Fiction logo

Here's to Forever

A Love Story

By Hannah StantonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Here's to Forever
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

It was a hot, August day in Sevierville, Tennessee and as I got off the school bus, and walked up to my front door, I could already hear my parents arguing. I opened the door, let them know that I was home, and quickly went to my room. After I put my stuff away, I tried to work on my homework, but ten minutes later, I decided that I needed to get out. Not really sure where I was going, I started walking aimlessly around my backyard, but I soon found myself heading towards the woods. I suddenly wanted to go exploring. I’d lived here my whole life, but I’d never gone into the woods because I was scared, but I guess being completely overwhelmed by your parents arguing can make you seek solace anywhere, even the places that scare you the most. My parents didn’t fight often, but when they did, it was loud and messy. It didn’t used to bother me, but for some reason it did this time.

The further into the woods I went, you’d think that my unease would grow, but instead, it began to lesson, and I soaked up the silence. It was exactly what I needed. I sat down for a while, savoring the calmness, and just as I had decided it was time for me to head back, I heard a noise. It sounded like crying, so I followed it and discovered an old, rickety, abandoned barn. Boards were missing, part of it was collapsed, and some parts had red, faded, and chipped paint, while other parts, the paint was long gone. I realized that the crying was coming from inside the barn and when I reached the doorway, I saw a girl, that looked to be about my age, sobbing uncontrollably. I felt bad for her and wanted to make sure that she was okay, so I cleared my throat, and asked if she was alright. She startled, and then slowly, she lifted her head and looked at me. When our eyes met, I was a goner.

“Who are you?” she asked.

“I’m Jeremy Miller. I live on Sapphire Lane.” I pointed back at the way I came. “Sorry if I scared you! I just heard you crying and wanted to make sure that you were okay.” She didn’t say anything, so I continued. “Umm who are you? I’m assuming you live around here, although, I don’t think I’ve ever seen you before. Do you go to Sevierville High? Are you new here?”

She stared at me for a minute and then hesitantly answered. “Ummm, I’m Maggie Pierce.” She sniffled. “I live on Dandelion Drive. You probably haven’t seen me because I’m homeschooled.” Before I could respond, she asked, in a small voice, “You’re not a murderer, are you?”

I started laughing. “Do I look like a murderer?” I asked with my brow raised.

“No, but I don’t think all murderers look sketchy, otherwise a lot of people wouldn’t fall for their lies.” She said matter-of-factly.

I looked at her and smiled. “True. Well, I’m not a murderer, but I’m not sure if you’ll take my word for it.” I said while I looked at her expectantly. She assessed me for a moment and then smiled at me and I knew that I wanted her in my life always.

I sat down next to her and asked her why she had been crying and she told me that her boyfriend had broken up with her and then she asked me what I was doing in the woods and I told her about my parents. We talked for what seemed like hours and I loved every minute of it. By the time we had to go, we’d already agreed to see each other again. And the rest is history!

“So, please, in the place where it all began, albeit a remodeled version, raise your glasses to the most beautiful bride. I am so thankful for the obstacles that brought us here that day four years ago. Here’s to forever, my love.”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.