Fiction logo

GEMS

A Short Story

By Gina BryantPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Imagine living in a world, where the unexpected had become the norm. Not only had the world become corrupt, but it did something strange to my family. When my mom passed away, I had stored her gem in a heart locket that I wear around my neck every day. I also had a key in my locket to a closet in my home. My sister, aunt and I all have different colored gems embedded into our foreheads. These gems are all triggered by certain emotions and feelings, and they also have the power to do things. I have yet to find out what my gem is triggered by.

I also live with these two women, Joyce my older sister and Lore my aunt, as well as my sister’s children. We thought it would be a good idea because we had not met any new friends or companions since we came to town. In fact, we were very much disliked.

One day I had come home in a frenzy from being attacked by this girl from my school because she had thought I was trying to steal her boyfriend from her. He had followed me around the whole day. I was not even interested. He just would not leave me alone. It was at that moment my gem lit up to be a neon pink. The distance the light stretched was so far you could see the glare from miles and miles away. My power was attraction, and it was triggered by annoyance.

I ran home as fast as I could to flea to safety. I had no idea that the girl had been following me the entire time. When I had got home, my sister had been crying hysterically. Her gem had lit up bright and emerald. Her gem had been triggered through sadness. She had not coped well with the new move at all. We all did not but she had the hardest time coping. Each time she cried; her two kids shrunk a little more. Each kid stood about the height of a milk cartoon. She kept them in closed off areas, where she would be able to find them easily. They played in a well-lit closet that had so many toys their size. The kids played all day in Hot Wheels cars and Barbie houses.

The girl that attacked me at school soon showed up to my home yelling horrible things and kicking at the door. I had told my sister and she was just too consumed to help me figure out a solution to the problem. Police were not a thing in our time either. We lived in a selfish world where people barely helped one another.

The girl continued to kick at our front door. She was so angry her veins bulged like a body builder. Every five minutes, another person or group of people began to help her attack our home. They soon began to throw things as an attempt to destroy our home. Joyce sheltered over her children in the closet. I had locked the closet door with the key from my locket. The key would be the only way into the closet for any intruder. I grabbed weapons from around my home and stood ready by the door, waiting for it to break down.

Outside was like a jungle. People were on the roof. They began to write foul things on the exterior of our home. Just when every window and door was bound to break, my Aunt Lore appeared with flames rushing out of her eyes and her gem had lit up red. Her eyes had produced fire. Her trigger was her intuition. She had a feeling something was up at home. When she arrived, she set fire to everyone who tried to harm us.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    GBWritten by Gina Bryant

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.