Fiction logo

Go Back

What no parent can do for their child ...

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
12

"Out or in, Gabe," I called from the kitchen.

He stood astride the doorway, grubby little hand swinging the screendoor in an arc of indecision. A fluffy golden streak shot past.

"You let Kip out!" I scolded, drying my hands and heading to the door.

A screech. A thump. A yelp, a wail.

Running, I snatched Gabe before he reached the street, turning his horrified face from the bloody tangle of fur and bone.

"Kip's gone, honey." I stroked his tear-streaked cheek.

He looked at the screen door in anguish.

"Make time go back, Mommy! Make time go back!"

*

*

*

Thank you for reading. Another version of this story I wrote earlier, in haiku form:

Short Story
12

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    I want to cry! This was so well written. I can’t get the scene out of my head! Shocked, saddened, empathetic for Gabe. Wow.

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Your masterful story is a Brutally compelling scene of a life lesson. I’ve heard the opening words. You put us there. Poe said the greatest stories touch at least the shadows of the mystery of death. Excellent writing, Sonia

  • Such a painful lesson in permanence. 😢 If we could only turn back the hands of time. Great story, although gut wrenching.

  • Opening words, something all eight of us kids heard repeatedly through childhood. Mom would not tolerate the in & out. And though we didn't have indoor dogs, if we had & one of us other than Rick (the oldest & her pride & joy), had let them out & this had happened, we wouldn't have sat for a week & she would have held it over us forever. I prefer your gracious & tender approach, in spite of the tragedy.

  • Oneg In The Arctic11 months ago

    Oh no!!! Ahh!!! So compelling

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Oh, no. This is devastating for all parties involved 😢 Excellent writing. I saw it in my mind’s eye just like a scene in a movie.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I've been there. So sad, and beautifully written.

  • Awww, if only ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.