Fiction logo

Found Love at the Nashville Underground

Doesn't Everyone Want A Cowboy?

By pamela mayerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Found Love at the Nashville Underground
Photo by Malcolm Lightbody on Unsplash

It's loud at the Nashville Underground on Broadway. I’m glad to be here along with a lot of apprehension. Things on the social scene have been rather quiet and I sure do need a good time with a good looking cowboy. After Brad dumped me, literally at the altar, I’ve had a tough time crawling out of my self-pity. Yet, here I am at the Underground taking a chance.

So many people. Feels strange. After months of therapy I’m back on my feet. Hopefully. The place is packed and it’s only 9 o’clock. “Excuse me, sorry. Was that your foot? I apologize,” bumping into people as I make my way through the crowd. I keep repeating to myself, You can do this.

The bar is huge. Men and women cling to their drinks. I walk around the outside of the bar. Not a single empty stool. All smiles and laughter. I can overhear pick up lines oozing out between the chorus of the country music hits. Everybody wants somebody for sure. “Ouch,” as this guy ploughs into me.

“Sorry, pretty little lady,” and he gives me a brilliant smile.

“That’s all right. I must have walked into you. I’m clumsy that way,” he’s so tall I have to strain my neck to look up at him. He is definitely good looking.

“Let me buy you a drink. What’ll you have?” he asks.

“What you’re having,” she replies.

“Then get ready for a Miller Light,” he laughs, “Let’s grab these stools, they’re getting up. Thank you Buddy,” he nods to the couple leaving. “I haven’t seen you here before. First time?”

“I’ve been away for a while,” picking up her longneck Lite she clinks bottles with him.

“Here’s to our meeting up tonight. I’m Jake,” he puts out his hand.

“Jessica,” she smiles and touches his arm.

“Live here in Nashville?” he asks.

“In the suburbs, not far. I work downtown.” she shares.

“Me too. Can’t afford the urban Nashville life yet. Young, struggling lawyer,” he notes.

“I’m a numbers girl for Price Waterhouse Coopers. Second year CPA. That’s equal to a struggling lawyer,” she takes another sip of her beer.

"This is Nashville so here’s the question, favorite country singer male,” he leans in.

"Garth Brooks and you?”

He takes a breath, “No way, I'm a big Garth fan. Female star?”

“Carrie Underwood,” she's says without hesitation.

“We were meant for each other,” reaching for her hand.

“Check our horoscopes before you make that statement,” they both laugh.

"How about a dance after I pay the check?" he asks.

"Sure, I haven't danced in a long time," she answers.

By Alexander Popov on Unsplash

"You are a really nice person. Real too," he looks at her and they step onto the dance floor, "Not easy to find a girl that's pretty and smart these days."

Meeting someone like this...she starts to get ahead of herself. I must live in the now, she cautions. Enjoy the moment. He’s nice. So nice. They are all nice in the beginning. He’s just good with his pick up lines perhaps, that’s all. Is he sincere? Probably not. I should have learned from the Brad experience. Three years together. Engaged a year. Wedding planned and he gets cold feet. “Sorry, I didn’t hear you?” staring into his eyes.

“Let’s go upstairs and say hello to the Underground Raging Bull,” he helps her down from the stool and they head to the second floor. “Ever try the Big Guy?”

“Can’t say I have. I didn’t know they had a bull.” she told him.

“You’re in for a treat. I’m pretty good on mechanical cattle. Almost rodeo ready.” He found a table close to the action, “I’ll go first and then it’s your turn,” he grabbed a 10-gallon hat off a hook and put it on.

She smiled while deep into her thoughts. Is he for real? He climbed onto the back of the bull and grabbed the horn on the saddle. Nodding to her, he signaled the operator that he was ready. The green light glowed, the timer lit up and the bull started moving and Jake moved with him. Raising his body and lowering it to the rhythm of the robotic animal all the while waving his arm for balance and shouting into the air. It was amazing. The clock on the wall was showing twelve seconds, Jake extended his arm with his hand flat telling the operator to end the ride. Checking the scoreboard, he was in the lead for the night.

Everyone was cheering and chanting his name. He walked toward her and pulled her to her feet and gave her a hug. “This is just the beginning,” he whispered in her ear, "and that's no bull. Com'on I want my friends to meet you. Strange we just met and I want to show you off."

"Sure," she laughed as they walked around the dance floor.

The announcement came over the sound system, "Jake Simmons is our bull riding winner tonight. Come and pick up your $500. Grab a girl, this dance is for you Jake."

Jake picked her up and spun her around. "This dance is for my Jessica too," he whispered into her ear. He pulled her close, as if they had been dance partners for years.

Love

About the Creator

pamela mayer

Pamela Mayer does all things creative — theatre, art, and writing. She is certain she will bump into her Prince Charming in the produce section of Trader Joe’s, Miami Beach very soon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    pamela mayerWritten by pamela mayer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.