Fiction logo

Grandpa

My grandfather, 86 years old

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

My grandfather, 86 years old, Alzheimer's disease, can not remember anything, sometimes Dad asked him, who am I ah? He occasionally stares at me for half a day and says I'm the third oldest in the family and you're my little brother, so Grandpa Pat (his little brother) laughs. Most of the time, he remembers my dad, after all, he is in front of him every day. My mother asked him, what about me? He looked for half a day and said you are my oldest daughter-in-law, my mother said not bad, serve you every day, still remember. These are the people he sees every day, I left home a thousand miles in 2014

A month away from home, then I do not know which day he was confused, I am sometimes too busy and tired, but also really do not have the patience to talk to him. Last year, when the New Year, he suddenly asked me, are you home? I was stunned, I calculated that I said in ah, and then he immediately swayed to go through the calendar, said tomorrow the 28th of the lunar month, the last day of the big set, you roll out my cart, I will take you to see. In fact, he has long been walking less mobile, but still slowly looking for the crutches I bought him, had to take me to the market. He didn't recognize any of the people who greeted him on the road, so he grabbed me and pointed to one of the stalls - "There are candy canes there, go pick one, I'll buy it for you." "This store is still open? You get two couplets for me." "You like that candy the most, I'll grab one for you?" He was in front of the happy one to turn around, I followed behind him, how can not dry tears. I asked him, who am I? He thought for half a day before ummmm half a day, you are my granddaughter ah, I just you a granddaughter, you three months old I came, you like me the most this grandfather, you go to where I am looking at ...... I grew up you are watching me, I grew up but forced to the future forced to work forced to live, can only think of you thousands of miles away, home even words are Do not want to say. Two days ago home I asked him, grandpa I went home, he looked at me for half a day, I thought he finally forgot about me too, the results he suddenly said, you did not go home for half a month. I gritted my teeth and did not cry out, I said well, I went to Xiamen in the past two days, to buy you the southern fruit, the north did not have, he immediately happy to hold the basket of longan put living room, and my father said you have not seen? My father said it is for you to buy, she likes you. Then, he ran the house, he did not know how many years of broken briefcase turned out (probably 70s, 80s), said this is all my passbook my money, you know the password, quickly take it all away, all yours, do not let the two miserable (referring to the uncle and aunt who are not willing to support him) to take a penny. I opened the bag and the passbook inside was very old. My mom later told me that she actually put away the savings inside long ago, grandfather no longer remember, he only remembered me. I don't know how an old man who has been confused for many years can be sober in a flash, but he sternly refused. My mother said he wanted me. I know what kind of people my uncle and my aunt are, they both came in when I was sitting next to my grandfather, they both came over I put my arm around my grandfather, I said my grandfather said, I grew up with him, I go where he goes, this is my home. Finally, he was confused again, he did not go with the two people he did not know, he asked me, the two of them to come to what? The house I do not care, aunts and uncles want to take away, Mom and Dad are not willing I will find lawyers friends to help them, so many years the old man money is spent on me, they can not grab back. Other people are looking at his money his property. He only has eyes for me. I am the one who carries all the love, kindness, innocence and goodness that he has poured out for over twenty years. He gave me everything he had. An old man that I just come home, even if I don't even remember if I've eaten or not, looks at me with a smile on his face and tells me you haven't come back for a few days again, where did you go again? I hope that my grandfather will live a long and happy life.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.