Fiction logo

Happy days.

A place, that will never be forgotten.

By Justyna JPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

Dear great-grandkids,

When you read this, your great grandfather and I will be long gone.

I would like to tell you the story of how we lived before the unexpected happened.

We lived in times when our lives were under a huge question mark. We had to prepare ourselves for a journey to a different world, a place we had no idea that existed.

It was a lovely morning when your great grandfather and I have had a breakfast in our patio in the back garden.

Suddenly, the sun started to get darker and everything around us was dark. I couldn’t see anything, not even where your grandmother was. I’ve stared to call her and her brother for a few seconds, and there they was - in a big, weird machine that flew into the air. The flames were so hot and like they were about to burn everything around us. This machine was huge, it took us and everyone from our neighbourhood with their houses to a different planet, called the Ethron.

Copied from: https://www.deviantart.com/yongl/art/Floating-Island-Of-Innisfree-274675709

This place is now called your planet ;your home.

Once we got there I couldn’t believe my eyes. I was amazed by the gravity. I incredulous of how these small islands could stay in the same place, without moving or falling down. I looked at the waterfall and was in love. The water was crystal clear and so refreshing once I felt the breeze. There was a dozen of small islands, joined together with wooden bridges. Everyone has had their virtual pass that gave them access to the bridge. On these small islands, which floated in galaxy, we had our home; the house we lived in before your grandma - our daughter was born. Then she gave birth to your mom in a very same house, and here you are.

I remember that day as it was yesterday. Your grandmother was very happy having find out that she is having a girl. The planet was very new and we didn’t have scans to know the sex of the baby before it’s due date. It’s like the very old days when my mum had me.

Your mum was a very lucky person, that she was born on this beautiful island. The sun was shining bright that day. We were so excited to meet your mum. Now, you are safer than ever I whispered to your mother. You're on a different planet where you can start fresh, without worries and obstacles that life gave us. She smiled at me and my eyes were covered in tears, tears of joy. Everyone loved your mum and her beautiful eyes.

As years passed by, your great grandfather and I was getting even older. We knew we will not be there when you are born, and for this reason I have decided I will write this letter.

With this memorandum, you will find a heart-shaped locket, that was very special to me. Your great grandfather gave it to me on our 60th anniversary. I want you to have it and give it to one of your kids when they grow up.

This necklace is more than family heritage, it is a part of me and your great grandfather. Having this in our family means our routes will be stronger and nothing will be able to bit us. Let’s the family tradition last forever!

I hope you will stay safe and never forget how blessed you are being alive!

Until we meet again!

Love you forever.

Your great grandparents.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JJWritten by Justyna J

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.