Fiction logo

Hail The Black Prince

The Spiraling Vice That Is Greed

By YonathanJPublished 15 days ago Updated 11 days ago 45 min read
1
Hail The Black Prince
Photo by Sunder Muthukumaran on Unsplash

I am Dieudonné. I can see the true face of people. Far from a curse, I see it as a blessing.

I chased away my father, for he had the face of a coward. I left my mother, for she had the face of a liar. And everyday under the cruel sun I saw countless faces; not of brothers, sisters, fathers and mothers, no, far from that! But of rats scurrying about. Their eyes blacker even than their skin, and what drives them truly, darker still.

Luckily for me, I have the face of a prince. I have seen it once, long ago, on the still surface of the black lake, north from here, near my hometown. My sister Daysha warned me, of how cursed the lake was. Even as children she was obsessed with superstitions. She told me of some prince that drowned tragically long ago, but I don't believe in such nonsense.

What prince would be stupid enough to die in such a meaningless way?

Perhaps it was just a peasant boy, a nameless kid cursing the lake by his drowning. What a waste.

I, Dieudonné, used to swim in that lake every day. Daysha claimed I did it out of spite, and warned me of the curse. Every time I got a good hearty laugh out of it, for I have also seen my sister's face; Daysha's face is that of a fool.

A useful fool, for now.

On our way to the great city Jericho, I Dieudonné and my sister Daysha noticed in the distance, tall walls and colorful banners. As we hurried our steps by sheer curiosity, I couldn't help but smile broadly, under the heavy sun and the harsh wind of the plains. We joined up with countless other people, carrying goods on their head, others on camels loaded with silks and ores and other commodities, all making their way to the great lazuli gate of Jericho, for the prospect of coin. I told my sister;

''Daysha, look with your eyes and see, for the first time : prosperity''

Without even looking at me she snapped back, and I clearly heard her smile in her words, ''Dieudonné my brother, do you take me for a fool? I don't have to see it for I already know it!''

Closer now to the great walls, the road gains stone borders, rising gradually toward the gate. Up there, long beautiful banners of red orange and green spanned all the way along the gate. I Dieudonné jumped up, fired by my ambition, and walked along the stone border, rising gradually, looking down on the hundreds of people going about their daily struggles, some gathering around the great fountain near the entrance. Daysha looked up to me and sighed, but I didn't care. She may be my sister, but ever since I left home I have been FREE!

And with freedom comes choice. What better place than Jericho to start anew, to a life of riches, of grandeur, much like its walls, its towers..

Up there the air was colder, harsher. Daysha and the other people were even smaller than before. In my excitement I had put myself in quite the dangerous position, but I always had great balance. What joy to look down at the silly, scurrying rats below, looking up to me with envy and annoyance. Perhaps that is how it feels, to be a prince amongst peasants?

I Dieudonné smiled ever more. Goosebumps all over. My mind in effervescence. Standing there on the very edge of Jericho, higher than ever before, I felt as if I was at the turning point of my life. Guards far below stomped their halberds and ordered me to get down, causing great commotion. I shouted as loud as possible :

''Get ready, Jericho, for Dieudonné, your future prince, is here!''

What thrill to have the eyes of hundreds of people upon you! I couldn't stop myself from adding ''You rats!!''

I spotted Daysha at the gate already, holding her head as she looked at me in disbelief. No way would she enter Jericho before me! Struck by madness I Dieudonné ran along the tall border and, aiming for a long banner I leaped in the air, to the screams of the rats below. I hit the tall stone wall of Jericho and took hold of the banner wire, barely. My hands burning up I slid down dangerously fast toward the ground, to the panic of everyone, their screams, hilarious to me.

The long banner snapped and I thought in a flash, perhaps that was foolish of me. Perhaps I am fated to die a meaningless death, much like the peasant boy of the lake. Perhaps I have not the face of a prince after all, I thought, as I fell to certain death. Yet fate, or fortune maybe, saved me. I fell upon the great fountain, its waters just deep enough to cushion my fall.

I remember so clearly the freezing waters, shocking my whole body, my mind petrified. Eyes wide opened I only saw the intricate mosaics adorning the interior of the fountain. I gazed in awe, wondering if such wonderful art was the door to the high heavens perhaps. How naive of me.

I was raised up from the ice cold water, violently. Gasping for air, positevily dripping from water and blinded by it, I arose. Born anew, in the shadow of Jericho's tall walls, under the curious eyes of a mob of strangers. Holding me up, two guards, clutching their halberds right over me.

In panic I looked for my sister Daysha, to come and scold me, to save me from the guards, yet she was nowhere to be seen. Shaking my head, drying my eyes I had a sort of epiphany; the cost of true freedom is solitude. That gave me back my smile, and I stepped up on the fountain's ridge, stood tall upon it and looked down once again to all these other black people. I was ready to confront them all if need be, yet already most lost interest, and hurried along inside the gate. Only a few remained to see me, Dieudonné, and his grand entrance into Jericho.

Far from amazement or respect in the eyes of onlookers, I saw annoyance. I saw contempt, I saw judgement. At once the roles were reversed, and the many towered over me, this peasant black man with princely ambitions.

