Fiction logo

Gus Finds His Purpose

Book 3

By Karen NicksichPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Gus Finds His Purpose
Photo by Henry & Co. on Unsplash

Gus Finds His Purpose

Hi, my name is Gus. I am a Golden Retriever. It’s been two years, four months, and one day that I’ve been living with my family and Maddie, my best friend. It’s the end of the summer. Birds are singing and squirrels are running up and down the maple trees. I feel the warm sunbeams on my fur as I sleep on my bed. Life is good. “Gus, it’s time to get up. Today we are going to Dog School,” said Mom. Dog School, oh boy! I have been waiting a lifetime to go to Dog School. What do I need, Mom? My stuffed pig, my ball, how about my fancy bandana? “Hop into the car, Gus. Today, you only need a leash.”

It took Mom thirty-five minutes on the highway to get to 4-Paws Dog School. Wow, look how big the school is! I see all kinds of dogs going into the building. Hurry, Mom, hurry! I don’t want to be late to Dog School. Mom came to the side door, took off my seatbelt, and clipped my leash on. Walk faster, Mom, I can’t wait to meet my teacher. I pulled Mom across the parking lot and pushed my way into the school. Wow! Look at all the classrooms. There’s a puppy class, an agility class, and a rally class. There was a group of dogs nearby that were barking really loud. I joined in. “Woof, woof, woof,” I said. Maddie taught me that.

Which class do I go to, Mom? Gus, you are starting in the CGC class. What’s that mean? I know Candy, Goofing Off, and Cookies. As if to read my mind, my mom said, “No, Gus! The letters CGC mean Canine Good Companion class.” Well, that doesn’t sound exciting, Mom. I want to run through the tunnel and over the bridge in the other arena. Mom sat down with me in Dog School. Really, Mom, I am so embarrassed. Why are you sticking around? “Look, Gus, every dog in your class has a mom or a dad sitting next to them,” Mom said. Look, Mom. There’s a big black dog coming this way! Mom said, “Silly Gus, that dog is a Newfoundland. He is in your class. Then I see my teacher, Angie. She is so pretty. I sit up straight and wag my beautiful tail to impress her.

“Good morning, class. My name is Angie. I am your teacher. This class will teach you how to sit, walk, and greet other dogs. If you work very hard, you will have a chance to take a test after eight weeks so you can become a therapy dog.” Wow, Mom, Maddie is a therapy dog.

I’m so bright. I bet I am the most intelligent dog in this class. “Shh, Gus, we need to listen to Angie.”

“All right, let’s begin. Handlers, take your dogs into the arena. Today we are going to practice

walking on a loose lead with your dog. Let’s begin,” said Angie. I want to impress Angie. Why walk when you can run. I started running around the arena. Look at me. See how fast I can run! Mom was frantically trying to catch me.

All the other dogs began to bark. “Woof, woof!” I ran past Angie to impress her. Suddenly I came to a complete stop. Angie had stepped on my leash. Angie is so mean to me, Mom.“Gus, we don’t run around the rink. We walk,” Angie said. All the other dogs looked at me. They are snickering under their breaths. I’m so embarrassed. I crawl under a park bench and become a puddle dog. “Gus, you need to come out. Let’s try it again.” I crawl out and walk this time instead of running. “Good job, Gus,” Mom said. After an hour, the class was over. Do we have to go back home now, Mom? I’m not as smart as Maddie. I need more time.

“Gus, you are just as bright as Maddie is.” I plopped down in the backseat of the car as we drove home. I felt defeated. When the car pulled into the garage, Maddie greeted me when I came in.

How did you do in class, Gus? Maddie asked me. I am not smart like you are, Maddie. Everyone laughed at me. Gus, everyone knows that poodles are practically perfect. How about if I work with you at home? I remember everything and so will you. Let’s start tomorrow.

Okay, Maddie, I will try my best, I said.”

Here is what happened as we practiced.

Week 1—

Walking

I walked with Maddie every day to practice how to walk politely. I noticed how many people told Maddie what a polite dog she was. I wanted them to say that about me too. At the beginning

I was too afraid to let people pet me. Maddie said to me, It’s okay, Gus, strangers can be scary! After one week, I felt more relaxed as I walked on a loose lead with Mom and Maddie.

Weeks 2 and 3—Sitting and Lying Down

Mom opened the car door for me. I barked at Maddie to join us. “Sorry, Gus, Maddie needs to stay at home. She is not feeling well today.” What am I going to do without Maddie? I thought.Mom said, “Don’t worry, Gus. You will do fine.” Angie greeted the class. “Today, we are going to learn how to do a Sit-Stay and a Down-Stay.” What’s that mean, Mom? I don’t understand what Angie is talking about. “It’s okay, Gus, we will learn together,” Mom said.

