Fiction logo

Holidays Through Forever Eyes

Best friends can be your savior. They can morph into your study buddies or they can be there for you when you lose yourself. They can become your guide, leading you through the right paths, or they can desert you in the times that you need them most. They can be your lover and your solace. Best friends can be forever. *Harry Potter fan fiction*

By Lizzy GabrickPublished 3 years ago 18 min read
Like
Holidays Through Forever Eyes
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

*Disclaimer: This story is a piece of Harry Potter fanfiction, which is owned by J.K. Rowling and her associates. This story is simply based on the wonderful wizarding world that she created.

Seemingly floating down the Hogwarts Express’s rusted iron steps, Luna Lovegood was headed home for the holidays. Immediately lost as she was engulfed by the boisterous crowd, she allowed her sense of feeling to take over her mind. It was not difficult- locating Blaise Zabini through her senses- and the young woman began to weave through the noisy crowds of parents and children in the direction of her choice. She took her time though, knowing far well that Blaise was anxious to see her, but also aware of the fact that he would want her to enjoy the chaotic surroundings and travel at the pace she set.

Orange trunk in hand, Luna slowed her pace, the cause of her sensing coming plainly into view. Blaise was modeling skinny jeans, a blue, checkered shirt, and a black sporting jacket. Smiling widely as Luna caught attention in his eyes, he walked swiftly toward her, his long strides covering the distance in short seconds.

“Blaise!” Luna cried excitedly as Blaise’s muscled arms wrapped her up into a sturdy hug. “I missed you.”

“Oh Luna,” Blaise chuckled freely before kissing her lightly on the lips. “I missed you too. After you spending all summer with me, it felt strange with you gone for these past several months.”

Luna smiled dreamily, accidently letting her bright trunk slide from her loose clutch as she became surrounded in her moment.

Blaise swept down and retrieved the unbroken trunk before Luna even had the time to register what had happened.

“Let me take this. No need for a beautiful woman such as yourself having to carry anything when they have a man around to do just that,” Blaise declared. He smiled again, displaying his pearly teeth as he did so.

“You look nice,” Luna commented, eyeing Blaise’s outfit once again. “Muggle clothing appears to suit you very well.”

“Thank you. You look gorgeous. Blue really accentuates your charming eyes.”

Luna laughed twice, smiling as she did so. “Stop with the flattery, Mr. Zabini. You know it has no effect on me.”

Blaise laughed again, the cheerful noises seeming to come easy to him. Nothing said ever seemed to make complete sense when Blaise was around his dear Luna. And yet, everything in the world was that much more defined and clear in his beady eyes. A side effect, he considered it. A part of him that became permanent due to the many days of her presence.

Taking Luna’s velvet hand in his own, he pulled her gently away from the other magical beings and toward the Muggle section of the old train station. The couple walked side by side; staying evenly in stride, swinging their hands and arms in the open space between their separated bodies.

“How was school?” Blaise asked Luna cheerfully, realizing abruptly that the most obvious question had not come up yet.

“Average; the ups and the downs. My classes are all going well by the way. All O’s. Howard Fortrell is a wonderful Head Boy. Very consistent and an easy handler with authority. A little overboard at some points, but what else can you expect? Everyone has their bad spots. Our new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Professor Tonks, is magnificent as well. She knows a lot and teaches us from all directions. You would have liked her. Andromeda Tonks, I think, is her name. Formerly a Black,” Luna replied, her words appeared to be coming to her just as she spoke. A signature, non physical trait of hers. “How about you? How is your Healer’s training coming along?”

“Wonderful actually. We have not gotten too far into the medical end of things quite yet, but I am fairly certain that that will start to come up next year. Right now we are going over the basics- Wand Positioning, Potion Brewing, Socialization- pretty boring, but definitely essential for when we start the job on our own. Next semester should get a bit more challenging for me though. I have three different Paperwork classes as well as a professional Healer who will have me help him in the hospital on Wednesdays. Normally we would not start on that until our second year, but they are switching everything around on us. I do not care though. The sooner that I get through all of the basic classes, the happier that I will be. I cannot wait to get into more medical simulations. It is going to be absolutely amazing.”

“I cannot wait either. You are so excited and I want to see you happy at all times. It is what you have always wanted, is it not? To become a Healer?” Luna questioned as several Muggles scattered in the train station stared curiously at their swinging hands and arms.

“Yes. Since I was twelve. My parents never took an interest in it though. Mother was always too busy trying to find a man suitable enough for her to settle down with for a few years and dad was always thinking about mum. Even though she left him for another man sixteen years ago he cannot let it go. I lived with my dream for years without telling anyone. You were first person that I ever told,” Blaise answered simply. Luna knew everything there was about Blaise’s family’s history, but it was essential to repeat for this new form of information.

