Fiction logo

Has he ever loved me?

"Abused"

By Gloria PenelopePublished about a month ago 4 min read
2
Has he ever loved me?
Photo by Rajan Alwan on Unsplash

His abuse was unbearable!

He walked in unbalanced, yelling at me as if I had wronged him. The truth is that my husband had been drinking that day. I began shivering. I knew he was going to punch me all over my body. I began praying in my heart, asking God to calm him down. But my prayer seemed to only exacerbate my marriage's problems.

He stood still and looked at me as I sat in a chair. He hit me with his feast, and I immediately fell to the floor. My nostrils began bleeding. He didn't even realize I was bleeding. He continued to hit and punch me as I lay on the floor, crying.

He punched me until my voice faded!

I screamed. I screamed for help. He got tired of hitting me by the time my voice faded. He came to a halt when he realized I could have died. The people next door were terrified of him because he threatened them.

They were aware of what was going on in our home, but they made no attempt to contact the police or assist me. They were even afraid to greet or speak with us. I even assumed they despised me.

I knew that whenever he went for alcohol, he would return and beat me up. My heart wasn't in our relationship anymore. I was no longer seeing him as my husband. I was seeing a beast in him.

I was always fortunate to survive his brutal attacks!

Fortunately, I always managed to survive his brutal attacks. Every time he stopped beating me, I crawled to the bathroom, bruised all over my body. And I turned on the hot water.

Then I attempted to wash away the blood that had covered my body. Two of my fingers were extremely loose. As if they had been broken within my bones. I could not do anything or carry heavy things with them.

He forbade me from contacting people!

I had nowhere to run. He treated me violently. The fact that I did not have parents was the most painful aspect of my life. They were both on a journey of no return. My parents died a long time ago.

I only had one brother, and he lived far away from where my husband and I lived. I didn't even own a cellphone. He took my phone and crushed it the moment he realized that I had contacted my brother. He hated my brother.

He did not want me to contact anyone at all. He did not want to see me with other women, either. He even prohibited me from having friends. I was in jail in our own house. I cannot recall the last time I smiled in our house. I was always sad, and thinking about how to find a way out.

Stress and Pains were my forever lifestyle!

Stress and anguish were my daily bread. I had absolutely no peace in my heart. I was just a living soul in a broken, bruised body. I despised him with all my heart. I even questioned myself how I ended up marrying such an animal. Then I remembered how sweet he was when he came and asked to marry me at my brother's house.

I was convinced that the devil was truly controlling him. He was sometimes remorseful for beating me, but other times he was cruel and insane. He was extremely mean. I ended up planning a way to escape. But it was impossible because I was always locked indoors. He was going everywhere with our house keys. He was the one buying groceries.

His abuse led me to sorrow because I killed him!

One day, I decided to carry a kitchen knife in my pocket. I was constantly looking for ways to threaten him. I was tired of him and his abuse. He returned drunk, as usual. He started yelling at me like he does every day. I was already shivering, as usual. He began beating and punching me. As he continued to beat me.

He started strangling me around the neck with his bare hands. Then I remembered I had a knife in my pocket. I quickly searched myself, grabbed it, and stabbed him in the belly and chest several times until he collapsed and died.

After killing him.

I took all his money and went to my brother's place. My brother hid me until he helped me escape. I now live in a country where no one knows me. I even changed my name.

© 2024 Gloria Penelope (First published on HubPages)

HorrorthrillerShort StoryLovefamilyCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

I create poetry, short stories, books, and articles based on my crazy thoughts and wild ideas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • “M”about a month ago

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.