Fiction logo

Flames in the Fire

Like flames in the fire, a holiday reunion underscores the fires burning in her family members, and Cadi wonders if they will survive.

By D. A. RatliffPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 25 min read
6
Images are free use—Photo by hert-niks at Unsplash

The Fireplace

D. A. Ratliff

No one ever claimed that Burlington, Vermont, wasn’t cold in the winter. I can attest to that. Three days before Christmas, the temperature was downright frigid. Temptation almost got the better of me, but I resisted bolting onto the plane to return to Los Angeles. It was downright balmy there.

My saving grace came in the form of a car service with the courtesy of picking me up in a warm car. My family rented a house an hour away in Stowe for the holidays, and I had no desire to drive in snowy weather. At least the driver was kind and kept me laughing with humorous tales of driving clients in snowstorms. He joked that he hadn’t lost a client—yet. The hour drive passed quickly, and we entered the Stowe area. There was no falling snow yet, but the sky was overcast, the grayness settling like a veil over everything.

The driver announced we were near the Snow Mountain Resort, and a shroud of uneasiness fell over me. I leaned against the seat, gazing out the window. A condominium complex sat along the road, with a large pond between the highway and the building. A lone figure, a tall, slender man in jeans and a navy blue coat, was skating across the frozen water. Time slowed as we passed him—alone, gliding across the ice with the grace of a swan.

For a fleeting moment, I was that skater, alone with my thoughts, gliding across the ice and not allowing anyone to restrain me. I wanted to be him, tie on a pair of skates, and slip across the ice without a care in the world. But I wasn’t him and had more worries than I wanted to admit.

The car slowed and turned onto a two-lane road curving up the mountainside. I noticed a sign indicating the resort was two point five miles away, and my heart, which I had ordered not to react, did so anyway. If heart-thumping were an Olympic sport, I’d win the gold without trying hard.

It wasn’t that I didn’t love my family. I did. However, when you turn your back on the path chosen from birth, feelings of resentment get in the way. In a family of over-achievers, I was the outcast. I write screenplays for a living.

The driver pulled under the portico at the lodge entrance. I was expecting someone to pick me up, but no one was there. I collected my luggage, wished the driver a happy holiday, and waited in the lobby.

The scents of the season filled the enormous space. The aroma of pine drifted from boughs that decorated the room, and a ten-foot tree stood in front of the floor-to-ceiling window wall, which usually offered a view of the snow-covered mountains. An enormous stone fire fireplace sat on the left side, flames warming the room and spreading the scent of cinnamon and pine through the air.

A beautiful scene in front of me, and I should be filled with the holiday spirit. Well, I wasn’t. I came here for Christmas because a pinprick hole in my heart was becoming larger as time passed. I chuckled. Now, I just had to keep my family from tearing my heart into pieces. Good luck with that.

An SUV pulled up, and my favorite brother-in-law jumped out, grinning as always. He jogged around the car as I pushed open the door. “Cadi, good to see you.”

I hugged him. “Jason, good to see you too. How is my favorite firefighter?”

“Still kicking. Jada is dying to see you. She was going to come with me to pick you up, but your mom insisted she and Blaire help with breakfast.”

“So, you drew the short straw and got to pick me up.”

“Nope, I volunteered. Been too long.” He grabbed my bags, “Let’s get these in the car. What they’re cooking smells good.”

We pulled away from the curb as light snow began to fall. I had to laugh. The scene echoed the screenplays I’d written for far too many holiday romances for a popular network. It was not my choice of what I would be writing, but it paid the bills while I wrote original screenplays. If this were an actual romance movie, I’d be heading to a house full of fun, quirky, loving relatives and accidentally running into the man of my dreams. The quirky relatives I have but loving, not so sure. The man of my dreams? He was the one who stuck that needle in my heart, and that wasn’t a dream. This is real life. I can’t rewrite it.

“How long till we get there?

