Fiction logo

Flooded Thoughts

Just another dream

By PaigePublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Flooded Thoughts
Photo by Dan Maisey on Unsplash

This place isn't familiar. I'm looking about me to try to recognize any part of this wet, wooded area. I appear to be in a small hidden ditch of some kind. So I look about, trying to find a way out. It's mostly woods all around me but behind me is a small cliff. Rocks that seem easy enough to climb up and the top is just a few feet from me so it shouldn't be to problematic to reach the top. I climb up with very little struggle. When I get to the top I'm quite disheartened and a bit overwhelmed at the sight. I am now standing on a small bit of muddy land and it is raining much harder than when I was in the little pit.

I look ahead and all around me there is a river that seems to grow in size the longer I stare at it. I turn around and consider climbing back down and finding a different way. However, now the short climb I took up had became much, much higher. And the rocky side I had just climbed up is now sleek and unclimbable. The small clearing below is now mud and seems to be flooding slowly. So I give up on that thought and yet again look ahead. I can’t cross the river, it was to far across and across the way was a tree line to high up to climb in the mud and rain even if I could make it. I looked to my left and saw it was quite a bit calmer. I could see what looked like an opening and a road where a white truck was parked, in the distance. But as I analyzed and tried to plot a way across my gut was twisting. Something was telling me not to even attempt, I would most definitely drown. Even though it seemed safer and calmer then the rest of the river and there was a definite opening with human life, it is best if I find another way.

The way to my right was much faster moving water, choppy and scary. But everything told me I had to go that way. Don’t even look at the other route, this was my escape. I didn’t see how. I grew incredibly worried and panicked. I felt helpless and quite literally stuck. I crouched down and kind of contemplated things to myself. Then out of nowhere I’m approached by two old women. Your typical old grannies who looked as if they were dressed to go to their Southern old timey church service. Neither of them look as if they've been in this rain for any amount of time. Even as I look at them now they seem dry and comfortable. They’re looking at me and one asks, “What do you think you’re doing?” As if she’s in disbelief on why I’m having an absolute panic attack. They seem friendly just really concerned so I explained my situation, a bit confused while doing so, and all while looking about trying to find out where these women even came from. There’s no road or anything that I can see through the rain and trees.

After explaining my problem they seem to understand and quite quickly agree to help me. They just start walking and ask me to follow them, all while reassuring me they know exactly where we're going. They take me to a small path I didn’t even see before, it just seemed to appear along side the river as we walked. The small path itself seemed to appear out of no where as well. This small path eventually leads to a wooden stair case. A blue and white wooden stair case that went up from our current wet and rainy location, quite a ways. It would change a few times from stairs to ladders back to stairs. I watch nervously as the little old ladies climbed up ahead of me. And I followed behind cautiously but relieved that I was no longer at the rivers slippery edge. As we got closer to the top, the weather slowly shifted from the frigid rain to sunny and nice. The sun seemed to be getting close to setting so the sky was pretty orange and pink colors as we got closer to the top. A much more inviting scene then that below.

When we got to the top, we were in a small town. The roads and walkways were made of cobblestone and the people didn’t seem too concerned about the two older women and the muddy mess that was myself, that just made their way up from the watery pits of Poseidon's hell. I look up to the sky as it shifted into a darker lavender, the stars beginning to show one at a time. I still didn't know where I was but an unusual sense of safety and calm was now all around me. Everything felt better and right. And that was all that mattered.

Short StoryStream of ConsciousnessPsychological

About the Creator

Paige

💖Trying to turn dreams into a reality.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PaigeWritten by Paige

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.