No matter, for I shall make them bow to me, make them look up to me, make them admire me, for I have the face of a prince, and the will to become one, no matter what.

The guards pulled me away, scolding me, before I could shout anything else to the thinning crowd. At once the thrill and excitement vanished, to be replaced with overwhelming embarrassment.. Blood rushed to my face, as the two guards were lecturing me about the value of my life, and the value of peace, and sullying the waters of the fountain, and breaking the great banner...

I exhaled deeply, brought my hands together, as if praying; ''Please, good guards. Let this be my last mistake before my new life here in Jericho. For I have traveled far, with dreams of a new start here.''

The guards looked at each others, uncertain. I took the time to really look at their faces, and I smiled, for one had the face of a dutiful soldier, his head shaved and bright, lucid eyes. While the other had the face of a gambler, with a beard and a scar on his forehead. Thrilled I faced the bearded guard and told him to let me go at once, for my uncle was waiting for me at the market, to deliver fresh oranges, and that I would bring him a full crate as a thank.

In the guard's eyes, a glimmer of greed. I Dieudonné thanked the heavens for my gift. The other guard objected, claiming that I disrupted the peace, but I quickly offered to get back up there and reattach the great banner I had broke, in my fall. They looked at each others again, and the bearded man let go of me, to my relief. I put a hand on each of their shoulders, smiling; ''I thank you my brothers.'' Yet the glimmering eyes of the bearded guard turned cold, serious, dangerous, as he grabbed my arm with too much force; ''Dieudonné, you said? Bring the oranges to me by nightfall, for I know your face, and I don't forget.''

At that very moment I learnt a few things about myself.

I learnt that fear can reach even into the heart of a courageous man like me. I learnt that fear also pushes a man into action. I learnt that deep down, I'd be able to do anything to get what I want, even taking the lives of those that oppose me.

For that is what true freedom means! The burden of choice, of solitude, of doing whatever it is that I, Dieudonné, want. No matter what.

And so I vowed, in that fraction of a second when the bearded guard threatened me, to murder him. For why does a mere guard threatens a prince?

Entering the city at last, past its magnificent lazuli gate, I Dieudonné stared in amazement at the striking architecture of the buildings, of the roads and the waterways. I walked in a sort of large plaza, surrounded by branching roads, leading to the various districts of Jericho. The tall buildings made me dizzy by their sheer height, and hanging from one building to the other thousands of banners, curtains, flags and fascinating calligraphy, in such a way to make the sky almost completely covered in colorful fabrics. In the wind of the inner city the view of the sky was known as Jericho's spectacle.

Birds flying from wire to wire, singing, adding their melody to the cacophony of the bustling city. Here in the plaza, certified musicians played at every hour of the day and night, with daily festivals, cultural dances and rituals. I Dieudonné lost myself in awe, exploring the city much akin to a lost child, eyes filled with wonder. Never had I thought the famous city of Jericho to be that interesting.

Yet as much as I wanted to visit every attractions, shrines and less reputable institutions, I had some things to get out of the way. First, I had to find Daysha, that dared abandon me right away. And second, I had to somehow get my hands on a crate of oranges, by nightfall... How troublesome. Compared to other local fruits and vegetables, oranges were exotic, imported from faraway southern lands. They fetched quite the hefty price; the reason why I used that to ''bribe'' the guard.

After all I Dieudonné know that the only way someone like me can get leverage on people in powerful positions is to lie. To have an uncle in the fruit business is highly probable, especially for a travelling nobody like me. If I were to bribe the guard with coins, ores or even jewelry, it would be a different game entirely, since these things are liabilities. However, oranges are a delicacy, a luxury, a treat. No matter how clever my idea was, I still had to somehow get myself a crate of oranges, how troublesome indeed...

''Getting in trouble before even entering Jericho, are you, dear brother?'' Daysha said behind me.

I turned around, and there she was, with her long curly hair and her opulent body, undeniably there. ''Nothing I can't handle myself, though you could've lended me a hand, after all, you owe me one...''

Daysha told me she hadn't been doing nothing. She had found a place to stay for our first night, an affordable and nearby suite. We made our way there, for we were after all tired, wary of our travels. I walked behind her, following her in the maze of the branching roads of Jericho.

I Dieudonné kept my eyes on the ground, avoiding the faces of the thousands of passerby we crossed. For seeing their true faces was tiring. Though upon reaching the main road the distinct aroma of orange caught my nose. I grabbed Daysha's arm, telling her to follow me for just a moment. There, a thin man, with a white hat, sitting on a bench, peeling an orange. At his feet, a black cat, sleeping peacefuly.

I approached him, the man with the orange, and right away the cat's ears twitched. It rolled, and opened its eyes, and the cat had the face of a cat. The man finished carefully peeling his orange, putting every pieces of its rind in a tiny paper bag, not wasting anything of the precious fruit. On a handkerchief he laid the many segments of the juicy flesh of the orange, took one up and ate it, rising his head in bliss.

The man looked up to me, towering over him, yet his eyes were empty. I realized that the man was blind. I asked him, ''Can I bother you, old man?'' to which he replied ''You already did.''