“You sound like Noah. As we drove up from DC, he asked that question a thousand times. But to answer you, it’s about a fifteen-minute drive.” He took a breath. “You know your dad, gotta be the best place on the mountain. Rented a ten-bedroom lodge that we call a mansion where I come from, but it’s called a lodge. Private place that the owners rent through the resort and happens to be next to a ski lift, so quite handy if you ski.”

“I haven’t skied much since I was a kid, and we came here. Patrick and I…. “My voice broke, and I hoped that Jason didn’t notice. “…went to Colorado and Utah a bit to ski but not often. I never make it past the bunny slopes.”

“You’d be proud of Jada. She’s getting good, and Noah and Lindsey love to ski.”

“I’m glad.”

“Surprised, but happy to see you here. I figured you’d be with Patrick and his family in England again this year.”

I was waiting for the first time someone asked me about Patrick. I hope what I practiced saying sounds plausible. “Crazy year. Now that filming is back on schedule, he’s in Alaska directing a movie. They had some delays, and the studio is pushing them to finish by the end of January. We decided he would continue working, and I would stay in LA.”

“But you didn’t. You’re here, and that’s great.”

“I guess the call from Mom surprised me, and I said yes.”

“Good, about time.”

“Before we get there, tell me, is Jeffery here?”

Jason glanced at me. “No, Mr. Big Shot surgeon is still in DC. Has some cases that he can’t leave, according to him. Blaire said he might be here on Christmas Eve.”

I heard the skepticism in his voice. “You don’t believe her.”

“You always were the perceptive one.” He blew out a short breath. “Jada’s worried. Blaire is not her usual bubbly self and not talking about Jeffery this or that or her social activities.”

“Tell me you didn’t expect trouble in that marriage.”

“You know what I think of that smug bastard, Cadi. According to him, he might be the best doctor in the world, but his overinflated ego is too much.”

“That’s an understatement.”

“Jada is happy you’re here. She thinks you might be able to find out what’s wrong.”

“I can try.”

As Jason chatted about the increasing snow, I thought how ironic it was. I need to find out what is happening with my youngest sister’s relationship when I don’t know about my own.

Jason’s “We’re here” took me out of my thoughts. Here was an enormous brick, stone, and cedar structure with soaring glass windows. That’s my father, Graydon Price. He runs the largest lobbying firm in DC and likes to hype up the image.

My brother-in-law parked on the curved cobblestone drive. As we unloaded my luggage, he gave me a piece of advice. “I’ll tell you what I tell Jada every time we see your parents. Take a deep breath, smile pretty, and don’t take the BS. Stand your ground.”

I laughed. “Firefighter and soothsayer.”

“Yeah, but I only play soothsayer on my days off.”

The front door opened to the aroma of bacon. “I love bacon. I might forgive all for a slice of bacon.”

Jason yelled out, “We’re here.”

My niece and nephew appeared within seconds, running toward me, arms outstretched. I knelt and hugged them. I had forgotten how wonderful the hugs of children are.

“I’ve missed you both.”

Lindsay, now ten, beamed. “We’ve missed you too, Aunt Cadi! Facetime is not the same.”

Noah tugged at her arm. “Grandma has waffles. Come on.”

My nephew grasped my hand as we headed down the large foyer toward the back of the house. The aroma of pine, cinnamon, and burning wood emanating from an enormous stone fireplace like the one at the resort filled my senses. The kitchen and large family room faced the mountains, seen through floor-to-ceiling glass windows. The view was magnificent. The greeting from my family was not.

My sisters both rushed to me, hugs all around. My mother, Emily, placed a basket of muffins on the counter, steam rising from the freshly baked treats, walked toward me, pecked me on the cheek, and gave me a one-armed hug.

“I am glad you finally accepted my invitation, Cadence. It’s about time you pulled yourself away from all those decadent people in Los Angeles and spent the holidays with your real family.”

“Good to see you too, Mom.” All the enthusiasm I could muster. As always, my dad was sitting on an oversized sectional couch, pad in hand—work never ceased. He looked up. “Hello, Cadence.”

“Dad, good to see you.”

My father reluctantly got up and came over to me. His embrace was more substantial than I expected, but not overly so. He had never forgiven me for pursuing my dream and not doing what he wanted me to do.

