Fiction logo

Hole Shaped Heart

Love lost

By Luke Simpson Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was the year 3094, and the Earth was a mess, full of despair and murder. In a small town west of Missouri, lays a crime scene too beautiful to describe. A young lady lying bloody on the floor surrounded by three bodies, her hand clutching a heart shaped locket, drizzled with a hint of blood. To fully understand the crime scene, one must go back in time precisely three hours, when Kelly was sitting in a country bar nursing a cold beer and watching a baseball game.

If you went to this bar and saw her sitting down at the counter, you would not have gave her a second glance. A plain face, a non descript body, and the worst fashion sense in the whole country. Its the locket she wore that was a priceless heirloom, and thanks to a war that lasted decades, silver was an increasingly rare metal. It was hidden under a shirt and bra, and felt cold to the touch, no matter the weather. The locket would only open up to her touch, since it was encoded to open only with her dna.

Enclosed was a picture engraved in the very metal with her mother and father and brother, all together. It was only a few years later, that Jimmy my brother died of breast cancer. After losing all my possessions in a fire, this locket was the only thing I had left of my family, it was all I had left from my old life. I would never let it out of my sight or give it up.

A weary, arrogant soldier came stumbling up to the bar and slammed his hands on the bar and yelled for a drink. The bartender immediately rushed over and gave him a fresh beer on tap. He looked to his left, saw no one, and then all slowly like, he turned and looked at me with an intense glare. He wondered what a woman like me was doing at a shit hole bar like Shitty Steve's, which by the way has amazing cheese sticks. I told the soldier to fuck off and do it kindly, and he did not respond in the way I hoped.

Soldier boy came walking by my stool, and moved his head only inches from my sweating face, and stared into my soul. I felt powerless and when he raised his hand to strike me, it was all I could do but just watch his hand in slow motion. Almost immediately I felt a sharp pain on my cheeks, as if the Hand of God came down and smacked me upside the head. It was then I saw his two hands move closer and closer to my throat. As he was choking me , it was as if I could see my life flashing before my eyes, and then it was over.

So many regrets and things left undone, so many dreams not chased and passions unfulfilled. She managed to kick this hardnosed soldier in the balls and he let loose his grip on her luscious throat. Kelly stepped back and grabbed a small revolver from her purse and aimed it at her attacker. The soldier just stopped, then started walking closer and closer. Kelly aimed and fired , again and again until all six cylinders were empty. As the soldier lay dying, Kelly calmly started to reload.

A minute later the sheriff comes running to see what all the gunshots were about, and saw Kelly standing next to this soldier, a war torn hero who fell prey to strong drinks and hard drugs, and lost his way. The sheriff points his gun at Kelly and tells her to drop the gun and get on her knees. Kelly tried to explain what this man, their hero, did and got a swift kick in the gut. The cop knocked the gun away, and both of them dive to the floor to grab it.

Kelly grabbed the gun in the nick of time, and pointed it straight at the police Academy's newest rookie, John Smith. John slowly rose to his knees and knocked over a few cans to distract her, while reaching for his gun. They both shoot at the same time, both being hit center mass within milliseconds apart, slowly slide to the floor, blood pooling around both bodies. Kelly knew that she didn't have much time left, and even if a doctor arrived here shortly, she would bleed out far before then. She stroked her locket, and in her final few seconds gazed one last time at her family, who she was about to see very very soon.

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Luke Simpson

I love writing poems, short stories, fiction, non fiction and just the art of writing in and of itself. Books and stories are the key to learning and using your imagination to travel to far and distant lands.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.