Fiction logo

Good Things Come in Surprise Packages

The arrival of a mysterious package changed the course of her entire life

By Austin Blessing-Nelson (Blessing)Published about a year ago 7 min read
Like
Good Things Come in Surprise Packages
Photo by Brandable Box on Unsplash

"I wonder what’s in it?” My best friend Sarah asked me for the seventeenth time.

“I still have no clue,” I responded, “and before you ask me your next question, no, I haven’t figured out who sent it since you last asked me five minutes ago.”

We have been straying back to this topic every five or ten minutes ever since that mysterious unmarked drone dropped the mysterious, unmarked brown box on my porch a little over two hours ago. We were sitting on the back porch when the black drone suddenly appeared, seemingly out of nowhere, and deposited the box between us. It then spoke the words “Rebecca, this box is for you. It will change your life. Open it alone at midnight tonight,” in a robotic voice before it rapidly shot up into the sky and sped off, leaving her and her friend with the package and a million unanswered questions.

"Are you actually going to open it?"

"I mean, I guess," I replied, "Why wouldn't I?"

"Aren't you worried about what it could be? What if it is a bomb, or something illegal or scary? Wouldn't it be safer if I were here?"

"Just admit, you want to know what it is as soon as possible," I chuckled in reply, "plus, if it's a bomb, wouldn't it be more useful to call the police rather than having you here with me?"

"I mean, yes, I do want to know, but I'm also just as worried as I am curious. So, are you calling the police?"

"No, I'm sure it will be fine," I calmly replied. "Plus, I'm sure if it was a bomb, we'd be dead already," I nervously laughed.

"Yeah, you're probably right," Sarah responded in a way that let me know she wasn't entirely convinced of what she was saying.

I must admit, as much as I tried to cooly play it off, I was actually terrified. This whole thing was so strange and suspicious. Part of me really wanted to call the police, or at least let Sarah stay with me when I opened it. However, as scary as it was, something inside me told me it would be alright. Perhaps it was just how strange this whole situation was. I mean, if someone wanted to kill me or frame me for a crime, aren't there way easier ways to do that than this elaborate setup?!

But still, I definitely knew there was a chance that this would end poorly, or at least that it was some big and elaborate prank. But some part of me knew, or at least wished, that some good would come of this. I really needed it. Life had been rough lately between getting turned down for a big promotion I'd been working really hard for, my grandmother dying last month, and having no success in my love life.

"Sarah, it's getting dark, let's move inside."

"Ok," she excitedly said, "I'll grab the box!"

"Ok, but don't shake it! I know you want to know what's in it, but it may be fragile."

She reluctantly complied and gently carried it inside to the kitchen table. We grabbed some snacks and wine and sat down at the table by the box of mystery.

We both stared at the box for a few minutes before Sarah finally spoke. "So, Rebecca, how is that cute guy at work, Josh? You know, the one you have a crush on?"

I blushed as I defensively responded, "I do not have a crush on him!"

"Oh yes you do!"

"Ok, fine, maybe I do. But I'm too nervous to talk to him. Besides, he doesn't really seem interested in me."

"Oh please, you too are constantly hanging out and are always talking and laughing. And you have so much in common. Haven't you two been really good friends since he started there three years ago?"

"You know we haven't really talked much since, well..."

"Since you two drunkenly kissed at that party last month?"

I looked down in shame as I sheepishly replied, "Yes, since then. If he ever was interested in me, I blew it."

"Maybe you just need to talk to him about it to clear the air."

"I'm too embarrassed. Besides, he clearly is over me. Now to change the topic, how's work?"

"Oh, about the same. Dull and boring, but at least the people are tolerable."

"That's good to hear."

"So, ummm, about the box..."

"Sarah," I laughed, "Unless you have something new to add, there's no use in going back to it. You'll have to wait until I open it!"

"Oh ok," she laughed.

We sat there for a couple more hours. We kept trying to have various conversations to try to ignore the parcel-shaped elephant in the room, but inevitably we kept drifting back to it. I mean, how could we discuss anything else when this huge mystery was just sitting between us? After a while, we fell silent and just sort of stared at the box.

Finally, Sarah broke the silence. "So, it's almost 10 pm. I should probably head home... unless of course you want me to stay?"

"I appreciate the offer, but I want to do this alone," I reluntantly said. Deep down, I did want her to stay. "But don't worry, once I know what is inside, you will be the first one I tell!"

"Ok, if you're sure. But please be safe! I would miss you if anything happened to you. And Josh would probably be too upset to go to the coffee shop anymore."

I laughed, "I love you too Sarah. And I'm sure Josh would survive. Drive safe, and say hello to your cat for me!"

After Sarah left, I tried to keep myself busy cleaning, watching TV, and scrolling through social media, but nothing was successful at getting my mind off the box, so most my time was actually spent staring at it apprehensively as I waited for the clock to strike midnight so that I could finally learn what secrets lay within this cardboard mystery.

At long last, the time finally drew near. As the clock read 11:55, I sat at the table and pulled the box close to me. As I waited the last few minutes, my thoughts raced. I contemplated all the potential contents of this cardboard mystery, ranging from money, to drugs, to a bomb, to nothing at all. Beyond that, I also contemplated my life in general. I was so deep in thought that I nearly missed midnight. Thankfully, I noticed just in time!

After taking a deep breath, I cautiously but excitedly tore open the box and exposed the contents within. It was just a piece of paper. My heart began to sink in disappointment, then I realized there was writing on it. At this point I fully expected it to be a letter explaining this was all a hoax, but nonetheless, I picked up the letter and began to read it. As I did, my heart filed with joy.

"Dear Rebecca, I am so sorry that I have been largely ignoring you for the past few weeks. The truth is, when we kissed, it was the best night of my life. It also made me have to fully evaluate my feelings for you. Truth is, I always thought of you as just a really good friend, but never thought we could be more than that, partially because I didn't think you wanted to. However, that night made me realize that I was terribly wrong. I realized that my feelings of friendship towards you are actually romantic feelings. I realized how much I love you and want to be with you. I am sorry if this whole thing - this whole big and mysterious gesture - is coming off as creepy instead of romantic, but I have been, and still am, terrified to tell you because I wasn't sure how you'd react. As much as I really wanted to in person, and despite my trying to work up the courage for a while, I was too scared to confess my love to your face. But the thought of losing you scares me even more, so I had to do something. I hope you feel the same way about me as I feel about you. Rebecca, will you please be my girlfriend?"

I sat there trembling slightly while staring at the page in disbelief, not fully believing that I wasn't dreaming. Truth is, I had always loved Josh, but I had been repressing that feeling because I was sure he didn't feel the same way about me. I was sure he viewed me only as a friend. The fact that I was wrong made me overjoyed. Of course I would love to go out with him!

My daze was broken as my phone ringed. Expecting it to be Josh, I excitedly pulled it from my pocket and looked at the screen. I broke out in laughter and rolled my eyes. It was Sarah, impatient and curious as always. I declined the call and shot her a quick text to let her know I was ok and that I'd call her in a bit with good news. I then proceeded to call Josh to tell him I loved him too.

As the phone rang and I reflected on the night, I was glad I opened the mysterious box. My gut feeling was right, it did contain a pleasant and life-changing surprise!

Love
Like

About the Creator

Austin Blessing-Nelson (Blessing)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.