I laughed and kneeled, in order to pet the cat, yet it hissed at me and ran away. I took another look at the man in the white hat, and for once I couldn't tell exactly what sort of face he had. ''Is that... The face of a wise man?'' I asked, more to myself than anything, and the blind man laughed, and offered me a piece of his orange, smiling. ''Here, you may have one, you scoundrel.''

Of course I Dieudonné refused, embarrassed that he thought I was begging for a piece. ''Don't misunderstand, old man, I only wish to know where you bought that orange, for I wish to buy a crate tonight.''

The blind man stared in front of him. Well he stared at nothing really, eating his orange. ''You mean you wish to steal a crate right away, don't you?''

I didn't know what to say for once. The old man gave me the adress of the fruit shop, and warned me of Jericho's thief curse. ''You see, outsider, here in Jericho there is a curse casted upon those who steal from others. That's why there is close to no crime.''

The old man reached for my hand, and shook it, leaving at the same time a piece of his orange. ''That is a gift, young man. Good luck.''

I Dieudonné looked down on the blind man. Wise as he was, I hated him for some reason. Why would he give me a piece? To me, a complete stranger? I went back to Daysha, told her we had to make a quick detour to the fruit shop, and gave her the orange piece. Her eyes opened wide and she told me of that evening long ago, when she had brought an orange at home, to share with the family. I couldn't stop myself from saying ''Yet father took it away, and ate it all himself in his room.''

''That's your problem, Dieudonné. You only remember the bad. Why don't you remember what we did with the rind that he left behind?''

But I remembered clearly. We made incense with it, and lighted it once the sun set that evening. The smell was out of this world, and every time I smell of oranges I recall this one evening of peace and bliss at home, of the sweet zesty smell embracing us in the golden hour. Our half smiles and teary eyes. Truly a blessed moment, bittersweet and fleeting. Of course I never told Daysha how much I cherished this memory. She thought I had forgotten about it.

Daysha told me as well of the thief's curse, and same as I did to the blind man I shook my head. ''There are no such things as curses, how many times do I need to tell you'' I said to her. Yet she didn't laugh or argue as she often did. My sister had an unusual look on her foolish face.

There at last, the fruit shop, lodged between two taller buildings. Its stalls, filled with bananas, apples, peaches and grapes, all at affordable price. Inside, more stalls filled with rarer, more expensive fruits, like colorful berries and watermelons. Up there on a perch, an exotic parrot, staring me down, talking in a foreign language and whistling, snacking on a biscuit.

On the back wall of the shop, next to a closed door, crates and crates of oranges. I looked behind me, Daysha was saying no with her eyes. I approached the oranges, looking around, but the owner was nowhere to be seen. I picked up a crate and at once the parrot screeched and flew over to me, ''Thief! Thief! Thief I say!!''

Daysha screamed and the backdoor opened, revealing a very tall, muscular man, with a perfectly trimmed beard and dreadlocks, dressed in extravaguant clothings. From the now opened door the unpleasant smell of tobacco fought with that of the oranges. I thought quickly and brought the crate of oranges over to him, still pestered by the parrot. I looked at his face, and his face was the face of a strong man. I told him ''How much for a whole crate, sir?''

Yet the shopkeeper didn't pay me any mind. His eyes weren't even looking at me, but behind me. I turned around and there, Daysha, my dear sister, petting the parrot and laughing. Looking at the shopkeeper once more, I saw the face underneath; the face of a lustful man. How despicable.

''Daysha!'' I shouted with authority, and she turned toward me, startled. She noticed the tall shopkeeper and came forward. ''Meet my new friend...'' I said, as I looked toward the man. He said, smiling all teeth; ''Lemarcus, pleasure to meet you Daysha.'' His voice was deep and harsh, the voice of a chain smoker. I took a look at my sister and she understood. Lemarcus looked at me for the first time, his eyes that of an animal; ''Take the crate, and come back for her tomorow.''

Last I saw of Daysha was Lemarcus grabbing her by the hand and dragging her through the backdoor. I took my crate of oranges, and made my way out, to the screeching of the parrot ''Thief! Thief! Thief I say!'' and out of pure spite, or so Daysha would say, I stole an apple on the way out.

Making my way back to the lazuli gate, the entrance of Jericho, I took a bite in the juicy apple. I Dieudonné wondered if this was the proper way to start a new life. Bribing guards, selling my sister as a whore, stealing... Yet something deep inside of me was unrelenting in its pursuit, in its goal. I will become prince, no matter what. So what if I have to do questionnable stuff, if I get what I truly deserve in the end. After all, I have seen my true face, that of a prince...

I was stopped by a bunch of kids, asking for an orange, just one orange, please good sir, and I gave in and threw them one, smiling, telling them to share.

I wondered, back then, how to get rid of that bearded guard, how to make him pay for making a fool of me... I stopped at a apothecary, and traded a bronze coin for rat poison. You see I Dieudonné had a clever plan indeed...

The sun was setting quickly as I made it out of Jericho, holding my precious orange crate. Curiously, there in the distance of the road leading to the city, a sort of caravan, composed of a few dozens of camels, charriots and guards, approaching at a steady pace.

The guards were in high alert, they saw me right away. It seems they were preparing to welcome the caravan, yet the bearded man shouted my name, that echoed on the tall walls ''Dieudonné!''

