Fiction logo

Grandpa's Secret Cabin

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 7 min read
6
Enjoy the drive. Don't tell a soul.

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. I was taking my grandkids on a trip to save them from their monstrous parents.

My daughter’s husband had started drinking and using drugs, and my daughter was too afraid to leave him and eventually had started doing the same. Then came the abuse.

Looking in the mirror and seeing the bruises on my grandkids, I knew I was doing the right thing. As soon as we got to the cabin, I would call social services and tell them what happened.

“Hey, guys, want me to play some music? What kind of music do you kids like?” I asked.

“I like pop and dubstep. But anything you can dance to is fine with me,” Sofia said.

“No, gross. Don’t listen to Sofia, play some rock,” Lucas said.

“How about this, I’ll turn on some jazz and everybody will be happy,” I said.

“Ugh,” Sofia and Lucas grunted.

“See what you did Sofia. You told Grandpa to play bad music and now neither of us get what we want,” Lucas said. I looked in the mirror and saw Sofia stick her tongue out at Lucas.

“Ok kids, behave. This is supposed to be a fun trip. How about this, I’ll play one pop song, one rock song, then some jazz,” I said and turned on the radio.

I changed the radio stations until I heard what I assumed was pop music.

“This is old pop music. I want new pop music,” Sofia said. I changed the station again.

“That’s better,” Sofia said and started dancing.

The song ended and a news report came on.

“Two children have been reported as missing or kidnapped. Their parents can’t be reached for comment. If anyone knows where Sofia and Lucas Longturner are, please call…” I shut off the radio. Their parents probably couldn’t be reached because they were looking for me. They didn’t know about my cabin though, so we’d be safe.

“Wait, why are they talking about us on the radio,” Sofia asked.

“Don’t worry about it, dear. Grandpa’s got everything taken care of,” I said. I prayed I was telling them the truth.

“I doubt mom and dad will find us,” Lucas said.

“That’s right. We’re going to be safe at my secret cabin,” I said.

We made small talk for almost an hour, and I turned the radio back on right before we got to the cabin.

“Alright, kids. Let’s head inside,” I said. We got out of the car and walked inside the cabin.

“I’m hungry,” Sofia said.

“How about you, Lucas? Are you hungry, too? What would you guys like to eat?” I asked.

“Nah, I’m not hungry. But you can order me a pizza if you want,” Lucas said.

“I don’t think it’s a good idea to have anything delivered to the cabin. I’ll see what I have laying around the cabin for you. What about you, Sofia? What do you feel like eating?” I asked.

“Pancakes,” Sofia said.

“Pancakes for dinner it is,” I said.

“I guess you can make me some pancakes too,” Lucas said.

I made pancakes for everyone. I gave them sodas and we watched a few hours of TV and I sent them to bed.

“I usually get to stay up later because I’m older,” Lucas said.

“That’s not fair. I’m old enough to stay up as late as Lucas,” Sofia said.

“I’ll make a deal with you two. You can stay up later if you read a book,” I said.

“Fine, we’ll go to sleep,” Lucas said. I left the room, checked on them one last time, then closed the door behind me.

I looked up the number for social services, then called them and explained the situation.

“Thank you for letting us know the kids are safe. We’ll be there in the morning to find them foster care,” the person on the phone said.

“I was thinking I could adopt them. I am family after all,” I said.

“Unfortunately it’s not that simple. Adoption is a long process. But once the agent gets there to process them, they can explain the adoption process to you and help you apply,” the person said.

“The help would be appreciated,” I said.

“While I have you on the phone, we haven’t been able to contact the children’s parents. Do you know how we can get in touch with them,” the person asked.

“Have you tried their cell phones and house phone?” I asked.

“We did. We even went to the house and they were gone,” the person said.

“I’m sorry, I can’t help you. I don’t know any other way to contact them,” I said.

“No worries, sir. Thank you for your call. Someone will be at the cabin between noon and two tomorrow to assess the situation,” The person said and hung up the phone. I got into bed and fell asleep.

I woke up anxious and early the next morning. I woke the kids and told them social services would be coming, and explained that they might have to have someone temporarily take care of them, but I’d come back for them.

“But I don’t want to live with someone else, Grandpa,” Sofia said.

“Yah, this sucks. I don’t want to live with some strangers,” Lucas said.

“Don’t worry you two, the social services agent on the phone was very nice. She assured me the people coming today would help me with the adoption process. You’ll be back here soon enough. And once you’re back, that means I have legal custody. So we don’t have to live here. We can live anywhere,” I said. They still looked uneasy.

“Come, let’s go watch some TV while I make breakfast. How does waffles and eggs sound?” I asked.

“That sounds amazing,” Lucas said.

“Sounds good to me,” Sofia said.

We ate breakfast then watched television. I heard a car pull up to the cabin. I assumed it was social services and walked outside. It was a police car. Two uniformed police officers got out of the car.

“Are you Jimmy Turnberry? Do you have the Longturner children?” One of the officers asked.

“I am and I do,” I said. The officers drew their guns.

“Hands in the air,” They said.

I put my hands up and asked, “What’s going on?”

“James and Laurie Longturner were found dead this morning. They were buried in shallow graves. You’re a suspect, and you’re under arrest. Put your hands behind your back,” The officer shouted.

“My little Laurie’s dead? This is insane. I loved my daughter. Who would do this?” I asked as I turned around.

Lucas and Sofia came running out.

“Go back inside, kids. Grandpa will handle this,” I said.

“Officers, thank god you’re here. We need you to save us from our grandfather. He killed our parents and kidnapped us,” Lucas said and Sofia started to cry.

“What? I did nothing of the sort,” I said. The kids ran passed me to the police officers. I couldn’t see them with my back turned, but I heard grunting sounds, then turned back around.

“What have you children done?” I asked.

“The same thing we did to mom and dad. We stabbed them. Our parents shouldn’t have hit us. These officers shouldn’t have tried to take us away from you. But don’t worry Grandpa, now they’ll never take us away,” Sofia said.

“Yah, gramps. You should be happy. We can live together forever,” Lucas said.

“I… I.. I don’t know what to say. But I understand why you did it. Quick, help me carry the bodies around back, we’ll dig a deeper hole this time,” I said. I couldn’t believe I was doing this. I had to take care of my grandkids though. I was their only chance to have a normal life, especially now.

We buried the bodies, and I said, “Get in the car. They know where we are now, we have to find a new place to stay.”

“Sounds good to me. This cabin’s lonely anyway. Maybe we could find a hiding place somewhere in the city,” Lucas said. Sofia smiled.

“As long as you kids are happy, I’m happy,” I said and tried to smile back.

Copyright © 11/25/2022 by Alex H. Mittelman. All rights reserved.

AdventureClassicalFableFantasyHorrorHumorLoveMysterySatireYoung AdultShort Story
6

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Interesting twist to the story. I would worry if I were the grandpa though.

  • SC Wellsabout a year ago

    Wow, it got very creepy at the end! Great work!

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Oh Wow that went in a direction I wasn’t expecting. Love it Alex.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.