Fiction logo

Ashley Committed A Crime

The Frozen Pond

By Isis Lyons Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Ashley Committed A Crime
Photo by Hooman Nezhad on Unsplash

“It was December 22nd; I was with my boyfriend, Erin. We were ice skating on the frozen pond. We were both doing tricks, but I accidentally made a crack in the ice. My boyfriend fell into the ice. I tried to save him but he was way too heavy. There was no way I could pick him up. Police officers, you have to believe me. I tried to save him but I simply could not.” Ashley eagerly says.

“Ma’am the man was stabbed 10 times before he fell in the pond. Can you explain that?” Officer Lenox objected. “Maybe the ice cut him that many times. I am not sure why that is, officer!” Ashley protested. “Ma’am that doesn’t make any sense. You also said you guys were ice skating, but I did not see skate marks on the pond. It looks like you stabbed your boyfriend 10 times, then you pushed him with all your force through the ice.” Officer Lenox interrogates. Ashley starts to look around. “She’s trying to think of another lie.” Officer Lenox thinks. “Look Officer, if I tell you the truth, could you help me?” She sighs. “What do you mean help you? You killed an innocent man.” Lenox yells. “I didn’t confess to any killing!” Ashley shrieks. “So what’s the truth and you better tell me fast before they find evidence to put on you.” Lenox warns. “First of all Erin wasn’t innocent. A lot of dangerous men wanted him dead. I was a liability since I was his girlfriend. They captured me on December 21st; They told me if I didn’t kill him, they would kill me and my daughter. Of course I was going to kill Erin. What was I supposed to do, let my child die?” Ashley pleads. “If this is true, do you have proof of the kidnap or proof that you have a daughter?” Lenox questions. “A picture of my daughter is in my wallet; which you guys took.” Ashley groaned. “Okay be right back.” Lenox says.

Lenox shows Ashley the picture of a little girl. “Is this your daughter?” Ashley looks at officer Lenox with an evil eye. “You know that is not the picture I have in my wallet.” Lenox smirks “I was just making sure this wasn’t part of a plan you had. “No, of course not! I am telling the truth now. I’m obviously busted. I have no other choice! I just want to protect my daughter!” Ashley shrieks. “Okay calm down, calm down. I’ll help you. I’ll put your daughter in protected custody while you’re going through trial. Do you have any family members that could watch her before I do that?” Lenox blurts. “You don’t care about anything I just said. They know everything about me. They know where my family lives; my daughter is with my family now. I was supposed to call them back in the morning when it was done. They were expecting me to do it tonight. Please don’t take me in. If you take me in they’ll automatically assume I ratted on them once you try looking for them. I know I killed my boyfriend, but It was out of fear for my life and my daughters. Isn’t that worth anything?” Ashley pleads. “Okay. You’re right. Do you have text messages or pictures? Any type of proof that can prove all of this information is true.” Lenox asks. “I completely forgot I actually do have a recording of me and him talking. It’s on my cell phone.” Ashley says. “Okay I’m going to go get it.” Lenox says.

Lenox comes back only to see Ashley gone.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.