I brought the orange crate over to the guard's tent and placed it on the table. The many guards laughed and joked around, saying how Daquan didn't lie, that a fool really would bring over oranges for them.

I didn't like that.

In my left hand, I held the tasteless rat poison. With my right, I grabbed one orange, and peeled it, laughing with them. Daquan, the guard with the beard and scar, the man with the face of a gambler, stole away my orange, a mean look on his face. He got too close, hugged me and whispered in my ear that the fool doesnt deserve any more oranges. He pushed me away and ate the orange I had peeled and poisoned, moaning in pleasure, to the laughters of the guards.

At that moment I prayed to the heavens, thanking them for making me Dieudonné. I never pray, and only do so when especially happy, like now. After all, Daquan the gambler just played right in my hand, and will die of rat poison in a few hours. Who is the fool now?

As the many guards were peeling and eating the oranges a lone camel approached quickly, its galloping echoeing on the walls. Riding the animal a man, holding a torch, and on his face a sort of scintillating, much akin to the stars in the night sky. I stared at the stranger, unable to truly see his face. The man dropped down from the camel and I could see his face at last; the face of a prince!

Gold chains and gold piercings, a crown adorned in jewels and clothes worthy of the highest nobility, chains around his wrists and feet. Looking at him I couldn't help but seethe in jealousy. I fell to my knees in respect, and being the first one to do so I gained his attention. The guards were putting away the oranges, approaching.

The prince walked up to me, holding his torch as to see me in a better light. ''Rise up, good man.'' I Dieudonné rose up and smiled at his nobility, looking at his face once more, holding his eyes. The man was strikingly similar to me, we were roughly the same height and the same eye colour, only our hair and clothes and jewels were different. To my surprise he extended his hand, and I shook it firmly.

''Tell me, good man. Did you bring these oranges as a welcome present to your prince?''

The prince winked at me, and I jumped on the opportunity, thanking the gods once more. ''Indeed I did, my liege. But the guards took it upon themselves to devour the princely gift, and I was powerless to stop them.'' I said, loud enough for Daquan and the other guards to hear. They hurried over and lined up to welcome the prince and his caravan, yet the eyes of the prince showed irritation.

Daquan looked over to me with murderous eyes, his hand on his curved dagger behind his back. I looked back to him with contempt, with disgust, for I knew the rat poison would make quick work of him and his wrath.

The prince ordered the guards to bring over the crate of oranges. He threw one over to me, a smile on his face, and asked the guards their names. They escorted the caravan through the gate, into Jericho, as I was taken along as a special guest to the prince.

Walking simply beside the caravan, right next to the prince, I Dieudonné felt incomparable pride and joy. What a turn of events! I tried to excuse myself, saying some nonsense about how I had to go back to my uncle and my sister, but the prince insisted that I join him for tea at the palace, to my shock. ''But my liege, why would the prince of Jericho bother with the likes of me?'' I asked him, puzzled.

''Well, I have seen what happened there with the guards, and it was unacceptable. To think the respected guards would shamelessly steal away such a prestigious gift, a gift to their prince no less!''

I looked at the prince and my mind went blank. For a second there in the soft light of the plaza, I swear he had not the face of a prince but that of a mere peasant. I thanked him dearly and followed him toward the palace, in the very middle of Jericho.

On our way there I joked around with his majesty, while hatching a most despicable plan, possible only by the fateful hand of opportunity. The prince told me how he saw everything, and wished to help a fellow honest and hardworking man, and meet his family, perhaps the very next morning, to bless them.

Please do, my liege, bless me with your princedom!

''Welcome, my guest, to the palace of Jericho!''

The prince said, waving his hands around, as we made it past the massive doors. Inside, a view very few peasants ever saw in their lives. Of absurdly tall ceilings, of intricate pillars, of statues commemorating past monarchs and high-standing officials. I Dieudonné couldn't believe my eyes, and followed the prince, savoring every sight and every second.

''Tell me, where would you like to have tea? We can go to the royal terrace, the balcony, the inner gardens...'' The prince asked me, as we made our way up the stairs of the atrium. I scratched my head and wondered, what would be the smartest answer?

''Well you see, I've always wanted to see what a prince's chamber would look like... If that's not asking too much of you, my liege.''

The prince turned around, with an annoying look on his face. ''Listen, you don't have to be so formal. Let's just be friends and enjoy ourselves.''

I jumped on the opportunity and raced to him, slapping him on his back, telling him how glad I was. ''But I don't want to be your friend just because you're the prince, don't get me wrong. I just like clever people is all'' I told him, and I saw him smile, through his nose and eyebrow gold chain, scintillating in the light of the hundreds of candles and torches around us.

Alone in the private chamber of the prince, I sat on the pillow on the ground, next to a low wooden table. My new friend the prince poured water in a kettle and put it over the fire. I wondered, why in the world would he make his own tea?

''Tell me, why not ask a servant?'' I finally asked him.

''Well I wouldn't really be treating you for tea, then, would I?'' He replied, walking toward me with a wooden box.

I made sure not to show any greed on my face, yet I couldn't stop wondering if that box was a present for me, considering the sheer luck I had of meeting the prince by chance, and becoming his friend as well. The prince put the box down in front of me, and opened it, revealing dozens of compartments, each holding fine quality ingredients, such as colorful powders, seeds like anis and cardamom, cinnamon bark and so many others I had never seen before.