We chatted about the view and the snowfall while my mother and sisters finished breakfast. When we sat down, my father said grace, and the kids started clamoring for waffles. While everyone was devouring the food, I asked when my brother Lucas and his family were coming.

Dad answered. “He had a holiday party hosted by a client last night, so they are arriving this afternoon.”

Noah blurted out. “We’re going to get a Christmas tree today… from the woods.”

Jason laughed. “There is a farm near here that grows Christmas trees. So, we are going to go cut one.”

“All of us brought some ornaments to decorate with.” My mother nodded toward a stack of boxes. “We had them shipped ahead of us.”

“Sorry, I didn’t know. I would have brought some.”

My mother looked at me with a horrified look. “I think we are fine without Hollywood trinkets.”

Jada looked at me and rolled her eyes. I didn’t take my mother’s bait, but there would be more. I would wait for the correct baited comment to strike back.

Breakfast over, my dad returned to his pad and phone while my sisters and I cleaned the kitchen. I noticed Blaire was quiet. She was not the bubbly, happy-go-lucky sister I was used to seeing. There was something wrong.

I started to ask her how her pottery business was going and if she held her annual holiday party, one of the season’s highlights in D.C., hoping to get her engaged in conversation when Lindsey and Noah ran back into the room, coats and knit caps in hand.

Noah ran up to Jason. “Dad, can we go get a tree now?”

In his typical brusque manner, my father barked from across the room. “Jason, keep that child quiet. I’m working here.”

I bristled and noticed the angry flare in my brother-in-law’s eyes, but he answered calmly. “We’ll be going just after lunch. I tell you what. Let’s build a snowman.” He glanced at Jada, and then I, and we both knew Jason was not a man to push, but my father mastered the art of being an obnoxious bully long ago.

My mother and Blaire were sorting through boxes of ornaments, and Jada was helping get the kids bundled up. It was time to make what I was sure would be several escapes from my family I would make over the next few days. I headed upstairs to unpack.

Not sure which room Jason put my bags in, I wandered the hall until I came to an open door and saw my luggage sitting on the floor. The room was large and cozy. A miniature version of the fireplace filled one corner and a bath with an old-fashioned claw tub. I thought seriously about running a bath and staying in it for the next few days, but I knew better. That would only fuel the already smoldering atmosphere.

I had finished unpacking when a rap sounded on my door. I yelled come in, and my sister Jada entered. She hugged me again. “I’m so glad you’re here.” She plopped down on the bed. “Jason told me he mentioned that I’m worried about Blaire.”

“She doesn’t look happy.”

“Cadi, she isn’t, but I can’t get her to talk. Even though we don’t live that far from her, I never see her. She’s always flitting off to some charitable event with Mom.”

“Don’t they ask you to go with them?”

“Cadi, you can’t be serious. I am almost as persona non grata as you are. I keep busy with the food blog, so I have an excuse even if they ask. They seem to love their grandchildren, although I think the kids are scared of Dad.”

“I’m scared of Dad. Never know which Graydon Price will show up—the smooth lobbyist or ruthless businessman.”

“You know he dotes on the great doctor because he can show him off to his big pharma clients. You and I both know Dr. Jeffery King is a piece of excrement.”

“That he is. And you think something is wrong with them.”

“I know there is. I can’t get Blaire to admit it.”

“Not always easy to talk about.”

“So, do you want to tell me what’s happening with you?”

I sucked in a breath. Jada and I were only eighteen months apart and were close. I should have known I couldn’t keep anything from her. I sat down next to her.

“I don’t know. Patrick has been distant lately, more preoccupied with his work. I had four screenplays to finish to meet filming schedules—buried in work. It just seemed like we were living different lives.”

“Why aren’t you with him in England? Jason said he was filming in Alaska and couldn’t leave?”

“Yes, the pandemic kept them from finishing this film, and a lot of money is riding on it.”

“But that has never stopped him from going home for a few days and taking you with him.”

I had no idea how to answer her. I probably didn’t have to because she already knew. “Tell me, Cadi.”

