Fiction logo

Her Name Was Iris

Light, Maid, Iris

By Stephanie DownardPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
7
Photo by Stephanie Downard

I observed from a distance. Every move she made caused my heart to race. Her beauty was radiant, even in the dim light. I longed to touch that silky black hair. Wild and free, just like her. It was like watching a willow tree flow in the wind. As the sunrise peaked, the colorful hues cast rays on her golden brown eyes. I was captivated. My binoculars and I became one. Putting them down felt like I lost a part of myself. Looking away was impossible.

Her name was Iris. She was more beautiful and elegant than any flower. The hotel across the street from my apartment wasn't suited for a woman like her. She deserved a better job title than a maid. Not that there's any wrong with that, but she was a goddess. I wanted nothing more than to treat her like one. My obsession with her grew as each day passed. I knew it was unhealthy and crazy, but I couldn't help it. I swear I'm not a creep. It's not like I had intentions to tie her up and keep her in my basement. This was pure head-over-heels, love.

Sadly, I still hadn't spoken to her in person. Maybe it was my insecurities or the fact that I was socially awkward. Either way, I made it a goal to do it. On Tuesdays, she liked to go to the cafe next to the hotel for lunch. I daydreamed of us meeting. Different scenarios played over and over in my mind. Sometimes it would all be perfect, and we would fall madly in love. While other times she hated me and would tell me to get lost. It made me anxious just thinking about it, but for months that's all I did. I couldn't even bring myself to walk across the street.

Fantasizing about meeting her wasn't cutting it anymore. I had to make myself do it. It was hard. My first attempt didn't go very well. I got as far as the door to the cafe, stared inside like a weirdo, and left. I tried again the following Tuesday. This time I mustered up enough courage and went inside. I was too nervous to eat, so I ordered a coffee. When I turned from the counter, I caught a glimpse of Iris. She was stunning. Seeing her close-up and in person almost brought me to my knees. I froze there stupidly, stuck in a trance. I felt like a teenage girl who saw her favorite boyband for the first time. Suddenly she looked up, and our eyes met. I was mortified. Any future we had was gone. It had to be. To her, I would forever be known as the creepy guy in the cafe that one time.

“Are you ok?”

I looked around and realized she was talking to me. After a few seconds, I stammered back a reply,

“Yeah, uhh, sorry. I was off-spacing. Oh, umm, I mean spacing off.”

Iris let out the cutest little laugh I ever heard. My stomach fluttered, and I couldn't help but smile.

“My name is Iris. If you're done off-spacing, would you like to join me for lunch?”

She gestured at the chair next to her. I sat down with the same goofy smile still on my face. Not even realizing I forgot to respond to the question.

“So, do you have a name?”

I'm sure my face flushed to the reddest color it's ever been when I answered.

“Oh, right. Hi, my name is Sean.”

We talked for the rest of her lunch break and every Tuesday after. In November, it will be our fiftieth wedding anniversary. We had gorgeous purple irises at our reception. The flowers still didn't compare to her beauty. Who knew my obsession would turn into something so beautiful? I never imagined all the daydreams I had about her were nothing compared to how our life turned out. It was better than anything I dreamed up. Our children are proof. I never did tell her about my creepy stalker phase, but I'm sure now she would laugh about it. Her name was Iris, and I will forever love her.

HumorLove
7

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    What a sweet love story. ❤️ Beautiful ❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Oh, this was lovely! Glad it turned out well and he didn't tie her to a radiator or try to wear her skin 👍

  • Not me waiting for Sean to kidnap her, torture her and kill her 🤣🤣🤣 This was such a wonderful story! I loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.