''Tell me, what's your favourite tea? Do you like sweet, or bitter, hot or cold? Spiced or not?''

I Dieudonné was outmatched for once. I admitted I had no knowledge in tea whatsoever. ''I only know the dry, black one, that you break appart..''

The prince had a surprised look on his face; ''You mean tea bricks? I didn't think you'd be one of those types...''

I asked him what he meant by that, and he explained that people's taste in tea reveals a lot about themselves, who they are truly. I thought it incredibly funny how he needed tea preferences to tell the nature of people, when all I needed was to look at their face. But I rather enjoyed his little trick, this prince wasn't as stupid as people are usually...

''If I could have any tea, I'd have orange tea. I just don't think it's appropriate to ask for that, since you've already been so generous to me.''

For once I was being honest with him. I wouldn't dream of telling him the whole story about my father and the orange, the incense, but it felt good for once to tell the truth. The prince smiled and closed the wooden box, its overwhelming aroma taken away. He rushed out and left me all alone, in his room. For once in my life, I heard it. Complete silence. If not for the occasional crackling of the fire.

I Dieudonné closed my eyes and relaxed. I couldn't wait to sip on orange tea! Insidiously Greed got a hold on me once more, and I got up on my feet, remembering my plan, my princely plan...

I stepped around the room, looking at everything. The comically large bed, the white silken bedsheets, the pillows filled with feathers. The bookshelves full of not only books and scrolls but also of trinkets like a globe of the earth, a telescope and most intriguing of all a tiny chest, half-opened. I could see, if I got close enough, coins perhaps?

I kept listening to any coming footsteps, so as not to be caught in the act, but the kettle started boiling and whistling. I had to get back to my seat but my body was moving on its own! Only one of these gold coins would give me the life of a prince, if only for a single day... And the door opened. I shifted my gaze to the telescope, pretending not to hear the prince coming in, to be fascinated by the instrument.

''Tell me, do you look at the stars sometimes?'' The prince asked me, in his hands, a bowl, filled with orange powder.

''I don't think I've spent a single night not looking at the stars'' I lied, looking at him smiling.

He placed the bowl on the table, brought over the kettle, as I took my seat once more, just before stealing a last look at the tiny chest in the bookshelf. From under the table he took out a tea making kit, with a few cups, a tray and two peculiar statuettes, representing a dragon and a sheep.

I sat there and looked at my new friend, the prince of Jericho, brew orange tea. He gave me a tiny hourglass, instructing me to flip it over once he pours the boiling water on the tea. Instantly the aroma filled the chamber, and I noticed we both started smiling. I brought my cup closer yet to my surprise he poured the tea over the statuettes, wasting the tea.

''Why waste it?'' I couldn't help asking. He laughed and explained how the first steep is merely to wash the tea, and is offered to the tea pets. I sat there, nodding, arms crossed. Ah yes. It seems the prince is a tea connoisseur! I couldn't help but think he just wanted to show off to me, his new friend.

The prince poured the water once more, I flipped the hourglass once more, and he offered me the first cup. I brought it to my nose and Heavens did it smell good. I dipped my lips into it but at that instant I thought about Daysha, how happy she would've been to be here right now, and what she was doing instead, for my sake..

The tea was surprisingly bitter, yet so aromatic! The prince laughed and laughed, and poured himself a cup. His laugh was surprisingly familiar, much akin to the ones of my neighboors back in my hometown. He gulped down his tea and got up, clapping his hands. I did the same and saw him run to the telescope. He brought it over to the window, and gestured me to come over. Stargazing now, are we?

He took a few minutes to set everything up, while I waited outside on the balcony. The view was already incredible, overlooking the inner palace and most of Jericho as well. From here I could see the plaza, but not beyond the tall walls. The prince finally said it's ready, and I got closer, curious as to what that tool could show me that I couldn't see with my eyes. Stars are stars after all.

But what I saw, in that strange little tube was not a star but an orange, stripy ball, with some bright dots around it... What in the world?

''That, my friend, is Al-Mushtari, as the arabs call it. We call it Jupiter, the greatest god of them all!''

To gaze at gods themselves! I fell on my butt, suddenly dizzy. The prince laughed and looked through the telescope as well, smiling ever more. At that moment I really wanted to leave, but also to make sure I'd see the prince again, for my plan hinged on that.

''My prince I must thank you for your hospitality. What pleasure to share tea and spy on the gods with his majesty-'' I started, but he turned toward me with a puzzled look on his face.

''Don't tell me, you're off already?''

I explained to him how I just got to Jericho today, and that I had to get back to my sister and uncle, and he stopped me once more;

''Well remember, then. I'll meet you tomorrow morning at the plaza. I truly wish to meet this family of yours, and offer my blessings. Take care now, my friend.''

And for the first time in my life, the man I was talking to had the face of a friend, and I didn't know what to think for a while. He walked me out in silence, and shook my hand, leaving in it a tiny bag. I smiled and walked out, escorted by the palace guards, inspecting in my hand yet another present from the prince; more of that orange tea powder.

