Fiction logo

Hershey

The little dog that could

By MaddiePublished 3 years ago 3 min read

When Hershey was a little girl, I decided one bright and early summer morning that I would teach her to swim.

Growing up in a busy household, my parents always said to me that learning to swim was not only a necessity for personal safety, but for summer fun and trips to the lake with my Grandparents (and for the right of passage of being tossed from the family pontoon boat which they failed to mention until I was actually in the water - but I digress). With this knowledge in hand, I took it upon myself to teach my young puppy the skill that all noble young puppies should learn to do. But man, did it backfire.

My morning started off with a quick (and naïve) Google search, where I read that if (being the keyword here) a Labrador has a "positive swimming experience", they are bound to grow into successful swimmers who will love "splashing about"; however, what the internet failed to mention, (Tom, from Reddit - I'm coming for you) was that not all Labs love water.

But not my Hershey.

So, with that being said, picture this: a bright blue sky... white clouds... a calm wind blowing through the prairie grass... and the sweet sound of what could've been a dying yak echoing through to the Plains of Abraham. I promise it's not as dramatic as it sounds, but I would be lying if I told you that my Mom definitely didn't stick her head out the kitchen window to check no one was actually dying.

After a quick temperature check, (because nothing would suffice less for my Hershey), and a quick squeeze into the old water wings, I picked up Hershey and slowly waded my way into the pool - which should've really been a calming moment. A surreal moment. The first moment Hershey truly discovered her love for water. Only until she decided she didn't and let out this humanoid cry and lept from my arms towards the ladder.

It was at this moment, I released, I messed up. Big time. It wasn't because she sank straight to the bottom, I thought maybe this was going to be one of those "learning on the job" moments; it was when she resurfaced and tried to crawl up my back only to slide back downwards - nails and all, included.

Never in my life, I tell you, did I howl at the in such a manner to the moon. According to the neighbour who lives down the road, he told my Mom when he saw her at the store the next day, that he thought someone had resurrected the second coming of the Lord and Saviour himself - so much so that it caught the attention of several horses grazing in the field behind his house. But no. It was just me. And my poor dog.

Let's just say, trying to climb out of the pool while Hershey tried to use me as a raft and step - ladder combination, was a task in itself. And for therapy reasons, for both me and Hershey, I will not go into a lot of detail regarding "the incident", which we have not spoken of since ; however, it was in mutual agreement over a theraputic slice of chocolate cake, that we both decided Hershey was never to go near another swimming pool again. She was to remain a Lady who took long naps in the sun, looking beautiful as ever.

And that is the story of how we nearly died. And you know what I say to that? Tom, from Reddit - Hershey and I are still coming for you.

Humor

About the Creator

Maddie

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MaddieWritten by Maddie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.