Fiction logo

His Wounded Omega - II

Chapter Two

By Briar RosePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Bickering voices were the first thing I heard when I awoke. My beasts slowly arousing with me inside my head. As I sniffed the air, anxiety invaded my lungs. My eyes snapped open and examed the room in front of me through the small metal squares of a crate. White walls encased the room while medical supplies were littered across the tables and counters.

I let out a whimper as I curled into the soft blankets beneath me. A hand appeared in front of me and I jumped back with a frightened yelp.

"I told you not to scare her!" A male voice shouted from behind me.

The woman who had tried to reach for me snapped back at him, "And I told you to shut up!"

I sunk as low as I could to the ground, glancing between the two in fear. Silence fell upon the two as they stared at me in curiosity. I wanted out, out of this cage of small metal squares. I tried to find anything that might get me out of here but there was nothing. My tiger paced around in my mind while my wolf simply lay curled up in fear. Neither of them seemed to have any other options of escape.

I glanced down at my paws, jumping back in shock when I was met with white instead of brown, dirt-soaked fur. I lapped at my paws in fearful curiosity.

Did they clean me?

A hand grabs me by my scruff and I curl up into a passive position with a silent yelp. I waited for the blows and bites to start with my eyes screwed shut. I shouldn't be clean, I'm not clean. I don't deserve to be cleaned; I'm going to get punished.

When I was set down on a soft surface, my eyes snapped open. The male and female from before were then joined by others in a different room from before. I laid upon a brown-colored carpet in the middle of the room. I instantly rolled over into a submissive position when some took steps forward. My body shook as I surveyed the room and the people in it. White walls were painted in a forest landscape hints of color pocking through when an animal was shown. Different sets of bean bags littered the floor, while wooden tree-shaped bookcases stretched out from one of the walls. Three small tables and chairs sat near the bookcases. This room was too nice; I shouldn't be here.

Heavy footsteps echo from the open doorway hidden behind the people in front of me.

"How's she doing, Doc?" A deep, baritone voice rumbled as everyone turned toward the approaching set of footsteps. For some odd reason, both my tiger and my wolf stood up in curiosity despite their ever-hanging fear. I, on the other hand, took the distraction as a chance to scurry closer to the wall and push myself flush against it.

The woman from the medical room spoke up, "She's very scared and there are some things I should discuss with you in private."

"Alright," The owner of the voice stepped forward between the crowd, his stormy blue eyes settling on my frightening form. "Everyone head out for the night, let's not scare this pup more than necessary." People quickly left the room left but not without sparing a curious glance in my direction. I cowered under all their watchful gazes, tensed in case one might decide to charge at me. While I knew by their scents all were human, they could still cause as much damage as any shifter and sometimes worse. I shivered, shaking away the memories that threatened to take over my mind. I couldn't get distracted now not with these people around me.

Once everyone had cleared the room, I was left with Helena and the mysterious man.

My tiger took a hesitant step forward in my mind, wanting to take over and learn more about this man standing in front of us. I didn't understand her curiosity and refused to let her gain control. They could turn on us any minute.

Reaching for a clipboard, the man reads off it while the woman speaks. "As you can easily tell she's clearly neglected and hasn't eaten in probably a long while. That I believe is the first thing we should quickly work on. If she doesn't get food in her body soon she might not survive very long. Dustin and I were able to cut out all her matted fur and clean her off as you can see. When she first arrived we had originally thought that she was brown colored, but that was actually just from the amount of dirt embedded in her fur. As we cleaned her, we also began to notice all the little scars and old wounds hidden underneath her fur and across her stomach. Not to mention all the bruises too. So she was also most likely abused, which would explain part of her behavior."

"Did you figure out her age?" The man eventually spoke up.

"That's the interesting part," Her eyes light up with immense curiosity as she continued on. "While she is the mere size of a 5-week old wolf pup, she's actually an adult or just nearing out of the teenage years. If you look at her teeth they are the set of adults and her scars show they have been there longer than 5 weeks, some even a couple of years."

Before the woman could say anything more the man reached for me. I squirmed in my spot, waiting for the fist to hit my body. His hand instead picked me up by my scruff.

It wasn't until his scent finally hit me did I freeze altogether. My constant shivering stopped and I let out a low whine.

'Mate'

Series
Like

About the Creator

Briar Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.