Standing there in front of the metal gate of the palace, that closed behind me, I felt somewhat alone, if only for an instant. I am, after all, Dieudonné, a man that is truly free. Yet I couldn't help but look forward to meeting my new friend again, the prince. And gifting the orange tea to my foolish sister, as an apology. Yet beyond that, the dark clouds that were my princely plans loomed over all.

Making my way back to the fruit shop, I couldn't help but think back on Daysha and that tall man Lemarcus. As much of a fool as she is, my sister truly saved me there, and made it possible to meet the prince as well. This present may not be much, but I hope it'll show her how grateful I am of her help. Though she did owe me one...

The streets of Jericho were unusually quiet and empty. Some loners were here and there, smoking and drinking. Others were hurrying their steps, as if late to some important meeting. How miserable. At that moment I Dieudonné realized I was one of them! One more of these rats, scurrying about in the dead of night, hurrying toward the void that is their lives!

No matter what face I have truly, that of a prince or of a peasant, what matters are my actions. No more of this! I know what to do, to become prince at last, and fate itself landed me a hand! Yes, I will go forth with my plan, no matter what. For the life of a prince is the only life worthy for me.

I passed under a low banner and in this dark alleyway I thought back on Daquan, that guard I had poisonned so cleverly. I couldn't help smiling, and I didn't really like what that meant about me. Is killing a man that simple? Behind me, a fool, coughing and stumbling, his breathing raspy and annoying. I hurried my steps, as I was close to the fruit shop, but it seemed like the sick fool behind me hurried as well. I turned around briefly, and in the feeble moonlight I saw his bearded, scarred face, no longer that of a gambler, but that of a vengeful killer. We crossed eyes and he yelled ''Dieudonné you peasant!''

I didn't like that. I faced him, separated by a few dozen meters, surrounded by boxes and garbage bins and low hanging banners. We were completely alone here in the alleyway, and the only thing I could hear was his struggling breathing, and his coughing, as he was hurrying toward me, holding something in his hand, what, a knife?

I Dieudonné had enough of that man. No matter how grateful I was of the hand of fate, bringing me closer to my goal using that despicable man, I decided to finish what I had started.

''What, you want to kill me, good guard?'' I taunted him, looking at his curved dagger in his shaky hand. Daquan coughed once more and leaped toward me, screaming, murder in his eyes, but he was so slow from the rat poison. I punched his arm and his dagger fell on the ground loudly. ''What did you do to me?'' he shouted, his face so close to me I could smell his incoming death. I remember just how ugly and pityful he seemed to me. He had the face of an angry child, throwing a tantrum for having his favourite toy taken away.

''You deserve this, you failure of a man..'' I whispered, as I grabbed him by the neck. His bloodshot eyes then filled with fear, with dread, and at that moment I let go of him, frightened. What was I trying to do?

But Daquan reached for his dagger once more and I remembered my vow. To do whatever it takes. ''I can't die, for I become prince tomorrow.'' And so I kicked his face and his belly, I turned him on his back and pummeled his face, his gambler face, and ignored whatever he was trying to say to me, until his weak arms couldn't stay up anymore.

I didn't notice rain had started, and I got up from down there, my fists bloodied in red, my head aching. I looked down at the dagger and laughed, what a ridiculous tool. I pushed Daquan to the side of the alley, under a few boxes and a fallen banner, and I spat on him, as he extended his hand to me, begging for help. ''Die as the rat you are..''

I ran away from there, back to the fruit shop. I didn't know if I wanted to laugh at the top of my lungs or collapse and cry. All I wanted was to be alone. I made it to a crossway, and looking around I- well I was lost. Where the hell am I? What am I doing here?

Tall dark buildings. Banners whirling in the wind, wires flailing about, crows cawing, flying around high above me, under the feeble rain. I looked to one side, and the other, I couldn't tell the difference! Where is Daysha, where is the black lake, and my hometown? Why am I here, in this hellish city, alone, my hands stained with murder?

I noticed I was shaking, and couldn't breathe properly, and my mind was spiraling, how dizzy I felt. I sat down, there in a dark corner of an alley, and I placed boxes over me, and covered my feet with a fallen banner, and tried to sleep, just to escape. I tried to sleep just to see if all that really happened. I tried to sleep and realized once more, I was nothing different from Daquan! Here I was, same as him, except I'm to keep living in this shithole of a life I have been so proud of living.

I, Dieudonné, thought of suicide for the first time that night.

The crows woke me up once more, not their cawing but their beaks! I jumped awake and chased the black birds away. Did they think I had died? As if I would die such a meaningless death... My head was aching all the more, and I got up, trying to piece out where I was exactly. I was just a few buildings away from the flower shop actually. All around me, the bustling life of Jericho had started anew, in the early hours of the morning. The sun had just started to rise, and a soft breeze washed away my worries, if only for an instant.

I Dieudonné entered the fruit shop, nonchalantly, my hands in my pocket, for they were still bruised. But no one was there. I was expecting Daysha, ready to jump in my arms, and the tall Lemarcus to be standing in his doorframe in the back, reeking of tobacco. Only the parrot greeted me, with his usual ''Thief, thief, thief I say!''

