Fiction logo

Frozen in Doubt

A doomsday narrative

By Wally RoxannePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
5
Frozen in Doubt
Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

(Part I).

Lost in my research, I lean forward hovering over mounds of data scattered across my desk.

As I complete my final calculations, my heart races.

"Oh my God. OH MY GOD!" I wail audibly.

No calm down. One final check, Walter, don't get ahead of yourself.

Sorting through papers, and recounting my findings aloud, I slowly whisper to myself, "The data clearly shows that the global temperatures for last summer are on average down 1.24 percent, for last fall, 2.49 percent, for winter 4.03 percent, for spring 8.09 percent, and for this summer 16. 25 percent. Not only that, stories are starting to circulate suggesting that the gravitational pull of Earth is out of whack. Thus, the data clearly shows we are in for a…"

"HONEY!" I shriek at the top of my lungs.

After what feels like an eternity, my wife trudges into my basement laboratory, and in a perturbed voice, responds, "What, Walter? You better not have called me down here to spout your crazy theories again about that stupid conspi-- "

Unable to resist my excitement, I cut her off and exclaim, "Maureen, this time it is different. Look at the data. It clearly supports my theory, the Earth is slowly falling off of its axis."

Rolling her eyes, my wife lectures, "Walter. If that were true, this would be headline news. Stop making something out of nothing. It's just another cold year."

"ANOTHER COLD YEAR? Maureen, I am right! How can you not believe me? I have done countless calculations. The data clearly shows that the Earth is gradually pulling away from the sun, and this will inexplicably lead to a global free-- "

I look up and realize I am talking to no one.

(Part II).

With each tick of the clock, I wait anxiously for a response.

My hands twitch as they hover over the keyboard.

I glance again at the clock.

11:59

It's almost time.

Come on. Come on.

I begin counting aloud, "Fifty-nine, Fifty-eight, Fifty-seven…"

Bing.

Before the deadline! That must be a good sign.

Sure enough, at the top of my email list is a message from KNN.

My fingers frantically pound the keyboard pulling up their response,

"Walter, we appreciate your insight and tip. However, sadly your so-called evidence is inconclusive, and frankly, requires logistical jumps that are unwarranted…"

Breathe, Walter. Breathe. It's just KNN. Nobody believes that stodgy station anyw--

Bing.

Bing.

Both at once! Good news. Good news. Okay, give it to me, NSOBC.

"We are sorry to inf-- "

I exit out before finishing the rest of the email.

Idiots… Idiots I tell you.

Okay, Moose News, they'll believe me. They are the only ones I watch anyways. Tell me I am right!

Butterflies course in my chest, and beads of sweat form on the tip of my forehead.

Click.

"Dr. Walter Tright, this analysis might be the most moronic pseudoscientific data collection we have ever seen. It's crackpots like you that feed plausible-sounding technobabble to the public just to stir things up and create pandemonium. We are a legitimate news source. Do not contact us again. And if you truly want to save the world, maybe start with getting some psychiatric help, immediately."

Destitute and dejected, I lay my head down on my desk, and mutter to myself,

"The world is going to end, and no one believes me."

(Part III).

My back aches as I lug the final five boxes of supplies from my minivan to our front porch. After traveling to thirteen stores, and gouging my life savings, I finally have everything we will need. With reinforced walls, triple-paned windows, the infusion of argon gas, and many other enhancements, our small home is ready for the worst.

Dumping the boxes down next to insulated copper pipes, ten electronic apocalypse proof generators, solar panels, space heaters, insulation, coils upon coils of thermoplastic freeze-proof wires…

A shout distracts me from my endeavor, and goads, "Hey, you lunatic what the fuck is wrong with you?"

Instantaneously, an incoming missile smashes into my stomach.

With a finger, I hook a dollop of the frozen liquid.

Hmmm… chocolate, what a waste.

Soon, their blood will be colder than the milkshake.

They'll see, I chuckle to myself.

(Part IV).

Speaking over the monotone voice of the host who just declared, "And the final rose goes to…" I inquire, "Is it time? Is it time?"

Evidently annoyed, my wife replies in a condescending tone, "No, Walter there are still fifteen minutes left in our show."

"Oh come on. You guys don't need to watch this crap."

As I reach for the remote, my daughter's doey brown eyes gaze into my own as she pleads in a sweet and respectful voice, "Daddy, can you please let us finish? Then, I'll watch with you after."

Hesitating, I decide to concede, "Fine."

Struggling to hide my frustration, I watch as the endless soap opera plays out.

Some moronic brute wearing a too-tight suit and flashing a glowing white smile goes down on one knee to propose and kisses his new fiancé who he has known for all of four weeks, thus, solidifying their artificial love.

"Like that is gonna last," I mumble.

Finally, as the credits begin to roll, I jump for the remote and immediately switch over to Channel 6 Moose News.

"I'm getting some wine and going to bed," my wife says as she marches out of the room.

