Fiction logo

Hallowed Lands

Carved in the walls of Fort d'Exilles – Date Unknown

By Matthew FrommPublished about a year ago 1 min read
13
Art by A.I.Dox

Pierre warned about those lands of Columbus before my voyage departed, before the priests confined him.

He shuddered, “The forests will madden you, certain as sin."

How could I go mad? Our crew's welcome was so warm.

“Your heart's desires hide within our roots. Bleed for us, and you will be reborn,” the wise owl whispered to me. The elks agreed.

They guided me true as north.

Inside their sanctuary, I witnessed the heart of God.

Now, the priests proclaim me murderer, liar, craven.

Trapped within my cell, I ponder if that glorious heart bled for the dead, or me.

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionHorrorHistoricalFantasyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure
13

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred8 months ago

    Love that amazing image, and dark words to at least disturb us

  • I agree with Veronica! The best ones are the mad ones, lol! Also, I saw that you're working on making this into a short film. All the best for that! I loved this story!

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Superb writing, Matthew! The story between the lines holds many questions for me, but I feel the implications strongly. Who knows the truth? I almost want a follow-up... 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    Nicely done! I still say the maddest of us are the best!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great work! Dark and spooky! Loved it!

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Quick and dark, love it!

  • Wow!

  • Ian Readabout a year ago

    Outstanding work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.