Fiction logo

Help! I Turned My Husband Into A Cat!

A Cautionary Tale

By Ellie BeauchampPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
Help! I Turned My Husband Into A Cat!
Photo by Nathan Riley on Unsplash

“What exactly is your plan, my love?” My husband spoke in a cool voice. I could tell he was doing his best not to lose his temper. I stood in the kitchen of our quaint suburban home, holding my head in my hands and trying not to panic. At my feet, a black cat with stormy blue eyes blinked up at me as his tail twitched with agitation.

“I didn’t think it would work! It was just a stupid meme I found online!” My breath came in short, shallow gasps and I began to feel woozy. The slender black cat brushed against my ankles. He chirped at me, and my eyes darted to his.

“You need to calm down. You’re going to pass out if you don’t relax.” Hearing my husband’s deep bass voice come out of an animal so delicate looking was really beginning to unnerve me. I took a shaky breath in through my nose, and slowly breathed it out my mouth. I pulled my phone from my back pocket and pulled up the browser I had been looking at when I came across the spell.

“I did everything exactly the way it said, I don’t understand what went wrong. Gods, I’m so stupid…” Tears welled in my eyes as I fought the urge to break down in the middle of our kitchen. I felt a gentle bap on my shin, and when I wiped my eyes and looked at my feet, the cat was scowling at me. It was such a human expression to see on the feline face and it caused a nervous laugh to bubble up from my chest.

“You’re not stupid, you made a mistake. The only thing you need to focus on now is reversing it.” My husband’s voice soothed from the floor. I sighed, and collapsed in a heap against the stove. The cat promptly climbed up into my lap and began kneading his paws gently on my boobs. I laughed as I scratched the top of his head between his ears.

“Well I guess it’s a plus that nothing else about you has changed.” I teased. I pulled up the search engine on my phone. “What do I even search for? Help, I turned my husband into a cat?” I laughed, because if I didn’t laugh I would start to cry.

“It’s a place to start.” My husband said seriously before yawning and then licking his lips. “This fur is so damn hot.” The cat hopped off my lap to go to the dog’s water bowl. He apprehensively stuck his nose in the water before slowly getting himself a long drink. Lost for anything else to do, I typed into the search engine: spirit animal spell gone wrong.

“Hey here we go!” I exclaimed as I pulled up a web page. Someone had posted the picture I had found of the spell on a forum for witches and warlocks, and the question they posed sounded very familiar.

Someone please help me! The spell backfired, and I’ve turned my girlfriend into a fox! This is not a joke, only serious answers please! What the hell do I do?!

“Well what are people saying?” My husband had rolled onto his back, his tail twitching lazily. I absently stroked his belly as I scrolled through the responses.

“A lot of it is people giving the person shit… Calling them a liar, attention seeker, yada-yada… This looks promising.” I tapped on a comment to bring up the full response. “A woman claiming to be a Coven leader, says that for reversing a spell like this, we have to bathe you in moon water while burning sage and rosemary,” The cat tensed beneath my hand at the mention of a bath, and I smirked as I continued reading, “and there’s an incantation I have to say. She says it takes a full night to take effect, but essentially you’ll go to sleep a cat and wake up your normal self.” My husband chirped as he rolled over onto his feet and then jumped back into my lap.

“Do you still have that jug of moon water you made?” He purred as he curled himself into a ball on my thighs. I looked toward the fridge.

“Yeah, I haven’t used hardly any of it since I made it. And we’ve got plenty of rosemary. I’ve also still got that sage stick on my altar I can burn in the bathroom window.” I pulled the cat into my arms as I stood up to gather the necessary materials.

“Gaia please watch over this magic and see that it works the way it is intended to. Thank you.” I murmured to my Goddess before taking the necessary components to our cramped bathroom. The cat was perched on the bathtub’s edge, looking warily at the faucet.

“I really hope this works…” He mewed softly as he watched me put the plug in the bathtub drain and empty the large jug of magical water into the basin. I combined the sprigs of dried rosemary with the sage stick before setting it on fire and putting it on the edge of the tub.

“Alright you. Bath time.” I gave the cat a gentle pat on the butt and he cautiously stepped into the few inches of water. I took a deep breath, and said the incantation intently as I swirled the smoke around the tub.

“What has been done, I beg to undo. Magics of old, restore the form that’s true. Goddess above, I humbly ask this of you. So mote it be.”

Just for good measure I made sure to douse the cat in the moon water, much to his dismay. Once I was satisfied that we’d done all we could, I plucked him up and wrapped him in a towel. Now all that was left to do was to go to sleep and hope for the best.

This was the last time I ever attempted any spell-work I found online.

Humor
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Monique Hardtabout a year ago

    This was so cool! The entire time I was reading, I kept telling my boyfriend: "This is such a cool story!" And reading some of the lines. I love that it subtly hints at a world that's similar to ours, but has witches and witchcraft instead, same internet, same cries of "you're an attention-seeker," but in a world that involves witches. That's so cool! i'm hoping to see this one as a finalist!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.