“Twelve,” Luna sighed quietly, “that is a long while. I have wanted to become a naturalist since I was fourteen. Up until then I had about six different occupations in mind, each one slowly dying away as I lost interest.”

The happy couple was quiet for awhile, advancing further in their walk toward the two double doors that separated them from the crisp winter air.

“Nothing can replace you,” Blaise exhaled dramatically in their comfortable passing silence.

Luna smiled widely to herself and closed her glassy eyes, taking in Blaise’s sweet words.

“That is a splendid feeling- being irreplaceable. Cushiony and smooth.”

Blaise’s thick lips tugged naturally at her simple remark. “Let me get the door for you, Miss Lovegood.”

Pulling his left hand away from Luna’s, he reached for one of the metal handles. Swinging it open skillfully, he turned back to face Luna, careful not to accidentally hit her with her orange trunk in the process.

Holding the door as she gracefully stepped through it, Blaise bit the inside of his cheek firmly. His Luna was so beautiful. Her sparkly eyes, layered blond locks, rosy blush. She was thoughtful and brainy, dreamy and creative; the woman that filled his dreams every night. It was a challenge to stop himself from hugging her body close to his once again.

Meeting up with his other half as she stepped outside, Blaise regained possession of Luna’s soft hand.

“Let us turn here,” Blaise requested, pulling Luna lightly into the direction that he was referring to. “We can sneak around to the side of the building to where there is some sort of electrical source and apparate to my house from there. We could just use a taxi, but I have something planned for us before our Christmas Eve dinner and I want to head home first.”

“Making plans without me, huh?” Luna laughed. She turned with Blaise at her side, making her way along the side of the train station.

“I had to plan some sort of surprise for you,” Blaise defended uselessly, not pushing the issue any further than that.

Coming into view, the electrical source would serve as a perfect place for disguise.

“You ready?” Blaise questioned Luna, taking her other hand so that both were raised at his level. “We can do side-along apparation. It makes me feel better knowing that you will not end up at someone else’s house.”

“I will always remember what your apartment looks like. I have a photographic memory, remember? But I will gladly apparate at your side, Blaise Zabini. I enjoy groups of two more than groups of one,” Luna replied simply.

Blaise grinned, kissing Luna’s right cheek in a swift movement. “Close your eyes, sweet. I do not wish for you to become light headed after the short journey.”

Luna did as she was told, letting her eyelids fall over, blocking out the light, the city, and the honorable man in front of her.

After a short sensation of breathlessness and emptiness, the couple regained their footing on the solid concrete. Opening her wide eyes, Luna took in a whole new world.

Instead of the simple, modernized flat that she had been expecting, in front of her lay a large, mansion-like, cylinder shaped house. Wide windows of all sizes littered the black surface, various colored shudders encased around them. Complete with a large pond and uncounted acreage, the house was a sight.

“Blaise? Where are we?” Luna’s light eyes were wide with evident shock. Goosebumps evenly spaced her pale skin. Blaise shrugged.

“Home,” he declared, a grin forming naturally into place.

Luna did not answer his response. She merely stared intently at the house, her breathing even but deep.

“It is what you wanted, right? Last summer you told me that you wished so dearly that you could live in a home like the one that your parent’s raised you in. When your house was burned down after your father died, you were crushed. This is alright, is it not? I mean, if you would wish to live in a home less similar, I could-”

Blaise stopped talking as Luna sprinted off through the snow toward their new home. He darted after her, holding her unique trunk in his right hand as he did so.

“Luna!”

She continued her sudden run toward the door, but turned her head to look at Blaise’s running figure beside her, a sweet smile gracing her thin lips.

Reaching the door after seconds, Luna fumbled with the brass door knob, flinging it open in a sloppy movement. The inside of the peculiar house was just as obscure as the outside, but it was comforting and designed to reflect both of them. It was furnished and complete; simply beautiful.

Luna’s wondrous gaze secured Blaise’s attention.

“A dream come true,” Luna whispered, running her slender fingers across the delicate carpet on the sitting room floor.

“Would you like to see the room that you will be sleeping in?” Blaise pondered as Luna finished up her fascination.

“Yes. That would be lovely,” Luna replied, stepping instinctively to Blaise’s side.

The couple hopped up a long, spiral staircase and followed several rounded halls until Blaise stopped them both at the location of a closed blue door. He turned the golden knob, exposing the room’s contents.