Ignoring her, my eyes focus on the screen, as a shrill reporter's blonde hair swings in the howling wind stating, "This is groundbreaking weather. It is only fall and the weather has reached a record low here in Florida, getting well below 20 degrees. But there is no need to worry. Scientists confirm this is an anomaly and it will soon be time to break out your swim trunks and sundresses again."

I wail, "No you idiot. It will keep getting colder, until everyone's blood freezes. Listen to me. LISTEN TO ME!"

Glass Shatters.

I look down confused at my own hands.

"Daddy, why did you break the television?" my daughter whispers.

Regaining my composure, I reiterate, "Because honey, listening to these idiots will get us all killed."

(Part V).

Shuttering the windows, I shiver as I drive in the final nail.

Assaulting my thoughts, Maureen shrieks, "WALTER WHAT IN GOD"S NAME ARE YOU DOING TO OUR HOUSE! YOU FREAKING PSYCHO!"

"Moe, Good news, the house is set. When the deep freeze hits…"

Cutting me off, my wife's voice shakes as she shouts back, "How can you be so so certain about this when NO ONE else believes you? You depleted our bank accounts, turned our home into a bunker, and have terrified our daughter with your wild theories. Our neighbors think you are insane. We are the local laughing stocks. Don't you think? Maybe. Just Maybe. You could be wrong?"

"No. The data clearly…" I persist.

Cutting me off, my wife declares, "I am done. I want a divorce."

(Part VI).

Sobbing my daughter wraps her arms around my leg while whimpering, "But daddy, I wanna live with you."

Lifting her into my arms, I comfort her, "Honey, I will see you in a week. Mommy and I will take turns having you for the weekend. I know this is difficult. But… Because you have been so good, I have something special for you."

Stepping back she looks up into my eyes, "A present?"

"Yes," I reach into my pocket, pulling out a silver heart-shaped necklace, "Do you like it?"

With her eyes bulging, she squeals, "I love it!"

"I'm so glad. Now I want you to wear this no matter where you are, then I will always be with you. Turn around."

Not leaving anything to chance, I connect the metal throngs around her neck securing the small heart-shaped tracking beacon, and in the sweetest voice I ever heard, she exclaims, "Daddy I love you."

(Part VII).

Three months have passed, and the temperatures have reached dangerous levels. Baffled scientists have no explanation. A state of emergency was declared and the public was warned to remain inside.

That was the last news update I heard. A deep freeze last Saturday knocked out all electricity; not a single house in the neighborhood has power. People are dying all around us; there is nothing they can do now to save themselves.

As I gaze outside through a small transom window, my only view of the outdoors, I see a few of my neighbors frozen in place. The temperature has hit astronomical lows, around 250 degrees subzero.

If only they would have listened to me.

I sip on a hot cup of tea playing a game of checkers with my daughter.

Thank God the great freeze happened on the second weekend of the month, so I could at least save my daughter.

(Part VIII).

While snows free falls from the sky, my daughter wraps her little arms around me as we cuddle near the space heater to stay warm.

Breaking the silence with a ring of frustration in her voice, my daughter whines, "Daddy?"

I stroke my hand through her blonde hair, "Yes, honey."

Her little puppy dog eyes look up at me with her lips puckered in a frown, "When can we go outside again?"

Her question hits me like a punch to the gut.

When could we?

"I'm not sure honey."

"But, Daddy, I miss school. I miss my friends. I miss Mommy." A small tear dribbles down her cheek.

My heart breaks, her teachers, her friends, and her mom are all presumably dead.

How in the world do I explain that to a nine-year-old?

Fighting back tears, I reply, "For now, It's just you and me."

Folding her arms and pouting she challenges, "But, Daddy, this is so boring, look at all the snow. I want to play outside."

I bark back, "No! There is no going outside. It's too cold."

"That's not fair!"

She's right.

It's not fair.

Softening my tone, I respond, "I'm so sorry honey, it does stink. I know. But you need to promise me - pinkie promise me that you won't ever go outside."

"Promise," She lifts her pinkie.

I wrap my own around hers.

(Part IX).

"Mary Elizabeth, Daddy made breakfast,"

No response.

Weird, she's normally up by now.

I trudge down the hall, and into her pink bedroom and…

Honey?

Hmmm…

Her bed is empty.

I wonder where she might have go--

Oh No.

OH NO!

I rush around the small house shrieking at the top of my lungs, "MARY ELIZABETH! This isn't funny. Come out. MARY ELIZABETH!"

Fearing for the worst, I race to the front door and look out the transom window.

Scanning the yard, I can barely make out anything in the snow…

I tell myself to calm down. She is just hiding, playing a game.

Where is she then?

"Mary Eliza - "

Wait, I know.

Engage the tracking signal.

I grab my phone from the portable charger and with a couple swipes I activate the tracker.

Long agonizing seconds pass as the signal searches, and finally activates the tracker.

NO! NO! NO!

With my face pressed against the window, I see the green light from her heart-shaped necklace blink under a new blanket of snow.

With a numbness coursing through me, I am confronted with the fact that my own daughter had frozen to death.

I collapse to the floor, and tears flood my face.

I couldn't even get my own daughter to believe me.

Sci Fi
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.