Fiction logo

Hellenistic Heist

Microfiction

By Naomi TyhurstPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1

The holes of the terracotta mask judged me from behind the display case I cleaned as if it knew something. Its gaping frown seemed to shout a silent warning, but I smiled back quietly and left it.

Museum workers and visitors moved away from my cleaning cart as naturally as oil repelled by water. People generally avoided custodians and maids. Only one woman flicked her eyes towards me, and I smiled politely while passing into the adjoining Hellenistic room.

Only cameras saw her abruptly break into a fight with the woman beside her like wildcats. Security guards rushed forward, but they moved too late to stop the women from flinging themselves into a tall, roped off amphora.

Witnesses cried out, extending hands as if to catch the rocking amphora, then clapped those hands over their ears against the deafening crash of terracotta instead. The shrieking alarms tripped by the fight added to the chaos, but nobody heard glass shatter within the adjoining room.

Nobody saw me tossing a hammer and Hellenistic armlets into my cart's trashcan either. The crowd between the cameras and me didn't notice a custodian walking by. They were busy wondering how the fighting women had vanished.

MicrofictionHistoricalAdventure
1

About the Creator

Naomi Tyhurst

Art is meant to be seen and stories are meant to be heard. I create, because I want to share the dreams playing in my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.