Fiction logo

Good Witch, Bad Witch

two sisters, trying to scrape by

By Jade AimersPublished 7 months ago 6 min read
Like
Good Witch, Bad Witch
Photo by Altınay Dinç on Unsplash

“làn-ghealach glan mi, guidhidh. . . ”- I stopped my whispering, reaching in the back of my mind for a translation. I could never finish my spells properly. Though in this case, I don’t think Gaelic even had a phrase for ‘french kiss from a demon’.

But I could feel the kiss, the energy of it burning my mouth, like when you eat citrus with a cut in your lip. It nipped, even though it had taken me half an hour to walk home from work.

I tried to avoid working on full moons. Trained witches are unpredictable at the best of times. Untrained ones are just dangerous.

But, unlocking the door, I stared at the pile of white envelopes on the floor, and I knew I had no choice. The Bank of Scotland would only be leinient for so long.

I fucking hated full moons. I hated how the demons came out to play.

Seeing the light in our living room through the glass panels, I kicked off my shoes and padded through there, the world calmer, smaller now. Sophie was sleeping on the couch, and candles were burning on the floor beside her. I wrinkled my nose. Mum would roll over in her grave. Yankee Candles.

I stopped at the door and stared at Sophie. She looked peaceful – serene, even- with her blonde curls mashed against the sofa, her mouth open, breathing deeply. Without her glasses on I was reminded how big her eyes were: how big her forehead looked without her fringe to cover it; how some of her features looked distorted a little. Almost wrong. When she was sleeping you couldn’t see the crease between her brows that was there every day; the one that appeared when she got confused or scared. You couldn’t see her thinking. I coughed a little.

“Hey, Sophie.”

She turned over but didn’t wake up. I moved in and sat down at the end of our couch, squeezing in to fit by her feet.

“You need to go to your bed now,” I said, squeezing her leg. “You’ve got work tomorrow.”

My eyes darted back to the offensive candles, I realised that there were tarot cards on the floor, laid out in front of them. My stomach twisted. The cards spread out- death, the lovers, the knight of swords- I couldn't understand them.

In front of me, the blonde mess of curls woke up.

“What time is it?”

“It’s four.”

A little groan. She shuffled up: “Did you get home okay?”

She was wearing old fluffy pyjamas; I could see a hole in the sleeve. “Yeah, yeah I did.” I paused and looked down at the candles before back up to her. “Thank you for helping me earlier.” Help was an understatement. Save wouldn’t have been a hyperbole.

“It’s okay. I just sent you some energy to calm you down. Did the um. Did the.” She stuttered a little on her words, before swallowing. “Did the demon follow you? What happened to him?”

I shook my head. “I don’t know Soph. He kissed me. Took my powers, I think. Levelled me out. At the full moon.”

Her eyes widened even more- her mouth popped open a little. “Kissed you? Oh wow. What did he look like?”

“The same as most of them do.”

She raised her eyebrows, the unspoken passing between us: sexy, then?

I tapped her leg with my fingers, doing a little beat. “He made me really weak Sophie. It's serious.”

She nodded. “I can look up tomorrow in Mums book if you want.”

“That would be good.”

I didn’t even know where the book was- there was no point me keeping tabs on it, when I couldn’t read it. Some lousy fucking witch I was.

“Let me know if I need to take any salt baths or anything okay? Text me it tomorrow morning. I feel gross.” I took her arm and hoisted her up, careful not to fall onto the cards or the candles. “Are you still working with these? Or can I put them out?”

“Oh, em. Uh. No. yeah. Put them out. I was trying to see, well, I was trying to do a spell to see you and then I felt you call for help anyways so I didn’t really need it. But. . .”

She went silent as she walked through the living room, past the broken furniture (that I was trying to fix) and empty pizza boxes (I was trying to improve my cooking, I promise) back to her single bed.

“But?” I prompted.

“Oh, yeah. I felt something from someone else in the bar. Someone was watching you.”

I felt something like panic brewing in the centre of my torso: an age-old panic; a years old worry.

“Don’t worry about people we don’t know. Worry about us. He probably just saw me kissing that creature. Can I blow your candles out? Or is the spell still running?”

She was at the door. Half in, half out. I stared at her: she was miles away in so many ways.

“Blow them out.”

I knelt down, placed a hand on my heart, and started to lean towards the candles.

“But um. Uh. The man that was watching-“

I sighed. “Yes?”.

“He wasn’t in the bar, he was in a car outside. He um. He’s to do with us. I think. Maybe.”

I leant back. “How?”

She pulled her eyebrows down. “I um I think. I think he was a witch."

Two breaths, three seconds before I could compose myself to reply.

"If he's not our direct kin, Sophie, we ignore him. Okay?".

She shook her head. "He's not kin. That's not what I got from him."

"Good- fine-"

"You know that phrase, the one mum used to say like about people on new years day?”

I tapped my fingers on the leg, impatient: “What? About the first footer?”

She nodded. “Yes.” Her face changed a little. I could see her reaching back into her own memory: sometimes she tripped up in there. The amber kept flickering across her face. I felt its heat beside me. Sophie spoke clearly, in a voice that was not her own. “You will meet a tall dark stranger. You will find him handsome.” Her face came back to me; her eyes found mine above the candles. She pointed- “the death card. That’s for him.”

I looked down at the cards below me; they seemed to be charged. Sizzling. The candle light flickered over the gold detailing and threw dashes of colour against the black cards. A skeleton was pulling a scythe across another’s face. The sun was setting behind them. D E A T H, in golden letters, was embossed onto the bottom of the card. The longer I stared the longer the candlelight seemed to make the pictures move: I could see the skeleton screaming. The murderer grinning.

I looked up to Sophie.

“A stranger has the death card. Good. Whatever.”

Her face creased; crumpled in together.

She said one last thing before turning away from me, in that same, cold voice, to pad to her bedroom:

“You will find him handsome Isla.”

It felt like a threat.

“Remember to look at the book for me,” I shouted, but I heard her door close.

I stared into the cards for another few minutes; watching the lovers grab at each other and the knight surrounded by the biting breeze and leaves battling against him. They moved and danced and yet that is all I saw: there meaning didn’t float into the air as they did for Sophie. The longer I stared the more my head began to pound; it began to hurt to see.

Thanks Mum.

I picked the cards up and blew out the candles. In the dark, I felt the smoke curling around me. My mouth tasted like it.

I’d need to be more careful tomorrow. Breathe in the garden. Maybe take that salt bath anyway. Try a small spell. Something simple. I swore to avoid demons as best I could.

I went to bed sinking into a dark and heavy dream, which I would not remember.

Fantasyfamily
Like

About the Creator

Jade Aimers

Hi! My name's Jade, my pronouns are she/her, and I'm a writer from Scotland. I'm a recent English Literature grad, interested in short fiction, fantasy and new adult literature (and an occasional rant too)

@jadeaimers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.