But I had had enough of that, and as I made my way to the back of the shop I shooed the bird with my hands. Upon seeing my bloodied, bruised knuckles the parrot flew away screeching ''Murderer! Thief! Murderer!'' and I froze. Did I really kill that man? And not by poison, with my own two hands? I walked in the bathroom there, and I noticed a big tall mirror. I made sure not to see my reflection. I jumped in the shower and washed away the dreadful night, to be ready for the dreadful day I become prince at last.

All ready I walked to Lemarcus's door, and knocked quietly. ''Daysha?''

I heard some rustlings, a few steps, and my sister whispered as well from beyond the closed door. ''Go away Dieudonné. I don't want to see you ever again. What a brother you are.''

Her words hit me like a brick. I kneeled down and slid under the door the little bag of orange tea, the prince had given me. ''All I want to say is, I'm sorry.'' I told her. And I meant it.

I heard her pick it up, and scuffle back to the bed. I heard Lemarcus's voice, and Daysha's voice, such loving words, and I was taken aback. I thought she would hate him!

I stole some lotion in the bathroom for my knuckles, thank you Lemarcus. I made haste for the plaza, for the prince himself was waiting for me. On the way there, I could hear faint music, festivities, growing louder and louder. I hurried my steps, much like a child would do, and low and behold a full on festival was taking place, with dozens of musicians playing drums, flutes, lutes and others singing. Dragons and sheeps were dancing to the music, their big colorful bodies going up and down, moved by the many feets beneath them. Kids were running around, petals were falling from Jericho's sky and a new, bold banner was erected, its calligraphy impeccable : Tea Festival.

And there, standing alone at the entrance of the plaza, the prince. Approaching him I noticed his smile, and how relaxed he looked. I took the time to really look at him, at the gold chains on his face, at his crown, at his clothes so elegant. On his face I saw the face of a happy man, and I didn't like that.

He saw me at last and ran toward me, smiling, his eyes full of life. I noticed around him, the people, recognizing their prince, and smiling, and bowing, and I could see how respected he was. I thought, back then, about just how badly I needed that, just how badly I needed everyone to look up to me, to worship me. My vow strenghtened once more, and hugging my new friend smiling I could only think of murder, of deceit.

We entered the fruit shop, and it was still empty, the closed door of Lemarcus in the back there made me wonder if they were still in or out. No matter. All I needed was a few minutes. ''I'd like to treat you to tea, as well, as we wait for my family.'' I told the prince, and he sat down. How glad I was of the parrot not being there, that irritating creature. To my surprise the prince said ''I always wanted to taste that tea brick of yours!'' and I couldn't help laughing.

The kettle whistling, just like it did the day before at the palace, I poured into it the harsh bits of black tea. A far cry from the expensive ingredients of the prince. I told him to bring over a few blackberries, how nicely would they go with our black tea. In the meantime I poured myself a cup, and quickly threw in the rest of the rat poison I had bought the day before in the kettle. I exhaled and closed my eyes for a second. The prince came back and pretended to throw a berry in my mouth, laughing. And he did, a perfect throw! How oblivious can the prince be?

''So, my prince, what are you planning to do today?'' I asked him, pouring down his death sentence in his tiny cup.

The bitter, almost poor aroma of the leaves surrounded us, and as he lifted his cup he told me how he didn't have much planned today, and that they could perhaps spend time at the tea festival. I looked deeply in his eyes, waiting for him to drink his tea at last.

Right then the backdoor opened, and tobacco filled the air, to my annoyance. The prince put down his cup and got up, bowing to the tall man and the curly woman looking at us. Right there I cursed the heavens, and slammed my cup on the table.

''My sister Daysha, uncle Lemarcus, please meet my new friend, the prince of Jericho!'' I proclaimed, a bit too loudly.

I remember the look on lemarcus's face, his squinty eyes, pinning me down, I could tell he didn't like me. Once again Daysha proved to be a useful fool and grabbed his arm, dragging him toward us.

The prince sat back down, and offered them to share tea with us. I got up and took the kettle, saying how I'll just make a new batch, but the prince insisted. ''As you told me yesterday, why waste it?''

Of course I wanted the prince to drink it and die, so that I could take his place. And I didn't mind if that man lemarcus dies, for I despised him. But I didn't want Daysha my sister to die such a meaningless death!

''Very well, but Daysha, you won't like it. Why don't you bring us some refreshments instead?'' I proposed, trying to get her to look me in the eyes, and notice what was going on. But the fool was clutching at lemarcus's arm, smiling, and told me she'll just add my present to the tea, that she took out.

The orange tea I gifted her! And so the prince took it upon himself to pour two more cups to Daysha and Lemarcus. She added the bright orange powder to her cup, and also to everyone's cups, smiling.

Daysha asked a few questions to the prince, as they ate berries, holding their lethal cups, warming their hands. I Dieudonné sat there, and debated if I should just flip the table and maybe punch lemarcus, as a pretext to stop everyone from drinking the tea. After all, I'd get another chance sooner or later.

I looked down at my cup, and catched a glimpse of my reflection, amidst the scintillating of the orange powder, much akin to the prince's golden chains on his face, and at once the fountain of greed within me sprang anew. Damn it all!

She's a fool, he's a lustful man, and he's the prince I'm meant to be!

''Now, let's drink to our new friendship!''

