Fiction logo

Forgotten

A brief sci-fi story

By Jade RenteriaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Forgotten
Photo by Viktor Talashuk on Unsplash

My name is Shannon and I was born deaf. My best friend is Sami, short for Samantha. She is also deaf. We used Sign Language to communicate with each other. We agreed on most everything since we have the same struggles.

Monday: August 1

Sami came over to hang out with me today. She was asking to watch Super 8, since she is a big fan of AI and Sci-Fi. When the movie started, we sat down at the couch. My mom came over and brought us a plate with pizzas. "So, don't you think aliens are real? I think they are neat but a little scary!" I looked over and rolled my eyes, "You with AI and aliens. You're being silly! It's made-up, aliens are not real. Many people said they saw one but we haven't see them physically." Sami strug her shoulders. The movie was over, we got ready to leave.

My mom brought us over to drop off Sami home. Sami got out of the car and waved goodbye. She live about 5 blocks away, we could have walked over but it was dark so we drove over. Got back home, I was tired so I went straight to bed. Meanwhile, something was happening in town...

Tuesday: August 2

Sun shining brightly through my windows. It's morning! I stretched and got out my bed. I opened the door and my mom is in the hallway. She looked at me, "Who are you? What are you doing here?" I was puzzled and thought she was joking or pulling a prank on me. I said, "Mom, very funny. Stop it. It's not funny." She stood and was saying something, I couldn't get what she was saying. My dad came over and said, "Who is this girl, Maggie? Why is she here?" I start to cry and ran over to the living room. Our family pictures are gone! The pictures has my parents and my older brother but not me. TV was on and something has happen last night. Camera zoomed in a big machine thing. The reporter stated that there are a UFO landed on my grandparents' farm. No one seem to know where it's came from.

I went outside to see what it's going on. Military trucks parked front of many houses and helicopter flying by. There are reporters outside with a news van. I saw Officer Templeton, my favorite. He is my dad's friend, I called him my uncle. I ran over to him and hugged him. He got spooked and push me away. I gasp, "Uncle, it's me Shannon. Your niece! What's happening?!" He shooked his head, "Look, I'm busy here. I don't know who you are. You need to go back to your parents. It's not safe here." Tears came out. It's can't be happening! Is it a nightmare? Where is Sami?! I ran over to her house. Sami is being carried outside by the stretcher out of her house with police officer and EMT. "Sami! No! Where are you going??" She got in the ambulance and drove off...

Wednesday: August 3

I woke up on a hosiptal bed. I'm in a room with GE Dash and IV is hooked up with me. Nurse came in my room to check up on me. "Everything look normal. You feeling ok?" I looked over and said, "What happen? Why am I here?" Nurse smiled and said, "You passed out yesterday. The EMT put you in the ambulance and they brought you over last night." I blinked and smiled. Sigh, what could be much worse than now? I tapped the nurse, "Do you know Samantha Temple? Is she here??" She look puzzled and said, "No. There is no one with that name in here. Sorry." I thanked her and she left the room.

Two detectives came in and start asking me questions. Some of the questions, I didn't recongize or understand. I would answer back with what I can. They didn't believe in me. To them, Shannon Morgan doesn't exist. It's like I never were born. They seem doesn't know who Sami was. They left after a while. I felt worse than I did before. It's too much! My parents, my uncle, and everyone doesn't know who I am. Times goes by, my eyes slowly closed...

Friday: August 5

I opened my eyes and saw doctors, nurses, and police officers in my room. I got up, "What's happening? Who are you?" They all whispering and signing some paperworks. Police officer suddenly came over and put handcuffs on my wrists. So tight! I couldn't move. They pulled and walked me over to the car. I got in and we got on the highway. Highway turn to smaller dirt road. The road lead to a big old building. I don't know what is happening. No one tells me. Getting close to the building, it's said "Hellman Place." Name sound scary. I got out with the officer. Went into the building and went to the front desk.

There are doctors and nurses with patients walking by. One patient was screaming and he is shaking. One doctor come over and gave him a shot to calm him down. Stretcher team came by and took him away. I think I'm in a alysum. No! I'm not crazy or making it up. The main doctor name tag said Dr. Da Vile. He was talking with the officer who brought me here. They brought me upstair to my room. It's a long hallway with hall monitor at one end and bathroom in another end. There is a twin bed with a small TV on top of the dresser. Officer took off the handcuffs. There a red bruise along my wrists from the handcuffs. I got in my room, got changed to my patient gown. Dr. Da Vile brought me to the enterainment room where there is a bigger TV, puzzles on the tables, and some other activites. I smiled and sat down. I looked around and saw a familiar siloutte. It's can't be. It's look like Sami.

I walked over to see and it's Sami. Bags under her eyes. Messy hair and look lifeless...I waved and she looked up. Life came back to her! She got up and hugged me. She said, "Shannon, is it you?!" I nodded as I was crying. "Why are we here?" Sami looked around and shushed me. She told me to sit down. "No one remember us. It's just us. I don't know why. They thought I was crazy so they brought me here. We need to escape. I have a plan. I need to get out of here." I said, "I saw the news recently about UFO. Do you know anything about that?" She shooked no. It's dinnertime so all the patients lined up and I got my dinner plate. I ate in my room. I can't believe that Sami was here all along. We need to figure out what is happening. Something is up...

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Jade Renteria

”ART is something that makes you breathe with a different kind of happiness.” - Anni Albers

“Writing is hard work. But if you want to become a writer you will become one. Nothing will stop you.” - Dorothy Day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.