Fiction logo

Guardian Demon

Would you leave heaven for someone you've never met?

By Scott BradbrookPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Heaven. Such a beautiful paradise. Brandishing a silvery halo, soft wings, and a pure white robe, I watched the happenings of the humans on the strange planet below. Back then, each angel was given a soul to watch over and guide. I had been minding my own business when I first laid eyes on my assignment. I remember it as if I were there yesterday.

She was but an innocent young girl, uncorrupted by the depravity of the world around her. Born to a not-so-loving mother, an absent father and two delinquent brothers, her family hadn’t the decency to gift her with a name. Her 11-year-old brothers were tyrants, tugging at her curly chocolate hair and flicking her button nose. However, her mother was far more unpleasant, forcing her to sweep the chimney, clean the stove, scrub the floors, wash their clothes, and countless other chores no seven-year-old should ever be forced to do. Although they cared not for her, she was courageous and strong, enduring many a terrible night in the red-brick house by the park.

One leafless winter evening, she mustered up all her bravery to approach her gorgon of a mother. “M-mother,” she trembled.

“What is it now?” her mother snarled, slouching in her armchair in front of the fire.

“W-well… I was wondering… that maybe for my… w-well perhaps for,” she mumbled, fidgeting with the end of her tattered dress.

“Speak up, child! What have I told you about mumbling?” This was it. This was the moment she would stand up to her horrendous mother. Clearing her throat, she continued.

“Could I please have a name for my eighth birthday?” Her request was met with silence so thick it choked her. “William and Peter have names.” Sitting up in her armchair, her mother’s gaze fell on the poor girl.

“A name!” she roared, rising from her seat and looming over the girl, bathing her in shadow. “Who do you think you are? The Queen of England?” Cowering backwards, she fumbled with her words, all confidence fleeing from her voice.

“I-I thought th-that it might b-be nice to—”

“That’s the problem, isn’t it! You thought. Maybe if you stopped daydreaming and slacking off, you’ll get yourself a name!” Storming off to the cupboards, her mother returned with a rusted shovel. “Now, I don’t want you back in this house till you’re done scraping the ice off the walkway.” Shoving the poor girl out in the cold, her mother slammed the door behind her.

~

After an hour of scraping, her fingers began to numb and blister. She collapsed onto the snowy grass in a wave of exhaustion, her cloudy blue eyes gazing at the stars above as the wind froze a single tear on her rosy red cheek.

This was no way to treat a child. I wanted to save her from those wretched people, but alas, I could not shield her from so far away. It was forbidden for angels to interfere with the affairs of mortals and risk disrupting His grand plan. How could I give up heaven for a little girl I hadn’t even met? If I fell, I could never return.

But she needed me.

~

A blinding light and thunder-like boom startled her, making her sit up and shield her eyes. After her ears had stopped ringing, there I stood in front of her.

“Are you alright?” I asked, her eyes glancing from my outstretched hand to the ground and back again.

“M-my apologies, sir. Mother s-says I’m not allowed to t-talk to strangers.” She slowly moved away from me, her frozen hands clutching the shovel to her chest.

“Well, perhaps an introduction is in order. My name is Cadivus, but you can call me Caden. And what might your name be?” Hesitantly, she got up and dusted the snow from her clothes. She thought for a moment, her eyes still locked on the ground.

“L-Lucy, sir,” she replied confidently. “My name is Lucy.”

“It is a pleasure to meet you, Miss Lucy.” Re-extending my hand towards her, she flinched away from it. “Don’t be afraid,” I reassured. I’m your guardian…” I paused. Something was different. My halo had dissolved, my wings had disappeared, and my white tunic had faded into a slate grey suit. I was different. “I’m your guardian demon.”

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Scott Bradbrook

Hi! My name is Scott and I'm an author, editor and copywriter. When I'm not adding to my never-ending TBR pile, I'm either salsa dancing, forgetting a great story idea, or writing my next book. I hope you like my short stories and poems! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.