“I think he might be interested in someone else. There’s an actress in this movie, and he talks about her all the time, and now he won’t come home.” I hadn’t verbalized my fears to anyone. I was shaking, and Jada hugged me.

“Cadi, Patrick loves you. I do not doubt that. You are unsure because of the change in your normal pattern. Don’t give up yet.”

“It’s just…” I didn’t want to smile, but I did anyway. “…something is wrong, and I don’t know what.”

“Well, we’ll have to figure it out. Get your coat and mittens, and let’s see how the snowman’s coming.”

~~~

The snowman was giant, with a firefighter’s helmet dug out of Jason’s SUV for a hat. While at lunch, we listened to the kids provide every detail about the snowman’s construction. I was surprised to see my father engage the kids. He rarely did that when we were growing up. After lunch, we left for the tree farm to find a Christmas tree.

My dad came with us only after his grandchildren begged. The kids rode to the farm with their grandparents while Blair and I rode with Jason and Jada. Unlike her, Blair remained quiet, so I attempted to draw her out.

“Blaire, how did your charity do this year? I know your toy and food drive has been doing quite well the last few years.”

“It did very well this year. We were lucky to have as many donations as we did with all that happened. The hospital staff came through for us.”

I took a chance. “I’m sure Jeffery helped get them motivated.”

Blair’s reaction was telling. She glanced at me, then looked away. “Yes.”

Jada had turned around to look over the seat, and her eyes met mine. She was thinking the same thing I was—Jeffery was a jerk.

The tree cutting was an adventure, with my mother insisting on selecting the tree after Lindsey and Noah flitted from tree to tree, loving each one more than the other. I heard Jason whisper to his children. “Grandma chose one of the trees you did. Good job.” Now, there was a good dad.

After the tree farm staff tied the tree to Jason’s SUV roof, we visited the small shop on the grounds. I bought the kids stuffed reindeer toys, and my mother purchased a fresh pine wreath and four boxes of red and gold ornaments. She claimed the chosen tree was too big, but she would have to have more ornaments since the children liked it.

When they returned to the house, Jason and Dad brought the tree in and placed it in a stand, but decorating would not begin until Lucas and his family arrived. Jada and I baked cookie ornaments for the tree with the kids to pass the time. My mother left to sort the presents she had shipped.

When she returned, the kids and I were throwing confectionary sugar at each other. “What are you doing? You’re making a mess. You always made a mess. Clean this up. Your brother will be here any moment.”

The kids were stunned, and Jada and I exchanged glances, but we both knew it was better to do as she said. Jada hugged Lindsey. “We’ve had enough fun and now have lots of ornaments, so let’s clean up. Then you two need to take a bath and get ready for dinner. Your cousins will be here soon.”

Lucas and family arrived a little after six p.m. Eliza, his wife, was resplendent in a causal designer pantsuit, and Megan, Robert, and Alisa were polite as always. Older and more reserved than Jada’s two, I often wondered how such different personalities could come from our genes.

Mom decided we would have dinner at the main lodge. She had arranged a private room in her usual manner so we wouldn’t have to eat with the common folk. Once again, I wondered why I had bothered to come. After dinner, there were carolers in the lobby, and we gathered around the fireplace to listen. The lodge offered refreshments, and I was sipping on a mulled cider when Lucas joined me.

“Cadence, it’s been too long.”

“I agree, but finding time to spend with everyone is never easy.”

“I’m sorry. Dad is difficult. I…” He rubbed the bridge of his nose. “Not sure why I am telling you this first, but I guess you escaped and survived. I want to know if there is truly life after Dad?”

“What are you talking about? Are you thinking of leaving the firm?”

“I want my family out of Washington. It’s too polarized, too crazed, and I am sick of the rat race. It is ruining my marriage. I never see my kids. All I do is talk to politicians all day and feed them BS about Big Pharm.”

I was at a loss for words. I never expected my brother to go against my dad’s wishes. “Lucas, I will not tell you that bucking Dad is easy. I was lucky—I went to the opposite coast. But if this is what you need to make your family happy, what choice do you have?”

He sucked in a breath so deep that I could feel it. “I don’t have a choice. I tried talking to him about this a few months ago, but he gave me that dismissive glare of his and kept talking. I’m thirty-eight years old and still doing what Dad tells me to do. I can’t do this anymore. Megan and Robert’s grades are slipping, and Alisa is withdrawing. She’s six, Cadi, six years old. I…”

I hugged him. “Then you need to do this. What do you need from me? I’ll go to Dad with you if you want me there.”

“No,” he smiled, “but I know you would. I have to do this. I’m going to talk to him the day after Christmas. Don’t want to ruin things for the kids. Cadi, I’ve always admired you for following your dreams.” Lucas glanced toward our father. “He hated Jada marrying a firefighter and doing her food blogging. Blaire? She married the great doctor, so he liked that because his clients loved it.” He looked at me. “That bastard she married is having an affair.”

“You know for certain?”

“Yeah, he’s involved with a rep from one of our clients who let it slip the last time I saw him. Liza said not to tell her. Maybe it would blow over, and Blaire would never know.”

“She knows. He’s not here, and she is hurting but won’t admit it.”

“Some family we are. At least you and Jada are happy.”

Without thinking, I said more than I meant to say. “Jada is, me, not so sure.”

“You and Patrick having trouble?”

“I don’t know. Not sure Blaire and I aren’t having the same problem.”

Lucas put his arm around me. “Looks like all we have is each other.”