The room’s shape itself was unique- oval. Several dressers were configured to fit with the walls and a king sized bed was off to the right. A large window took up three of the four rounded walls. Luna beamed.

“This is your room,” Blaise reminded her, chuckling briefly at the cheerfulness of the moment.

“Not forever,” Luna pointed out with a half smile. “Eventually you and I will share a room and this will no longer be mine”

“We can share this room you want. Sure, the Master bedroom was built for that, but if you would rather share this room, it would work. Whatever you want, love,” Blaise explained. He wanted dearly for her to have all that she wished.

Luna laughed lightly at his charming comment. “No. I am sure the Master bedroom is much more spectacular. This works perfect for the time being. I love it when you call me love by the way. It makes me feel special.”

“You are special, love,” Blaise remarked truthfully as he set Luna’s trunk down on her fluffy bed. He reached for one of her restless hands and kissed it softly.

“You are special too,” Luna insisted, her heart speeding up at the feel of his soft lips on her pale hand.

Blaise stared Luna intently in the eyes, knowing exactly how much she meant to him.

“I know that you are hesitant when it comes to kissing, but can I kiss you?”

“I am not hesitant,” Luna argued in her dreamy tone.” Now that we are in a serious relationship, I feel more secure about it. Last year it was only because we were not in love. Now that we are aware of what love is, there is no reason not to express it.” The couple beamed in unison.

“You do have a point, my dear,” Blaise whispered before his lips tumbled over hers.

Musical chords began playing in their ears, composing the sweet melody of their faithful love. Blaise’s arms hugged Luna close and Luna’s hands linked tightly around Blaise’s muscled neck.

They broke apart a short time later.

“Where is our mistletoe?” Luna questioned loudly.

“Look up,” Blaise requested joyfully, lifting his gaze toward in the mentioned direction.

Floating two feet from the smooth ceiling, a small décor of mistletoe was gathered.

“Blaise Zabini charmed mistletoe? To follow us?” Luna laughed breathlessly.

“Guilty,” Blaise whispered. Luna smiled simply at his remark.

“What else did you have planned today? Earlier you mentioned that you wanted to head home before we went and took care of something else.”

“We are going caroling. Meeting at London’s University after dinner.”

Luna’s mouth popped open at his words. Her eyes began to water slightly in the corners and a rugged gasp escaped from her displayed mouth. Blaise chuckled easily at her expression, but held a firm base on the prediction that this was similar to what he had expected her reaction to be.

“Caroling, Blaise? Caroling?” Luna gasped in an exasperated tone.

“Yes, Luna. Caroling.”

A priceless smile became evident on Luna’s pink lips. “It is for the orphan charity, right?”

“Of course. That happens to be your favorite one,” Blaise replied.

“You make me smile, Mr. Zabini,” Luna admitted as she did just that. She kissed his defined cheek gracefully and then took and medium step back from his towering silhouette.

“Oh, love, I almost forgot! We were not able to decorate a Christmas tree together because you were at school, and so I saved you a few ornaments. The tree is in the hall near the kitchen. Would you like to do that now?” Blaise informed, questioning her of her opinion at the end.

“That sounds pleasing,” Luna replied in honesty.

“Alright then. I will lead you downstairs,” Blaise suggested simply. There was nothing in the world that he would rather do.

Blaise took Luna’s hand without urgency and began to pull her in the direction of the tree. Down the hard wood steps and off to the left, there it stood, gleaming in the early afternoon light.

“Blaise, it is beautiful!” Luna cried, unhooking her hand from his as she darted toward the twelve-foot tree for a closer inspection.

“Thank you,” Blaise responded. “I am glad to hear that you have a positive opinion of the tree. I thought that it looked a little dull. The lack of my creativity coming in right there, I suppose. Here,” he added, walking toward a small rounded table that held several ornaments. “Put these anywhere that you would like.”

Luna followed in his steps, arriving at the oval table side by side with Blaise. She looked over her limited selection of decoration and reached for a silver sphere-shaped ornament. Dancing naturally toward the towering, brightly colored tree, she began to search for a nook for the ball to call home.

“So what classes are you taking at the moment?” Blaise asked, curious for any information that he may have missed.

“The six required- Transfiguration, Potions, Defense Against the Dark Arts, Herbology, History of Magic, and Care of Magical Creatures. This semester I am also taking Divination and Ancient Runes, but next semester I will substitute those with Arithmancy and Muggle Studies. Care of Magical Creatures is my favorite, although, you are already completely aware of that. Professor Hagrid is such a smart man when it comes to the animals of our world. I look up to him for that,” Luna answered as she nestled her first ornament within the green tree’s branches and was beginning to search for a place for her second one chosen.

