Fiction logo

Helios Selene Eos

A short Story

By Will BesawPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Helios is the god of the sun, He has two sisters, Selene and Eos. With the coming of each new day belonging to Helios, but the night belongs to Selene. I understand now when you tell me, in a voice that muses, and sirens wish that they could have, “Helios, Selene Eos” I can feel the love permeate through every word, every molecule of air from you to me. I know that by just saying those three words that, even with how broken I am, you still somehow find the best in me. So when I told you the same thing I did not think that you would ever leave. Then you came back, how grateful I was for that moment, and again you told me “Helios, Selene, Eos” again and again I could feel what you were trying to tell me. Time and time again we went on like this, you the siren and me the dreaded sailor that always finds himself going towards the siren’s calls no matter what the rest of the crew is saying. I should learn that what you say is not true but your words trap me like a gorgon’s gaze. Unlike Perseus though I am unable to cut off your head so I don’t turn to cold stone, all I do is turn cold. No matter what I do to try and fend you off to keep you away, the gods seem to be more amused at what you do to me. I have prayed to every god for help and only one offered me help. Hades. I am tempted to take his offer for help as the other gods laugh at my requests to have all memory of you washed away from me. And now I take up Hades' offer. High atop one of the highest mountains save Mt. Olympus I take one more step and I forget that you were even in my life. I feel the wind rushing against my face as I take the final step and then I am face to face with Hades without a realization of what I have just done. For I had made the ultimate sacrifice, and that is why the other Gods all laughed at my requests to have your memory torn from my mind. Had I known the true reasoning I may have reconsidered my course of action. But I wanted all memories of you gone more than anything else in this world. So as I stood before Hades I felt every fiber in my being, swelling with rage inside that I did not know if I could control any longer. As I walked up to him to accept my fate I heard a voice in my head scream, “Now!”, and before I could make sense of what happened next I found myself holding someone’s head in my bare hands. I cannot recall what drove me to behead this being, but when I looked closer upon inspection, I saw Hades’s twisted smile. I had done it now, I thought to myself. I had beheaded the King of the Underworld and brother to the mighty Zues himself, what was my punishment to be, why had I not been struck down where I stood, what brought me to kill the King of the Underworld? These questions and many more came rushing in all at once and I had not the time nor the answers to any of them. So before I could even think, I ran. I ran far from the scene and left the beheaded corpse and dropped the bloodied head as my feet carried me until I could no longer stand. I still had the head of the King of the Dead, which by some twist of cruel fate was dead by my hand.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.