Fiction logo

Happiness

happiness

By Deni WijayaPublished 23 days ago 2 min read
1

Once upon a time in the bustling town of Elmwood, there lived a young woman named Sarah. She was in her late twenties, worked at a small local café, and had a knack for making everyone around her smile. Despite her seemingly average life, Sarah was incredibly happy, and everyone in town often wondered what her secret was.

One sunny Saturday morning, as she was whipping up her famous blueberry pancakes, her best friend Jenny popped in for her usual coffee fix.

"Sarah, you’re always so happy. What's your secret?" Jenny asked, taking a sip of her latte.

Sarah chuckled, flipping another pancake. "It's no big secret, really. I just focus on the little things that bring me joy."

Jenny raised an eyebrow. "Like what?"

"Well," Sarah began, plating the pancakes with a flourish, "for starters, I love making these pancakes. The smell of fresh blueberries, the sizzle on the griddle—it’s a small thing, but it makes me happy. And then there’s my morning walk to work. I take the long route through the park and listen to the birds sing. It’s my favorite part of the day."

Jenny nodded, intrigued. "But what about the tough days? You know, when things don’t go as planned?"

Sarah smiled. "Oh, I have those days too. But I try to find something good in them, no matter how small. Like yesterday, I spilled coffee all over myself right before my shift. It was a mess, but then this little girl came in with her mom and handed me a flower. Totally made my day."

Jenny laughed. "You always find a way to look on the bright side, huh?"

"Pretty much," Sarah said, laughing too. "Life’s too short to dwell on the negatives. I figure, if I can make myself happy with the small stuff, the big stuff will take care of itself."

Later that evening, as Sarah closed up the café, she thought about her conversation with Jenny. Happiness, she realized, wasn’t about having everything perfect. It was about finding joy in the imperfections and appreciating the moments that made her smile.

Walking home, she took her usual route through the park. The sun was setting, casting a golden glow over everything. She paused for a moment, soaking it all in—the chirping crickets, the distant laughter of kids playing, the rustling leaves. It was a simple, beautiful moment, and Sarah felt a deep sense of contentment.

And so, in the quiet of that evening, with the world around her bathed in the soft hues of twilight, Sarah understood that happiness was not a destination but a journey made up of countless little moments like this one. And in that realization, she found the greatest joy of all.

And that’s Sarah’s story—a simple tale about finding happiness in the everyday moments.

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.