Fiction logo

Hello?

Chapter one

By Ianis😜Published 2 years ago • 5 min read
2

"Hello? Who is it?" I frown, puzzled after answering the unknown number.

There is only a short chuckle and then the call ends "And the hidden number?" I murmur and get up from the table I was sitting with my friends and walk away.+

"Hello?" I answer and I wait for someone to answer me.

"You" says the voice and the call ends. I had already run twenty kilometers when I stopped at the spring in the center of the park. I rinse my mouth with water, then take a sip. The back of my hand runs over my forehead, wiping away the drops of sweat, and I start moving. I can't wait to start with the music ringing in my ears and the phone ringing. I answer directly from the buttons on my headphones and I move on the spot simulating running.

"Hello?" No one is answering. "Who is?" And I don't get any answers. "Are you going to answer? I'll close."

"You are," says the voice that leaves me with a strange feeling.

"What? What does that mean? Who's on the phone?" I ask and realize that I have stopped jogging on the spot. He had closed. I close the buttons on my jacket and take one last look in the mirror. Being a performance gymnast also has some advantages, such as the amazing evening I will be attending. There will be many stars in the music industry, but the main participants are my fellow athletes. It is an evening to raise funds for the establishment of a sports club for children with dreams, but unfortunate for fate, born with various disabilities, but eager to be athletes.

I put my phone in my trouser pocket and go downstairs. I'm waiting for the car to take me to the event, and in less than five minutes I'm already in it. I'm impatient, my passionate heart of romantic reading is bubbling with emotion, I want to see Jessica, the gymnast who has been on the team with me for three years, but because of her family's assistance she went to the Russian team.

2

I'm on the threshold of a huge solid wood door that stays open to receive guests when my phone vibrates in my pocket.

"Private number" appears on the huge screen of my phone and I don't know whether to answer or reject.

"Alo?"

"Limit" Says the same voice that has been ringing for a few days.

"Limit?" I ask puzzled.

The "limit" repeats and the call is interrupted. I had narrowed my eyes, I had already come a few hours after the event, but I couldn't sleep in my head. I think I'd been asleep for half an hour or forty minutes around 3:00, but no more, and now it's noon. Tomorrow we start training again, and the worst part is that Jessica got engaged to a Russian athlete. What did he see in him?

I drink a glass of orange juice that I squeezed a few minutes ago, and my mind runs away from the calls I keep getting.

As I was still talking about the wolf, my phone vibrated on the top of the closet and I unconsciously answered my unknown caller.

"Hello" Exchange communication strategy.+

"On," she whispers into the phone.

"What 'on'?" I ask, and a sigh and a sigh are heard on the other end of the line before the call ends. I finish training and leave the gym with Brad. Today I worked on the ground. I could barely concentrate because Jess was there with her team and her fiancé. I understand that we are only dividing the room for three days until the work schedule is summarized. In a month it's the Olympics and damn I don't want gold in front of that Russian.

"Harry, are you here?" Brad asks me, I forgot I was with him.2

"Sorry, did you say something?"

"Miss Jessica upset you again." He says with a mustache.

"It's over." I say punching him in the shoulder.

My phone rings and I'm pretty sure she's a little unknown. I guess she's an admirer who doesn't have the courage to talk to me seriously and stutters.

"Hello?" I say lightly.

"Which" says directly and closes.+

"Who was it?" Brad asks.

"I have no idea, I think he was wrong." I shrug and move on. "Harry again." Strictly speaking, Mr. Arnold.

I run my hands through the chalk powder and shake. I do the same with my soles and get ready to jump. I run a few meters, then press hard on the trampoline with my feet and put my hands on the device making a good grip. I gather in the air and make a few rolls until I reach the floor with my feet. I keep them tense, but I keep stepping back.

"It was good Harry. You have a chance at gold if you stay focused." The coach tells me and notes something in the file he is holding. "Okay, pause for ten minutes and come back."

I nod and go to the locker room. I forgot my water there. I have to give a lot more of myself. If she weren't here to see my every move, I'd do more. Damn, I don't want to be wrong with her.

I sit on the bench in the locker room and grab a sip of water because my phone rings.

"Damn, I forgot to close it." I swear in my beard and answer.

"Yes?" I say slightly nervous.

"Must."

I hear the girl's voice calling me for a week. But what does he want? I don't understand why he keeps saying a word to me. I'll think about that later, I have to go back to the gym. I hang up the phone and throw it in my backpack, then put it in my closet and leave.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Ianis😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.