“It sounds like you have a bit of everything on your schedule. That is one of the things that I wish that I would have done while I was at Hogwarts. I always took classes that I felt would help me in my medical career. I think that it would have been more promising if I would have varied up my schedule a bit though. I learn all that I need to at Healer’s training and taking a few random classes during my school years would have helped me tremendously to study other things.”

By now, Luna was finishing up on her third ornament, heading toward the two left on the cramped table.

“I have changed you, Luna,” Blaise sighed loudly, keeping his eyes on her as he spoke the words that he had been holding in for the last half hour.

“What in a larkspert’s tail do you mean by that?” Luna questioned dramatically, peering over at Blaise from her position behind the enormous Christmas tree.

“You are different from the young woman that changed me so much last year. I do not really know what exactly it is, but I guess that it is pretty much that fact that you no longer seem to be lost in your own little world. I cannot help but to blame myself because of it. I must gave forced you to think that you had to change or something like that. I am so sorry,” Blaise commented sincerely, oblivious to the shocked expression that was etched on Luna’s face.

“What are you talking about? You did not force me into anything. I changed because I grew up. Before I met you- I mean, really met you- I was lost. I really was. But part of that was because of my father. I loved him with all of my heart, Blaise, and you know that, but he was only so much in this world as well. After my mother died, he focused all of his attention on me and the Quibbler. He was the best father, he really was. I can only begin to image how difficult it must be to provide for a child all on your own. But while he was concentrating on his work, I was left simply to entertain myself.

This last year has helped me to find new ways to keep myself entertained. I have a best friend who cares for me with all of his heart, and I no longer have to drift off into my own world just to occupy time. You have helped me to realize that there is more to life than just imagination and fantasy, even though those are the two things that separate one individual from everyone else. Although you have convinced yourself that doing so has changed me, I cannot thank you enough for doing what you did. After father passed away earlier this year, I knew that befriending you was the smartest decision that I have ever made in my life. You are the kindest, most genuine man that I have come to know, besides my father, of course. We both changed each other and even though we see the negatives of the act at this exact moment, I can promise you entirely that in the future we will realize what good it has actually done. Without that change, I do not think that either of us would be in this location right now.”

Luna finished placing all five ornaments on the tree and was sitting herself down on the furnished wooden floor next to Blaise’s large feet.

“I could not agree more, love,” Blaise replied, smiling.

“You are my best friend, Blaise Zabini,” Luna confessed in a whispered tone laced with intensity.

“As you are mine,” Blaise responded with gleeful honesty.

“And best friends find themselves making snow angels out in their front lawns on days as special as this,” Luna informed. She rose to her feet and hooked her arm around Blaise’s.

“Yes, they do,” Blaise insisted. “But they never forget to put on their winter jackets to keep warm.”

Each quickly retrieving their wands from their closed-over pockets, they transfigured heavy coats from two random fixtures nearby.

“Wait, wait, wait,” Blaise cried as Luna began to slip her own coat through one arm. “I want to choose the color.”

“Alright, but I get to choose yours as well,” Luna compromised.

“Fair enough,” Blaise replied.

Taking each other’s coats in hand, they both muttered a simple spell under their breaths, the effect becoming instantly clear.

“You are red,” Luna admitted confidently.

“You are blue.”

The couple collected their original jackets and slipped them on. Within a half a minute, the two were sporting matching hats and gloves.

“You ready,” Blaise pondered, offering Luna his arm.

“Absolutely,” Luna answered.

The pair scrambled through several hallways and exited the house, coming in contact with the frosty, winter air.

Luna unattached her arm from Blaise’s almost immediately and made her way over to a clear patch of snow that the two had not trampled on earlier in their hasty entrance to the house. It did not matter where the angels were made, but a clear patch seemed to be the most promising. Lying down on her back, she began to move her arms and legs routinely. After several long seconds, she brought her arms to her side and her short legs together.

Blaise laid down beside her, copying her graceful movements a little more sloppily, but rising after his own design was complete. He offered a sturdy hand to help Luna up from her lowly position and the couple observed their masterpieces.

“They the look like the two of us,” Blaise observed, noting their distinguished sizes.

“They are holding hands,” Luna pointed out, taking in the fact that the angels’ wings collided slightly on the snowy ground.

Three hours later, the entire lawn was covered in snow angels, each displaying the differences in size and each colliding their wings, showing the world that the two culprits of the design would remain inseparable for the forever that they had in mind.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Gabrick

I spent many years reading and writing in my adolescence but have found inspiration has lapsed since I have become more settled into my adult life--a career and marriage. I look forward to changing that and sharing my creations with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.