Fiction logo

Home of the Misacc

Revna's Journey to Heraittship

By Serena TylerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

There weren't always dragons in the valley. Since I could remember, no one was allowed to travel to the land of Kiah. For decades all the elders told stories about the land of Kiah. How all the dragons roamed that land, still miles from our village, we could hear the cries of the beasts. Though, tonight I listened to the creatures bellowing for what seemed like ages.

'The Heraitt's must've captured another hatchling' I thought. Here, in the village, we have kept to ourselves, yet now and again, a Heraitt village warrior would travel to search for the Misacc because it is said to keep the witches at bay. Just a portion of the jewel can kill off an entire coven. Although to get to the Misacc, a Heraitt must slay the dragon guardian, as the creatures protect the powerful jewel. 'Next year, it will be your turn to fight for your Heraittship' my father smiled from across the fire. Even though I know that this is tradition, I can't help but feel as though it is not my destiny. Dragons are such beautiful creatures, and the power they bestow is magical. I wouldn't dare tell my father how I felt. I know he is very proud to have his eldest daughter become a Heraitt. He knows I would be the first Heraitt in the village.

I picked off small parts of my cooked rabbit. Wishing my mother were still here. It has been seven years since my mother passed. That night a Heraitt had stolen a piece of the Misacc. While traveling back to the village, a clan of dragons followed through the clouds. The beasts attacked at dusk. When my father found my mother, she was lying amongst the ash. Nothing has been the same since she has been gone.

Our village is constantly under attack by the coven robbing our barn fowl and the dragons turning our homes and loved ones to ash. I stood up, 'I am going to bathe. Please keep the fire burning for me sissy' I said to my sister. I reached for the bucket, carrying it to the village well. A mile hike that I dreaded every night. 'Psst' I heard from the trees, 'now what is a lovely maiden like yourself doing walking alone' I squinted my eyes to see Hollan walking from the woods 'Hollan' I shrugged as I hooked the bucket to the rope pump 'you did not go to lessons today, again, what is keeping you?' he leaned over the well as I pulled the bucket down 'I have other duties' I sighed 'duties more important than your Heraittship?' he stared at me 'yes, I have the horses to brush and hooves to trim for all the Heraitt's, such as yourself' I snickered 'oh, that is such a job' he smiled 'well let me know when you are ready to, we need women like yourself, that is you can squeeze into smaller cavern dens' Hollan laughed as he walked away. I rolled my eyes 'cavern dens, how lucky would I be' I pulled the bucket up. I carried the bucket back to our fire.

I stopped. I breathed in, smelling the grimy stench coming from the scales of a beast. I looked around. Kneeling against the ground, I heard the crackling of branches. My eyes focused ahead of me. I watched as the creature crawled down the path between the trees in front of me. My heart throbbed through my chest. Laying there, I wondered if the dragon could feel the vibrations of my heartbeat through the ground.

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.