Fiction logo

Frevanth and Athelayna

The Beginning

By Ella DormanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
16
Frevanth and Athelayna
Photo by Stefan Widua on Unsplash

The villain's nimble fingers were tangled ever so carelessly into the roots of the hero's fiery hair. The wind rushed over the pair, biting through their torn clothes and open wounds.

"Open your eyes," the villain cooed, a deep and frightening joy embraced deep in their voice. "Open them. I want you to watch the fire consume everything you've fought so hard for."

However, the hero was persistent. Her eyes remained closed as she could not bear to watch the world perish due to her careless mistakes. No matter how hard she tried, she could not break free. The smell of everyone's homes burning lit a flame inside her. She knew she had to be set free. She had to save the citizens, but she didn't know how—every battle between the two dancing through her distressed mind.

"What have I done to you?!" the hero screamed at the top of her lungs. "Why are you doing this to me?!". The Villian chortled at the thought that she did not know what caused their feud. "How can you forget the very reason we are fighting." he snarled.

She struggled as she begged the townspeople to leave her there and to go to safety. "Admit you know why you are here." he roared. "Athelayna!" he howled, "answer me!"

"Frevanth, I refuse to entertain such ideas." Athelayna snapped back as she finally broke his grip. Frevanth had become angry half a century ago when Athelayna's father forbids them to get married. When she did not question his reasoning, Frevanth became furious and made it his quest to end her and her family. He never understood why the elf laws bound Athelayna since she is only half-elf.

Frevanth, however, is a Dragonlord. Athelayna's father is head of the elf council and had banned any Dragonlords from their land because one of them had killed his wife. So Athelayna is only allowed to love a full-blooded elf to pay for the mistake her father made by falling in love with a human from a colony that had put the elves' land in dire danger.

"Frevanth, it is not my fault. You know the laws of the elves. You know they will kill me should I disobey them again." she stated. "I don't care! You know I could protect you if you would trust me. But you won't because of a mistake that happened four hundred years ago!" he snapped back.

Suddenly there was a massive flash of green light. "What was that?!" Athelayna yelled in a panic. "I....dont know." Frevanth replied, confused. A muscular orc approached far off in the distance. "Do you know him?!" they both asked, frightened.

Kur'vurg approached the two with haste. "He doesn't look friendly!" Athelayna trembled. The two darted off, trying to make more distance between them and this unknown orc; however, their efforts were pointless. His stride was ten times greater than theirs.

"What are we going to do?" she asked, terrified. "Oh, now you need me," Frevanth snapped. "I hardly feel like this is the time for that kind of behavior." she replied, angered. "Right." he mumbled.

The two found a cave and ran into it, moving several boulders in front of the entrance to provide enough time to come up with a plan. Athelayna played her magic flute in hopes her father could hear her; however, the boulders blocked all noise inside the cave. Frevanth sat on the ground and closed his eyes as he hummed a tune Athelayna recognized.

"No!" she exclaimed. "I hardly see how we have any other choice." he pleaded. "My father told me he would cast me out if I came in contact with Ydil!" she cried. "Athelayna, please. Trust me! We need my dragon. Ydil is our only chance." Frevanth implored, hoping to change her mind.

Suddenly there was a loud THUMP! THWACK! CRACK! Leaving the two to tremble while wondering if it was Ydil or the furious Orc inching closer to their demise.

_______________________

Part 2: https://vocal.media/fiction/frevanth-and-athelayna-e5gatu0296



Thank you for taking the time to read my work.

If you enjoyed my piece, please consider clicking the little heart beside my name. Tips aren't necessary but would be most welcome.

If you are interested in reading more of my work, please click on my picture below.

Fantasy
16

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.