Fiction logo

Gallery of Opportunity

The Art of a Micro Heist

By Patricia K WheatonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

The Bellagio Gallery of Fine Art was one of my favorite places to visit in Los Vegas. It was like walking into Europe filled with old world charm and beautiful art.

The gallery didn’t disappoint once again. I left, walking adjacent down the hall to the recently opened Perrotin featuring living artists and exhibitions from around the world.

I was traveling alone and since COVID I was wearing a mask to protect myself. I didn’t really dress up that day and wore a hat that covered much of my face. I felt invisible. The Perrotin staff completely ignored me as I wandered around the store.

The clerks were busy taking care of someone of importance, (quite wealthy and was spending butt loads of money.) She made a huge purchase, when the saleslady distracted her with another item in the back of the store.

Oddly, the customer left her shopping bag on the floor next to me, with the receipt stapled to it. I looked down and then around. Since I seemed invisible, something came over me. I reached down and picked up the bag and walked out. Thousands of dollars of merchandise vanished out the door unnoticed, and as planned.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Patricia K Wheaton

On a journey to write & publish more. I've got over 20yrs of helping businesses grow online; time to enrich writers by teaching them how to build their author platform one step at a time.

Learn more at www.pkwheaton.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.