose heartfelt stories that explore identity and the human experience. Its charming characters and touching narrative are inspired by life everyday, very popular with readers.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Abd AzisWritten by Abd Azis

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.