Fiction logo

Gotcha!

What goes around comes around eventually.

By Mark GagnonPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
4
Gotcha!
Photo by IBRAHIM AL JARUSHI on Unsplash

“Okay, Zeke, what’s the catch?”

“Catch? What makes you think there’s a catch?”

“Because we know you, and there is always a catch when you offer to do a favor or give something away.”

Zeke clutched his chest in mock agony. “You bums really know how to hurt a guy. I’m offering you a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and what do I get—insulted is what I get.”

“Okay, Mr. Dejected. Let me see if I understand what it is you want us to do. If we all show up at the new bowling lanes at the same time and say we’re there as your fan club, we’ll each get a free game of bowling.”

“You got it! It’s a promotion to boost business. I joined a league there, so they want all of us to help promote the place. What do you say, you in?”

“Just one more question. What do you get out of this? You’re not helping the owner out of the goodness of your heart. So, what’s the rest of the deal?”

“Well, to show his appreciation, the owner will give the person who brings in the most business a new bowling ball. I could really use a new one.”

Zeke’s friends had to admit the offer was too good to pass up. They all enjoyed a good game of bowling. Zeke was an excellent bowler with an average of 220. He had rolled not one but three perfect 300 games and competed in pro-am tournaments on TV several times. It didn’t take long for them all to agree to meet next Tuesday night for a fun evening of bowling.

The following Tuesday, Zeke and his seven friends walked through the main entrance of Lucky Strike Lanes. They signed in at the front desk, proudly proclaiming that they were there to support the best bowler in town, Zeke. The owner emerged from his office behind the counter and greeted his new customers.

“Zeke, you really came through for us. None of the other league members has recruited as many people as this. I’m proud to award you this custom bowling ball. Come with me and I’ll personally drill it to fit your specifications. I imagine you prefer a fingertip grip. Am I right?”

“Yes, Sir! Fingertip is how I roll. I can’t wait to throw a perfect game with my new ball. Why don’t you guys pick a couple of lanes while I get fitted? I’ll join you as soon as we’re done.”

“Sure thing, Zeke! We’ll have everything ready for your big debut with the new ball. You can count on us, buddy.” One of the seven said as he gave a sly grin to his comrades.

The friends walked to their assigned lanes, dawned bowling shoes, and took a few practice throws while waiting for Zeke. One man attached a small device to his phone. They waited patiently for the hero of the night to emerge from the ball drilling room.

Zeke walked toward his friends triumphantly, holding his new ball high in the air.

“Thanks for waiting, guys! I’m ready to have an outstanding game.”

They divided up into teams of four and flipped a coin to see which team started.

Finally, after what felt like an eternity, it was Zeke’s turn. The manager stood on the main concourse behind the group to watch the performance. Zeke stood on the approach, hoisted the ball in the ready position, and took a steadying breath. He used the four-step method to reach the foul line while swinging his arm behind him. His release was perfectly timed, and the ball sped toward the pins.

This should have been a perfect strike, but at the last minute, the ball hooked radically to the left and fell into the gutter. An expression of disbelief raced across Zeke’s face as he shook his head and walked back to the ball return machine. During his second attempt, the ball arced right and plopped into the gutter on that side. After three more turns with zero pins for a total, Zeke threw his hands in the air and exclaimed, “I just don’t get it!”

The seven friends and the manager laughed uncontrollably. One friend held up his phone and pointed to a small black box attached to the top.

“There was no contest, Zeke. We set this whole thing up. The ball has a gyroscope embedded inside, so I can control its direction once you throw it. After all the pranks you’ve pulled on us over the years, we felt it was time for some payback.

Gotcha!

Humor
4

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    I love the name Zeke for a character, the meaning alone entices me for what you have planned for him! Loved all the bowling related puns and I even learned a little about them sport itself! This was such a great good natured story! I love the change of pace for you and the simplicity in it! 💜

  • Lol, Zeke got a taste of his own medicine! Zeke got Zeked! 🤣🤣🤣

  • Tina D'Angelo10 months ago

    Love it! Love pranks. The crueler, the better! STRIKE!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Haha, the ole payback! good one! I think my highest game every was in the 190s.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    I have not bowled in ages...and now I know why I was so terrible. Thanks!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.