~~~

It was three a.m. I woke up thirsty and headed downstairs to the kitchen for tea. I heard soft sobs as I passed by the sunroom that overlooked the mountains. I had no doubt who it was.

The snow had stopped, and the sky was clear. A full moon glinted off the blanket of snow, and the mountain view looked like a painting. Blaire had curled up on one of the small couches near the fireplace.

“It’s a bit chilly in here, don’t you think.”

Her head snapped around. “Oh, Cadi… I…”

“Hush, I’m going to light the fireplace and pour a couple of bourbons.”

I turned the knob, and the fire flared, adding an amber glow to the room. I poured drinks from the small bar cart and handed her one.

“Tell me what’s happening.”

Between the sobs and the anger, it took a while, but Blaire told me that she had found out about the affair and had left Jeffery. We sat, sipping our drinks, and I told her about my fears.

“Cadi, Patrick loves you. He’s not like Jeffery, who only loves himself. I won’t believe that he would do that to you.” She threw her head against the back of the couch. “Part of me is relieved. I hated my life. I hated all those socials, dinners, and balls for this charity or another. I love the charities, but the people, not one bit. I need a new life.”

I sank against the cushions, too. “Lot of changes happening in this family, but we will get through it.”

~~~

The next day, the family spent the morning on the slopes. After lunch, the guys stayed to ski while we returned to the lodge and spent the afternoon baking cookies with the kids and wrapping Christmas presents. I was relieved when that shiny brown truck showed up with the box of gifts I had shipped from Los Angeles. I was going to be a good aunt, after all.

That night, Jason made firehouse chili as he often did for his crew at the fire station, and we watched a couple of Christmas movies. Lucas and Eliza were distant and detached, and Blaire stuck close to me as if I were security for her. As the night wore on and I had yet to hear from Patrick, I realized I was happy to be a safety net for Blaire, but who would be for me?

~~~

We woke up on Christmas Eve to heavy snow. Having lived in Southern California for so long, I was freezing and needed the warmth from the fireplace. I dressed and headed downstairs. The kids were up, and Jada and Liza read to them as they sat next to the tree. Blaire had not come down, so Mom and I were in the kitchen. She nodded toward the coffee pot.

“Just made a fresh pot. It’s that Christmas blend that Liza brought.”

I poured a cup and sat at the counter. The spicy smell from a platter of homemade cinnamon rolls wafted toward me. “These rolls look delicious.”

“Jada made them.” My mother had her back to me. “Tell me why Patrick isn’t here.”

Her question surprised me. “He’s working. Needs to finish the movie.”

