Fiction logo

Godzilla Train on Roaring Wheels

Lunchtime

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Godzilla Train on Roaring Wheels
Photo by Michał Kubalczyk on Unsplash

Wheels hurry up, an axle squeals, sunshine right in my eyes, poking me wide awake. Where am I? Have I lost my hat? Forgotten my umbrella at the corner shop?

But wait, this isn't my living room. It's moving to the left and straight ahead. The floor keeps lurching; I can't stand still. My seat quivers with pressure; I hold on tight. It looks like a train, but I don't remember boarding one before falling asleep.

Maybe I'm still napping, and this is a dream? I pinch hard and jolt even more awake. I'm definitely here and now; this train isn't a dream. Where am I headed? Is it a visit I promised long ago and suddenly made up my mind to fulfill?

No, last time was for Christmas, and the cakes were sour. They sure wouldn't want me back this soon. I look out the window. The view shows me something unusual. Mountains keep turning, and they're going up and down instead of on the side. How can a train move higher and lower while being driven on wheels?

A scream stops all my thoughts. It sounds like a woman. Long, shrill, then again. The second time...the third; the fourth scream stops in the middle with a crunching sound. Murder? Shooting?

By David Clode on Unsplash

There was no bullet sound, no cartridge. The trees on these mountains are so green they hurt my eyes. Why can't I see a road or cars going by?

Another crunch closer to the window sends me under the seat. Lunchtime for someone. A giant? A monster?

I search frantically all over the floor. I look in my pockets and in every nook of the compartment. No ticket in sight, and the train keeps on speeding.

What will be waiting at the end? The crunching's stopped, and I make my way around the carriage. Surely there must be someone around here who can explain what's going on.

This train can't be running just for me.

I see bags, coats, a few neatly lined scarves, and even a half-drunk cup of tea. No people, though. It's like they ran off in the middle of the trip.

Maybe they headed to the next carriage or the restaurant, if there is one. I get up and lean on each seat as I pass to keep my balance. The train lurches worse than before. I used to be car sick, but this is a lot more sinister—no pause, no breaks, just changing speeds on an infernal ride.

I finally get to the very end and touch the door handle. This should lead me to the connection between carriages—instead, hot water rains on me. I jump back in shock. My fingers hurt, getting redder by the minute. Is it a trap? Is there no other carriage? I lean on the seat closest to the back door and inch to the window. I peak in the corner, and my jaw drops.

By Samuel Scrimshaw on Unsplash

This is the only carriage, and there's no axle. And no wheels either. I'm on a train carried by a beast. The end of the carriage looks torn, like it used to be part of a longer train. Now on its own, taken hostage by claws.

I sit down and try to catch my breath. If this is a train ride, then it's an abduction, or I'm getting primed for lunchtime. And that hot water curtain will burn my skin if I try to get out. How high would the fall be?

I go to the window again and realize it was a mistake. There's no mountain visible now. A huge eye looks at me. I try to slide away into a corner, and the whole carriage trembles. Grumbling rage and roar. There's a dinosaur outside, and I'm holding on to a train seat!

Is it hungry yet? What can I do before I become the next Godzilla snack?

© 2022 Amy Christie

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.