Fiction logo

Hallow Valley

There is magic everywhere

By Michelle TaylorPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
Hallow Valley
Photo by veeterzy on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the Valley, in fact many years ago Dragons would fly through the kingdom of Galdrabok providing magic and protection to those the creatures deemed fit.

Magic was the heart of Galdrabok. The Magical Kingdom was founded by a mortal King, the King of the Fae, the Dragon Lady, and the High Mage.

Folk came from miles around to see how so many magical creatures co-existed amongst each other and with humans. Humans learned the ways of their enchanting neighbors and things were peaceful for a while, until King Rearden came into Power.

He inherited the throne after the passing of his father, King Ellis, the mortal king who founded the kingdom. Rearden never agreed with his fathers views and believed that the folk and creatures were a dangerous threat to his people. Rearden's rise to power began with slowly turning the other leaders against one another using tricks and gossip to create tension. From there he began a campaign to take over the kingdom and wanted the other leaders to name him sole ruler of Galdrabok.

Naturally this did not go over well with the others and violence broke out. Rearden used these conflicts as a way to show his people, the humans, that the magical folk needed to be removed from the kingdom.

After months of conflicts and a power struggle the members of the magical communities came to an agreement to work together to defeat Rearden. This lead to the great Battle of Draycot. The magical and the humans battled it out. Many thought the humans would be no match for magical but, they had many tricks up their sleeves. Rearden had spent years researching the weaknesses of the magical and used that to his advantage, he had also grown the human army to twice the size of the magical one. Many dragons were killed in battle and King Rearden's army took siege of the magical leaders.

The battle ended with Rearden on a platform and the three other leaders bound and on their knees in front of the Kingdom. The Dragon Lady, The Fae King and The High Mage.

"Now pledge your allegiance to me and I will spare you and your people," Rearden announced.

All three of the leaders refused. "I would die before kneeling before you," the Fae King said, his voice rasp from the pain of the iron cuffs around his wrist.

"Very well then," King Rearden lifted an iron plated sword from his belt an held it to the fae's ear. The swift swoosh through the air was met with gasps as the blood poured down the side of his face. The Fae King shook with pain.

"You didn't think your death would be quick and painless did you? I mean after all the humans your kind has tortured and tricked you couldn't possibly think I would let you off that easy." And with that the sword severed one of the wings from the Kings back. More blood and screams filled the castle steps as the Fae was cut to pieces.

When there was nothing left the fae princess Elliowy, was brought forth and given the option to met the same fate as her father or to serve King Rearden. The Princess, The Dragon Lady and the High Mage after watching in horror reluctantly bowed to the King. Our world has since been divided into sections and his law was decreed. No magical creature can enter another's territory and any use of their magic that is deemed unnecessary is outlawed and punishable by death.

Fifteen years later

The cool autumn air blows wisps of hair around my face that escaped my braid as I load my pack onto my horse's back. She whinnied and nuzzled my shoulder.

“Yes old girl. I will miss them too,” I say as I let her lick flakes of sugar from my hand. My hand brushes her nose as I kiss the sun shaped patch of white fur on her head.

I had already loaded up my bags filled with clothes, blankets and a little bit of food for the trip, a few memento’s, dad’s handkerchief, a book of stories, mother’s locket, a toy cat I’ve had since I could remember. The few treasures I hold dear. There’s a small bag of coins for emergencies but that’s my whole life confined to a few bags.

I turned and walked back through the front door of our old house to make sure I hadn’t left anything behind. The smell of fresh baked bread fills the air as I walk in. My family has lived in this house for the past two generations. My grandparents lived her until their passing and then Mother and Father moved in with us kids. My parents loved each other more than anyone ever could. And with that love they brought four of us into the world. Myself, Sean, Nora, and Maverick.

"You don't have to go just yet," my mother calls from her bed. "We can wait a few more weeks for the market trip." She always worries when I make my monthly trip into town for her.

"No we can't. Without a trip to the market we will be out of food and medicine by the end of the month and you need to take your medicine."

"I just hate that you have to take care of us again. I should be able to take care of you not the other way around."

"Mother you do take care of us, but you are ill and you have to take care of yourself. I will head to the market and sell a few pelts and some homemade preserves to make some extra money and I'll go see Isabelle for your medicine. We still have money on our tab with her so everything should be covered. Don't worry"

Maverick, my three year old brother, started down the hall running up to me "Sissy no go." He wrapped his arms around my neck.

"I'll be home before you know it and when I get back I just might have a treat for you."

"You promise? Thank you Ellie."

"Of course. I should be home in the next week or two" I shout over my shoulder more for my mother than for Maverick. Nora and Sean are at school so I will not see them until I return but they know to help mother with Maverick and the chores.

Since the war things had fallen into disrepair in Galdrabok. Jobs were scarce, leading to those of us with no other option but to look elsewhere. I mostly just trade and barter at the market.

After my fathers death, in the war, we were heavily compensated by the gentry for his “sacrifice”. That money has since stopped coming as the kingdom has fallen into debt, they couldn’t afford to keep paying us when so many other young men were dying and their family needed the money more. At least that is what the letter we were sent said in so many words. And with mom sick after the birth of Maverick, I have taken over caring for her and the family.

My journey from our home in the Mirken Woods to the Village Market is almost a whole day's journey. The road to the market was long but peaceful. I always enjoy my trips to town. I remember when father would take us into town and we would see the sights and he would buy us sweet treats like hot chocolate or fried apples. These memories bring tears to my eyes. I miss my father more than anyone will ever know.

Hoofbeats ring out behind me as I am brought back to reality. I am in the thickest part of the forest and it's hard to tell where the sounds are coming from. I pull on the reins to slow Summer down and she slows to a slow walk on the edge of the road. I leaned down to pat her mane when a horse drawn carriage come flying down the road and startles Summer. She bucks up on her hind legs throwing me backwards and into the thicket. The impact has me rolling and falling through the thorns and branches leaving scratches all over my body. My journey finally stops at the bottom of an old oak tree when I hit my head and black out. The last thing I remember is hearing my name being called.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Michelle Taylor

Writing is my passion, it's all I have ever wanted to do. Books and stories have always fascinated me, When I am not writing I am busy being a wife and mom in a small town in North Carolina. I also teach high school English

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.