Fiction logo

Frevanth and Athelayna: Chapter 3

Lifting the Curse

By Ella DormanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
3

Previous Chapter

Avery was conflicted, and Athelayna could see it in his eyes. Finally, she decided to push no further. "Fine." she whispered but not in defeat. She was thinking of a plan to harness her father's powers without killing him. "Aerin, come here please." she motions as she points to the ground at her feet. "Neel before me." she demands. Aerin lets out a boastful chuckle.

"Neel? To you? Have you lost your mind?" he says as he and his guards begin to laugh except one.

"What's the matter? Have you forgotten who you serve?" Aerin demands. However, he notices blood bellowing out of the guard's mouth. "What is this sorcery? What have you done?!" Aerin cries out.

"I'm sorry, Aerin, but I think you're terrified." Athelayna giggles. "Open!" she commands the guard. When he opens his mouth, Aerin realizes the guard's tongue is gone as more blood gushes to the ground. "Athelayna.." Aerin pleads. "That's my boy. Please stop."

"Stop? Oh, but "father,"" she says while doing air quotes. "Wasn't it you who believed that you could get anyone to do anything as long as you silenced them?".

Athelanya watches as Aerin squirms. Then, amused, she returns the guard's tongue. "Don't let me regret it. You will come and bow at my feet like the scum you are," she says, watching his every movement.

Aerin throws himself at Athelayna's feet as she notices he is trembling. "Don't worry, Aerin, this won't hurt me a bit," she says as she grins. Athelayna stabs her thumbnail deep within Aerin's vein located in his wrist. "Ah, just what I thought." she laughs as everyone stands there in terror.

"What did you just do Athelayna?!" Aerin cries out while lying lifeless on the ground.

"I returned all the pain and suffering you have caused others while you posed as the King. You're welcome," she says as she steps over him. Aerin attempts to raise an arm, trying to grab her; however, he can't move.

"No. You have done so much more than that. I can't cast a spell. I cant feel your presence anymore. What have you done?!" he demands in anger.

"Oh. That. I made sure you helped me locate Frevanth by draining you of your powers." she says as she cleans the blood from under her nail. "Shall we boys?" she motions to the guards, Avery and Kur'vurg, to follow her. Everyone senses that Athelanya is becoming darker and more potent.

"Athelayna..." Avery begins.

"No, father. You are not allowed to speak my name." Athelayna snaps. She hadn't noticed that she was standing right next to him, and the earth wasn't trembling beneath their feet; however, the guards, Avery and Kur'vurg, had noticed. This caused an uneasy silence as they began their journey further into the forest.

Kur'vurg clears his throat to cut the silence after what felt like hours. "My queen..." Kur'vurg says in a terrified tone. Athelayna's eyes stop glowing a bright green.

"Yes, Kur'vurg?!" Athelayna asks, startled.

"How long have your eyes glowed green?" Kur'vurg asks unsteadily.

"They don't. What do you mean?" she asks, concerned.

"Your eyes have been glowing green since you drained Aerin of his powers," he says as he looks at her, quite puzzled.

"Green?!" Athelayna replies, except she has returned to a new train of thought. Her mind wanders to when she and Frevanth saw a massive flash of green light. Something in her brain clicks.

"Avery?" she says in a soft tone.

"Yes, my queen?" her father replies.

"How do you know Kuv'vurg?" she inquires.

"Well I have known him since before Aerin took over. Why?" he whispers as Kuv'vurg stands guard, watching Aerin off in the distance.

"That's not Kuv'vurg, and if it is, he is Aerin's protector, not yours," she replies, terrified.

"Are you certain?" he asks, glancing over at the pair.

"Yes. We need to move in the opposite direction of Frevanth. He's in more trouble than I feared." she replies with a sense of longing. At this moment, she knew she needed to protect Frevanth, and there was only one way.

"Kuv'vurg?" she asks in a composed tone.

"Yes my queen?" he asks as he walks towards her.

"It seems Zhoron has shifted course. Why would he be headed towards the fairy village?" Athalyna inquires.

"My queen, I am just as shocked as you because that's a three-day hike in the opposite direction if we don't rest," he replies, puzzled.

"I am as confused as you are...unless..." she uttered.

"Yes?" he asks, intrigued.

"Unless the rumors are true," she observed while gauging his interest.

"You mean that Zhoron wants to use the fairies' powers to control you and gain your throne through brainwashing you with fairy magic?" Kuv'vurg blurts out.

"Yes. That. Do you think?" she inquires.

"It's not entirely impossible. That being his plan that is." Kuv'vurg replies.

"Yeah. I thought so to. However we need to rest. I don't want Aerin to die before he sees me take the throne." she snaps, trying not to be suspicious.

Avery and Kuv'vurg set up the tents while Aerin watches Athelayna. "May I?" he asks as he grabs the sticks from her to start the fire.

"All better I see." Athelayna points out.

"No. Not better. I have no magic. You could order Kuv'vurg to snap me like a twig or you could leave me here to die after the other orcs find me." he teases.

"I could but what would be the fun in that." she replies, letting out a chuckle.

Athelayna didn't realize that the power she absorbed released Aerin for a lifelong curse and that if she continued to be aggressive, she would turn out just like the very man she hated. "I'm sorry, you know..." Aerin begins.

"Oh, Aerin, she doesn't want to hear it." Avery snaps. Athelayna realized something was off between the two, and it wasn't the "I kept you locked up for centuries" kind of off. Avery noticed Athelayna contemplating something.

"Penny, for your thoughts?" Avery jokes.

"Nothing. It has just been a long night," she replies.

Athelayna breaks away and begins to set up her side of camp while looking at the others. She notices that Aerin hasn't stopped looking at her. It wasn't his usual aggressive tone, and this began to make her blush. As the curse lifts off him, Aerin becomes considerably younger. No one seems to be able to see it but Athelayna.

"Kuv'vurg, I will be keeping the prisoner in my tent. I cant chance him getting away or worse you killing him for all that he has done to Avery." Atheylayna informs him.

"But my queen.." Kuv'vurg replies hastily.

"You heard me!" she snaps as she lifts Aerin effortlessly while Avery and Kuv'vurg watch, perplexed.

"Who are you?" Athelayna asks Aerin.

"Um...I'm Aerin..." he replies, bewildered.

"You know what I mean!" she snaps.

"Oh...I'm...well you see.." he says, stumbling over his words. Before he can finish, their tent is set on fire. Athelayna swoops Aerin off the ground and rushes out of the tent; however, she is left confused because Avery and Kuv'vurg are snoring from their tent.

She walks towards them when she hears a stick break off in the distance. "No....it cant be..." Athelayna cries out.

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.