Fiction logo

Frankincense & Lavender

A Soothing Story 13

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Frankincense & Lavender
Photo by Laura Baker on Unsplash

Cedric’s eyes became wide right as he popped a chip full of nacho goodness into his mouth. Crunching away, and trying not to talk with food in his mouth, he then took a rather large sip out of a tall can Sandy brought out and paused deliberately before placing it back on the coaster atop of the glass table.

“That was you?!” He asked in mock outrage and surprise! I mean I heard the story of a little Earth gnome diggin itself an escape burrow under the lawn & garden section at the store…”

“First of all , Cedric, did you just sit up here on my patio gettin your stale behind chips all over where I just swept…”

“I just got em from the market yesterday…” Cedric cut off her false dismay, “so they ain’t stale…”

Sandy cackled and then took a large gulp of her beverage before grabbing some more nachos. “You right. And these are super duper good, but not that dang gone good that I’ma let you think I’m sweet on ya enough to let that garden gnome comment slide.”

“Earth gnome.” Cedric said flatly which caused Sandy to cackle louder.

“We should probably take this back inside since obviously I get loud after only one drink.”

“Woman you just had a sip and you ain’t no where near as loud as somebody’s TV . I can’t believe someone has to watch Poetic Justice with the surround sound on.”

“Right like we ain’t watch that mess every day after school and have most of it memorized. Well maybe y’all…” Sandy said wrinkling her nose up in defiance.

Cedric wrinkled his face back up at her and replied, “Y’all?”

Sandy nodded feriously while chewing holding up her can, “Yes young boys…”

Cedric feigned disbelief, “I beg your pardon ma’am…”

Sandy cut him off. “You can beg all daggone day and night, but I’m fittin to tell ya, I was never all enthralled with that movie as much as I was with Purple Rain.”

It was so silent after Sandy made that statement that one could hear the closing credits to the movie playing faintly in the distance. It was silent for a long time until the sound of Cedric’s lighter hissed then the flame caused the paper cone to crackle, and the aroma of some of the state’s best medicinal marijuana wafted into the air, causing Sandy to reach into a drawer inside a cart and grab an incense stick and a lighter. She lit the incense and stuck it in the little hole in the holder on the table.

“To keep the neighbors at bay…” Sandy said half-heartedly.

With that Cedric leaned over on his chair and peeked around the corners of the balcony.

“I was just fittin to ask if your neighbors were the nosy type.”

Sandy shook her head slightly, “My neighbors are of the I don’t even know if I have neighbors type.”

Cedric handed the cone to Sandy, who asks, “what kind?”

“This particular strain is called Cookie Face, but I gots to warn you if you have any creative energy in you at all it’s going to get stimulated and then you’re goin to wind up ignoring me and putterin off to create whatever it is you create…” Cedric said as if he has known Sandy all her life.

Sandy then took the cone from Cedric, rolled it in her fingertips as if she were actually contemplating not partaking in this beautiful offering bestowed upon her. She then put it to her lips, drew, inhale, hold, and exhaled. Then she said matter of fact, “Ut oh , there’s the problem now, C. The only thing I know I’m good at creatin is havoc.

She winked.

***Triple Hazelnut Cappuccino and a Disco Dark Chocolate Crispy Rice Topping chaser with ice water and a Durban Poison 🌱💨

Humor
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.