Every dog in my class knew what a Sit-Stay was except me. Angie came over with a yummy treat and taught Mom how to train me. I realized that I wouldn’t get Angie’s yummy treat unless I followed directions. After what seemed like 100 hours, the class was over, but I still didn’t understand what Angie was trying to teach me. Maybe I should have written the directions on my paws

When we got home, Maddie was sleeping in her favorite chair while Dad was on a Zoom call. Why is Maddie sleeping so much, Mom? “She’s getting older, Gus.” Why doesn’t Maddie do therapy anymore, Mom? “Gus, Maddie is having trouble seeing. It is getting harder for her to see where she is going. That’s all.” Maddie is my best friend, Mom. What can I do to help her?

“Just be a good friend to Maddie and be the great dog that you are,” Mom said.

By week four, I looked forward to going to Dog School with Mom. I even made some friends. All the dogs in my class were working on different skills they were having trouble with. I wasn’t the only dog who had difficulty learning. It made me feel better. Cash and I sat next to each other. He reminded me of Violet. At the class, Angie said, “Handlers, we have four more classes before we take the test. Your homework this week is to put your dog in a Sit-Stay and leave the

room for 3 minutes. Your dog cannot follow you.” Oh my gosh, I can’t sit still that long. I get worried when Mom leaves. I am going to fail the test. Mom reassured me that I would do great. The next three weeks flew by. I could not believe Dog School was going to be over in one more week. What if I fail? I don’t want to be a dog school dropout!

When I got home, I heard Maddie call my name. Gus, where are you?

Silly Maddie, I am right in front of you. I can’t see you, Gus. I'm scared!

I remember Mom told me that Maddie was having trouble seeing. Maddie, you are my best friend. I will never leave you. Can you smell me? Yes, Gus, I can. Jump off your chair and follow me to the kitchen. Maddie followed me into the kitchen and I pushed her food bowl next to her. You are such a good friend, Gus. Thank you!

For the last week before the final, Maddie sat in the backyard and told me what I needed to do for the test. Isn’t that cheating, Maddie? No, Gus, I am helping you understand some of the commands the teacher will ask. Believe in yourself, Gus. You can do it! Remember how you were able to take care of yourself before you were adopted. You kept warm in the winter by curling up into a tiny ball. You were so brave when you had to cross the mountains in a snowstorm and the flood in Oregon. When you got here, you began to trust people—that takes courage. It doesn’t matter if you pass or fail. Just do your best.

Week eight came. Maddie and I jumped into the car to take the test. For the first time, I was not afraid. I crept into the school with Mom. Angie greeted all the dogs that would be taking the test. “Where are some of the dogs, Angie?” Mom asked. Angie replied that some of the dogs didn’t feel ready for the test. Maddie whispered in my ear, You can do this, Gus. Just believe in yourself.

Two dogs took their test and passed. Cash looked at me and said, I’m afraid Gus. Can you go before me? Sure Cash, I said. Angie called me into the arena. She asked me to do eight different tests. I remembered how to do them all. “Okay, Gus, this is your last test,” Angie said. Then Mom said, “Gus, Sit-Stay.” She walked off and I couldn't see her. I looked to the left and then to the right. My heart was pounding, but I did not move. I focused on Maddie who was sitting by herself. She was wearing a bandana that said “GO GUS.” Then I saw Mom coming back to hug me. “Congratulations, Gus, you have passed the test! You are one step closer to becoming a therapy dog!” I jumped up on Mom and gave her a sloppy wet kiss. I ran over to Cash and Maddie and said thank you. Then I walked up to Angie and said, You are the best teacher I have ever had. Then I wagged my tail.

Since I passed my test at Dog School, I’ve had many adventures. I finally realized what my purpose is in life. I’ve used all the skills Angie taught me to be an example to other dogs. I walk proudly down the street and I’m no longer afraid. People comment on what a nice dog I am. When Mom brings me to the local pet store, I know how to stand quietly when she purchases food. I learned from Angie it’s not about being the smartest dog or getting lots of medals. The most important purpose for me was to be kind and help my best friend, Maddie. Each morning I walked out in front and were the eyes for Maddie as we went for a walk. And at home I always pushed Maddie’s bowl with my nose so she could eat her meal with me. I’m really proud to truly be a Canine Good Companion.

Fable
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.