Fiction logo

Fishing Adventure

Adventure Coming of Age

By Arshad MecciPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
Like

"Hand me the line," Josh called out, adjusting his fishing rod. Fishing was foreign to me; the term "line" was just a piece of rope in my mind. His backpack was filled with a variety of oddities: small toys, metal balls, worms, all meticulously organized in clear containers. Not understanding their purpose, I handed him the entire bag.

"Thanks, man. Glad I got you out here," he said, laughing.

"I'm an introvert, Josh. I'm only here because of you," I replied.

"That's why I didn't invite you for drinks," he teased, focusing on threading the line through the hook.

"How long has it been?" I asked.

"Too long. We used to come here all the time, remember?"

"Yeah, you had that red bike," I reminisced.

"Stupid? That bike was great. You were always trailing behind," he said with a smirk.

The sunlight danced through the trees, creating a mesmerizing pattern on the water's surface. I had brought a few books and a flashlight, and we sat in companionable silence, lost in the moment. It had been three years since Josh had a job, and I had been immersed in my studies.

We had only a day or two together this time. Life's barriers had grown between us, like parallel rivers, eventually carving out new paths. Josh set up two fishing rods with glowing sticks and offered one to me, but I declined. Fishing required patience I didn’t possess. He cast the lines and we settled onto logs left by previous fishermen to watch the sunset.

"So, how's life treating you?" I asked, keeping my voice low.

"It's a mix of highs and lows, like an elevator," Josh replied. "How about you?"

"My life's been pretty dull. Books, studies, part-time work. Honestly, I’d rather listen to your stories."

"I've been hopping from job to job, trying to find better pay," Josh said. "I started in a factory, then moved to delivery driving. The pay's better now, and the job’s easier."

"That sounds exhausting," I said. "What about Amy? How is she?"

"We broke up. She went abroad to study, and we drifted apart. It was like dating an AI—just texts and FaceTime. Eventually, I didn’t even realize I was seeing other people."

"You cheated?" I was shocked.

"I guess I did, without even realizing it. Our relationship had turned into a routine, a voice on the other end of the line."

"Maybe she still cared, but couldn't express it," I suggested. "Those who stop caring stop loving."

"Maybe," Josh mused. "But I felt trapped. Now, I feel free to go wherever the wind takes me."

"Just remember, once you separate body and soul, there’s no going back," I cautioned. "You can't cage the wind."

"That's why I'm telling you this. You understand," Josh said. "I just want to live."

As the night wore on, our conversation drifted into silence. By 9 p.m., we were both exhausted. We packed up our gear and left the peaceful lake behind, our conversation a mix of nostalgia and uncertainty about the future.

“You, the gust that shook us even back then. It’s all fun and games Josh but remember, once you separate the body and the soul there is no coming back. I am not judging you, not anyone needs to settle down. Those forced to when not meant to, cause suffering to their offspring. You can’t cage the wind.”

“And that’s precisely why I am confessing to you. You don’t judge. I like to live, that’s all.”

“You do you, my friend.”

The night went on silent and uneventful. We were both tired by nine and by ten we had packed our things and left the peaceful lake.

FantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Arshad Mecci

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.