Fiction logo

Guardian Angel

Based on a True Story

By Mary K BrackettPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Oregon December 3, 2014 - Mary K. Brackett

“Are we lost?” my brother’s voice warbled.

“Of course not.” Yet as we paused there at the edge of the snow-covered woods, I wasn’t nearly as sure as I sounded. The short burst of snowfall while we were sledding had covered our way home and now all the trees looked the same, taunting skeletons leering at me as I tried to choose the right path. The lengthening shadows told me we didn’t have long before nightfall.

I chose a direction, grabbed his hand, and plowed forward despite my inner voice’s panicked warnings.

A flash of red through the trees to our right, made me pause. Was there someone there?

“What’s wrong?” my brother asked, staring hard into the trees to follow my gaze.

I turned to a gap to our left, “uh, nothing. This way, kiddo.”

A brief time later, that red flash came to the left and I turned right to avoid whoever was there.

A red flash on the right turned us again soon after and at long last I could smell the delightful scent of chili cooking on someone’s stove. Woodsmoke brought with it the warmth of a pinewood fireplace in full glow and our steps quickened.

As we finally stepped from the woods, I found our house directly in front of us. “Smells like Dad’s making chili!” my brother cheered and ran ahead, just as a male cardinal flew from the woods to our right, brushed close to my shoulder, and perched above our front door.

family
3

About the Creator

Mary K Brackett

Mary Brackett is a novelist, poet, & award-winning short story author. She has authored and co-authored articles for magazines with her husband and is currently writing a series of novels with her talented daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Well written! I like the red cardinal 🤓 great ending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.