She turned, arms crossed in front of her chest. “I know something is wrong. With you, with Blaire, with Lucas.” She bit her lip. “The only one of my children who seems happy is Jada, who seems to thrive living the middle-class life. If you think I don’t love you, you are wrong. I just don’t understand the choices some of you have made.”

“You’re perceptive. I am worried about Patrick and what is happening to us. I just don’t know yet. As for Blaire and Lucas, you need to ask them.”

“Then I’m right.”

“Talk to them.”

Our connection was over, and she turned away. I was surprised at my mother’s concern and wondered if she was actually worried about herself. I grabbed a roll and mug of coffee and joined the kids before the tree.

It was mid-morning when Blaire appeared while we brought presents from the library. She smiled at me, got coffee, and was about to join us when Mom intercepted her, saying she needed to talk to her. Blaire paled a bit and glanced at me. I knew she wanted assurance, and I nodded—time for Blaire to talk.

We were fixing lunch for the kids when Mom and Blair returned. Blaire had been crying, and my mother’s face was disdainful. My heart was racing. What would she and my dad do when Lucas told them his news?

After lunch, Jada and Liza took the kids outside to sled. I wandered into the sunroom with more coffee. Heavy snow was falling, and I felt a sense of dread. I loved my brother and sisters. We had always joined forces against our parents when we were young. When we needed each other the most, the pressures of bending to our father’s wishes were finally too much to bear.

I heard the front door open and male voices. The guys had returned from skiing. My heart was racing—one man was missing. One that I wanted to be here with me. Fighting back the tears, I picked up my phone and called Patrick but got his voicemail.

I waited for the beep, unsure what to say, but the words spilled out. “Patrick, I don’t know what is happening with us, but I don’t want to lose you. I’m scared you are drifting away from me, and I can’t bear that. Please call me.”

Tears trailed down my cheeks as I fought to regain composure. I had made the call, and now, I had to wait for Patrick. I rose, about to rejoin everyone, when I heard my father’s loud, angry voice.

“What the hell do you mean you are divorcing Jeffery? I won’t hear of it.”

Blaire yelled back. “Not your choice. He’s sleeping with a rep working for one of your clients. I’m not going to be humiliated this way.”

“You listen to me, young lady. You will go back to him. He’s a man. They do these things.”

“I will not. You only want me to go back because he helps your precious business. You pushed me into marrying him.”

“You only wanted to play in clay like a child and wouldn’t get anywhere. Jeffery provided the perfect solution. He got a trophy wife, you got taken care of, and I had contact with a highly reputable doctor. It's a win for everyone. Don’t blow it.”

I was out the door in a flash as anger welled up. I was done with my father’s bullying, but Lucas beat me to it.

“You sanctimonious bastard, stop talking to her that way. We’ve had enough of your nonsense. Is there one of us you didn’t try to control? Cadi was the smartest of us. She headed for the west coast and her dreams. Jada married the man she loved, and how many times have you referred to him as just that firefighter? He’s more man than any of us. Now, you admit to pushing Blaire into marrying a man none of us could stand.”

My father stalked toward Lucas. “You shut up. You wouldn’t be anywhere if it weren’t for me.”

For a moment, I was afraid that Lucas would hit him. Instead, he stepped forward, standing nose to nose with our father. “You didn’t make me. I made myself. I was loyal—a word you will never understand—and thought I owed you my loyalty, but I didn’t. I planned to tell you this after Christmas, but right now, it seems appropriate. I quit. A law firm in Phoenix offered me a partnership where I will handle lawsuits against Big Pharma because who knows them better than me.”

“You can’t do that.”

“I just did.”

“Get out of here.”

I stepped in. “Dad, Lucas is right, but you will not ruin Christmas for the kids. If you have any feelings for us, let these children have fun. For once in your life, do something for someone else.”

He glared at me. “You shut up.”

The anger I was holding back spilled over. “No, no more. It’s time you listened to your children's needs and not be self-centered.”

To my surprise, my mother spoke up. “Grayson, Cadi is right. It’s time our children lived their own lives. You promised me you would retire. Now is the time. Sell the firm and, for once, enjoy our lives.”