And I burned my throat, gulping down the tea, not even tasting it. I slammed the cup on the table, and to my horror, to my bliss, they all did the same.

With how much rat poison I had put in the tea, the effects would start rather soon. My sister, with rosy cheeks, asked me ''Dieudonné, you told us your friend is the prince, yes, but you never told us his name?''

And at that I couldn't hold my laughters, it was too much for me.

''Yes, you never did ask for my name, even after you told me you didn't care about me being prince...''

We all grew silent. The prince added, smiling, ''Tell me, are we really friends?''

This is when they started dying.

Coughing, and retching, and all that. I dragged Daysha and Lemarcus to their room, making my best impression of someone worried for his friends, for his sister. She held my arm, and in her eyes, the same fear in saw in Daquan the day before. She whispered, in my ear, how she wanted to give me a present, as thanks for bringing her with me here to Jericho. She placed in my hand, orange incense. We both got teary eyes. I told her, once again, for the last time, ''I'm sorry.''

I closed the backdoor. Alone once again with the prince, I towered over him. He was asking for a glass of water, and to go fetch a guard, to bring him back to the palace.

I lied to him once again ''Now, my friend. I have an antidote, but first you have to tell me everything I need to know about you, about the prince of Jericho.''

He was shocked, and couldn't breathe for a few seconds. I fell to my knees and slapped him. I told him ''You see, my friend, I'll take your place as prince, and become the man I was always meant to be.''

At that the prince struggled to laugh, holding my arms; ''I was never the prince! I did just like you, Dieudonné my friend. I took the jewels and the clothes and the knowledge of the last prince, and I made myself prince.''

I got up, and stared him down. He added ''And the prince before that! All pretending, all greedy, all imposters!''

He struggled to get up, fell to his knees, and whispered to me, holding my legs ''I have only ever showed you kindness, generosity, friendship... And you would kill me, and take my place?''

I saw, at that moment, the prince had the face of despair. I pushed him down on the ground, and I couldn't help but cry as I removed his clothes, his crown, and painstakingly removed his golden chains, the true symbol of his majesty.

All the while the prince was laying there on the ground, staring at the ceiling. He tells me, his voice raspy and his breathing short; ''So you'll get my haircut, get some new piercings, wear my clothes and my jewels... So you'll be the new prince of Jericho... Will that satisfy you?''

I froze. I looked down to him. he added, pleading;

''Will you at least spare me, your friend? I'll tell you everything you need to know, the name of the servants, how you should act, secrets, all of it. Just give me the antidote, and give Daysha and Lemarcus the antidote. And go, I'll forget about you, Dieudonné, the man I thought was my friend.''

He told me everything, and I lied to him once more, about how the antidote will save his life. I made him drink some of my tea, and he smiled. I asked him his name, and he told me, crying.

But I forgot.

As I walked out, the parrot rushed in, yelling ''Murderer! Murderer! Thief!'' Once more.

The next day, I was walking down the main road, on my way to the palace of Jericho. On my face, the gold chains, on my head, the crown. And adorning me, clothes beffiting of a prince. And on everyone's faces, admiration, love, respect.

I held my head high, and smiled broadly, for at last I was a prince, with the face of a prince. What bliss.

I entered the palace, and made haste to my chamber, where a few days ago I drank tea and laughed with the previous prince. I jumped on the bed, took a nap. Never slept better in my whole life. I awoke and filled my pockets with gold coins, emeralds and ivory. I demanded a servant to make me some orange tea, but I didn't drink it, I wasted it.

I pushed open the bathroom door, avoiding the mirror once more. And there, the bathtub of a prince, with lotions and soaps and warm water on tap. I poured myself a bath, filled with all the luxury products I could find. I reached for my pocket and took out the orange incense Daysha had given me, before dying of my hand.

I placed it down on the counter, in front of the mirror, and lit it, its fragrance, taking me all the way back to my hometown, to little Daysha and my family.

I glimpsed at the mirror at last, looking at my perfect reflection. Never before had I seen my face so clearly, if not from the still surface of the cursed lake. In the flickering of the candles, I saw the face of a murderer. I saw the face of a thief. I saw the face of a spiteful man.

I couldn't take it anymore, I punched the mirror, reopening my wounds on my knuckles. The mirror cracked, and my reflection was mutliplied. I looked at my bloodshot eyes, at my golden chains, at my stupid haircut, and I grabbed the golden chains and screamed as I tore them with all my force. Blood gushing out, pieces of my nose, my ear and my eyebrow, at the tip of the golden chains. I threw away the crown and tore down my clothes, drops of red staining the royal floor, as I ran away toward the exit, toward the roads of Jericho.

Outside, I walked around, aimlessly, my mind, numb. I was just so tired of it all. So what if I was prince at last?

There, walking toward me, peeling away his orange, the tall man in the white hat, the blind man, the man with the wise face. He puts a hand on my shoulder, and says, as if to himself :

''Ah! There is the man with the cursed face. Welcome to Jericho!''

Short StoryCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

YonathanJ

I've been an avid reader for as long as I remember, and a writer since childhood. Crafting stories fascinate me. I write to share my outlook on life, that is often taken too seriously. Hope you enjoy my writings

www.youtube.com/@YonathanJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.