Fiction logo

Green Light

The car crash

By Isis Lyons Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Green Light
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

It was a rainy and cold night. I was driving home carefully; I wasn’t expecting this tragedy to happen to me. As I go through the green light a truck hits me from the side. My whole car flipped over 5 times before I finally cracked my neck and died. As I’m dead in my car, I’m looking outside of my body. I see my dead body right in front of me. I’m not sure what to do at this point, so I ran towards the truck that hit me. The truck driver gets out of the truck and runs towards my body in so much fear. I see him cry; the remorse in his eyes made me feel bad for him and I was the one who was dead. He calls the police saying “A man’s car just fell in a ditch please come and help fast!” He paces back and forth deciding what he should do. “Should I stay here and wait for the police to come or should I leave?” He thinks to himself. I realize at this moment that I can read a person's mind. I know everything he is thinking; he says to himself “I might as well just stay. If I run they’ll catch me eventually. They’ll even think it was on purpose.”

I watch him get arrested. I watch him cry his eyes out like it's the end of his world, but I’m dead. I should be the one making hell right now, but what good would that do? That would just take me out of my own peace. Instead I roam the world a ghost. I travel to my home to see my wife and kids. It was 11 o’clock at night; My kids were in bed sound asleep. My wife was waiting for me to come home. It broke me down into pieces to see the worry on her face. It’s as if she knew I was gone. It looks like a piece of her dies with me. This is what triggered me to be a demon walking the earth. This man took me away from my wife and he had the nerve to think about running? All of the anger and pain built up inside of me. His light was red; my light was green. Why did he think it was okay to continue going? Was he even paying any attention to the road?

I went to his jail cell. I saw him crying in pain; I didn’t care. Happiness arose in me when I saw the tears run down his face. It was a black aura all around him; I could touch his aura. It gave me some type of drive and power. As I’m touching his aura he freaks out. “AHHHHHH WHAT THE FUCK IS THAT!!” He screams. I look around to see if anything else is around; there was nothing, but me and him. I’m still confused why he is screaming until he backs up away from me. I realize he sees me, so I get bigger on purpose. I imagine myself looking like the devil himself. “AHHHHHHHH WHO ARE YOU?! PLEASE DON’T KILL ME!” He yells. I get angrier as he says those words. “Why shouldn’t I kill you? You killed me.” I say in the deepest voice I could make. He looks at me in fear; he says absolutely nothing. As if he was preparing himself to die.

“I have one question before I take you off of this planet. Why did you run a red light?” I questioned. “My light was green. The only reason why I’m in this jail cell is because I was drinking and driving.” He shivers. Both of our lights were green.. How can that be? Why did this happen? Is it anyone’s fault? Should I even hurt him? I mean he was drinking and driving. If he was sober he probably would’ve seen me and stopped. I can’t help but believe this was just meant to be. I’m just supposed to be dead now. This doesn’t mean I have to hurt someone else. Maybe there’s another way I can find my peace. As I’m thinking to myself, I disappear away from his human eyes. Instead of hurting this man who hurt me and my family, I leave. I try to find peace for myself, so my family can find there's.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.