My father started to respond, but my mother stopped him. “No, our children are unhappy, and you and I are to blame. Let’s not ruin our grandchildren’s lives.”

He looked at each of us, then strode out of the room. My mother, tears welling, watched him leave. “Lucas, I only want what is best for all of you. We will make this a good holiday for all of us.”

~~~

We spent Christmas Eve having our traditional lasagna for dinner, no one knowing why it was traditional. Later, sitting around the fire, we roasted marshmallows in the flames and made s'mores, sang carols, and, in another tradition, everyone opened a present. My father sat in a chair away from us, not talking. To say he was the elephant in the room was an understatement. At ten, the kids went to bed. I helped put out Santa’s presents and headed upstairs.

As I drifted asleep, I watched the falling snow glitter in the security lights. I wondered why Patrick had never called.

I woke up in confusion, the phone ringing in my ears. I answered without looking, and heat flared in my body as I heard Patrick’s voice.

“Hey, woman, get down here and let me in. It’s cold out here.”

I flew down the stairs, opened the door, and jumped into his arms. “I wasn’t expecting you.”

“I know. Hurried to get the last scenes done. Left my assistant director to finish some exterior shots because I needed to be with you.”

His lips brushed mine, and the sensation sent shivers along my spine. I grasped his neck and pulled him closer, deepening the kiss. “I am so glad you came.”

“You were worried about Clara, weren’t you?”

“I… I…” I nodded, not able to speak.

“I thought I might have talked too much about her. Look, she’s a great actress and a good person. But she is not you. No one will ever be you.”

I rested my head against his shoulder. “Don’t you ever forget that.”

He grabbed my hand, and we walked up the stairs. “Never.”

~~~

Christmas morning was more joyful than I expected. Not only because Patrick was with me but also because my parents seemed relaxed. After opening presents, a pancake breakfast, and a couple hours of skiing, we returned to the house for Christmas dinner.

I had told Patrick about Blaire and Lucas, and after dinner, he pulled Blaire aside and talked to her. When he returned, he told me what he had in mind. I loved him more at that moment than I thought possible.

We spent the day after Christmas on the slopes and prepared to leave the following morning. At breakfast that morning, I told everyone about our plans. “Patrick has a rental car, so we are taking Blaire to DC, where we will get her things. We are renting a U-Haul and driving back to LA. Patrick has a friend with a furnished house for rent near us, so Blair will stay there until she decides what to do.”

Blaire spoke up. “I’m divorcing that SOB and might stay in LA.”

Lucas looked at our father. “I will have my formal resignation on your desk on January 2nd. I have to be in Phoenix in the middle of February.”

My father stared at him. I held my breath until he spoke. “Your mother and I discussed what happened here, and while I never wanted to do anything but make life better for all of you, I may have been too overbearing. Time all of you had your own lives. We want to know if we will be welcome to visit.”

In unison, we all ran to our parents. I glanced over to see Patrick, Jason, and Liza beaming. This was their life as well, and now maybe we all could live without such resentment.

As we drove away from the lodge, I didn’t feel like that lonely skater I had seen a few days before. I had my family and the love of my life, and that was enough.

_________________________________________

Author's note: This story first appeared as "The Fireplace" in the Writers Unite! Anthology Dimensions of Love, Vol Two, published in 2022.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Skater Image: Images are free use—by ajoheyho on Pixabay.

Skier Image: Images are free use—by PIRO4D on Pixabay

Cookie Baking Image: Images are free use by kaboompics on Pixabay.

Short StoryLoveHolidayfamily
6

About the Creator

D. A. Ratliff

A Southerner with saltwater in her veins, Deborah lives in the Florida sun and writes murder mysteries. She is published in several anthologies and her first novel, Crescent City Lies, is scheduled for release in 2024.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    I love a happy ending 🥰

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Lovely!

  • Very well written. You laid out the family condition so well. For a second I thought maybe you were writing about your own family. Great job making it all seem so real, dramatic, and intimate.

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Wonderful family drama and left me with tears in my eyes.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.