Fiction logo

Glorious Moon

For Mother Combs Campfire Challenge

By Mark GagnonPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
7
Glorious Moon
Photo by Neven Krcmarek on Unsplash

I watch impatiently as the moon breaches the horizon, forcing its light into the blackness. A flickering campfire draws the attention of everyone sitting around it. None of them are aware of the moon or their surroundings. I couldn't ask for a better scenario. With all the participants in place, my most important job at the moment is to control my desire.

The moon continues steadily ascending toward its apogee. As it rises, I feel its magnetic pull slowly begin the process, transforming me from what I am to what I will be. The change doesn't come without pain, but the result is worth every bit of agony. I do the best that I can to muffle my groans and involuntary spasms so the campers will remain oblivious to their inevitable fate. The moon has almost peeked, and so has my transformation.

Using my fresh voice, I howl at the moon in gratitude for the gift she has bestowed on me. My newfound voice startles the campers. They frantically stare at each other and into the surrounding woods. The fear that rises from their bodies is palpable, and I feed off of it. The time has come for me to introduce myself.

Their alpha male stands in what is a futile attempt to defend his pack. I step into the clearing, fangs bared, razor-sharp claws extended, ready for the kill. The man raises his weapon and fires a single shot. A silver bullet pierces my heart.

Horror
7

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Loved your take on the challenge.

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    Excellent! Loved the twist at the end.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Mark!!!! This was such a great micro fiction!! I love how it started so unassuming then the intensity turned a corner with the wolf readying himself to attack them, then the twist with him dying!! Brilliant!!

  • Why’d it have to be a silver bullet. Poor werewolf. All he wanted was to eat 🥺

  • Wow omg this was wonderful! I really felt the power of the transformation!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    That's good. Nice twist. <3

  • Test8 months ago

    Phenomenal- I loved every single word! Even though I am not a horror fan -you are so talented at building tension and creating atmosphere! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.